We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at Watergate”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at Watergate”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Watergate Bay is probably our favourite UK long weekend hotel and this week's wonderful three day stay only confirmed its position.

The location in fantastic and the surfing, even in the winter is great. The hotel is extremely family and dog friendly - the staff are great and everything is clean and beautifully maintained.

We can't wait to return later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    293
    98
    41
    28
See reviews for
377
690
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the first time a couple of weeks ago. We are a family of 4 with a dog and stayed in a "Best Family Suite" in the Coach House. there were no views to speak of but the room was clean and comfortable, including rally comfortable beds for both the adults and children. The 2 children had a cabin room which contained a bunk bed and single bed plus a flat screen tv and DVd and was very nice. The decor throughout is beach style. We found the food in the main restaurant excellent - almost fine dining. Our children aged 9 and 11 enjoyed the food too as it wasn't overly fancy or rich. I saw younger children eating more standard children's food presumably from the Brasserie. The best things about this Hotel is the proximity to the beach and it's a short flat walk, also the choice of restaurants ( 15, Beach Hut and the 2 restaurants in the Hotel) all are a very good standard and really relaxed too. We found the staff really nice, happy and helpful apart from 1 waiter in the restaurant who was overly sarcastic when 1 meal was served late. We found the breakfast a bit chaotic, but if you are prepared to wait a bit for the buffet to be restocked than that's ok. The new Spa is very nice although I should imagine that it will get very crowded in school holidays and at the end of the day at weekends. I never found the jacuzzi and steam room - I am not sure there is one so really this area must be seen as a family swimming area - pick your time otherwise it's a fight for towels and changing rooms ( which are individual).
Overall a very enjoyable stay at this "cool" beach hotel. We liked the relaxed no dress code approach and don't mind the sand on the stairs (as noted by a previous reviewer). you can't have casual and "on the beach" without it. We will be back!

Room Tip: Check the location online and pick one at the end of a corridor so as no to be woken up by other peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWest127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for a one night function, and wished we'd booked two.
We requested a sea view room and weren't disappointed. Whilst the rooms were simple and functional there was everything you need. I would have turned the bed 90degrees so we both could share the fabulous sea view. The toiletries were pleasant smelling without being over powering.
The food (dinner and breakfast) was delicious. Especially as they were catering for 160 covers all in one serving.
The pool was the nicest indoor pool I've been in. 25 mtrs of indoor infinity and not a whiff of chlorine. Although it was a chlorinated pool, I didn't have the normal skin irritation after swimming in chlorine.
The best thing about the hotel was the genuine friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It felt a bit like walking into a Swiss ski chalet.
Well done watergate bay. Well definitely be back with the children.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamishFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room, amazing food that was a taste bud sensation! Beautiful views with a very very short walk to the beach. Indoor and Outdoor areas where you could relax including an outdoor hot tub!! Our 5 year old had a brilliant time in the Kids Zone with their very child friendly staff who did everything to ensure all the children had a great time. It was the best equipped children's room I've seen there were plentiful toys both fun and educational, loads of themed activities a small outdoor play area only accessed via the Kids Zone which was also secure, best of all it was included in the price! A beautiful swimming pool and treatments and a very relaxing atmosphere all round 2 days away felt like a week and it was superb value for money. We'll definitely be going again!!! Best hotel and best overall UK hotel break that we've ever had. I really couldn't believe how good the food was!!! EXCELLENT!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A hotel that is truly family friendly; something for everyone and Mum & Dad don't feel like they have had to compromise on anything. I have seen some reviews that nod towards children causing an inconvenience, this really is a hotel for families and if we were without little people, I would certainly choose somewhere else. But we're not and Watergate Bay, on top of the superb location, offer a modern and thoroughly first rate hotel with great facilities. Family rooms are large, we had a best family room, someway from main hotel and no view, but plenty of room to spread out. Spa/pool area absolutely beautiful, bar area and deck that you could idle away many hours if there weren't so much else to do. There are activities for children throughout the day, although ours were too young to join, but could use the play area outside of club hours. There is an early teatime for children - my only criticism that food for little people was not great and we also ate later in restaurant, it was okay, but in comparison to rest of hotel we felt it needed the modern touch (ask Tanya, Jooles or Annabel to sprinkle some magic on kids food and no doubt the decor/ambience as well!). We thought fabulous holidays were a distant memory with two small children, but Watergate Bay proved us wrong, we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Large family rooms in the coach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mot1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This place is lovely, relaxing and the perfect base for all sorts of activities (even in the winter!) It is dog friendly in the true sense of the word and has a massive beach on the doorstep (when the tide is out) that is dog friendly too!

We felt really relaxed here the decor is lovely beach house chic, the views from almost everywhere are breath taking and there are so many happy smiley friendly staff it makes it a real pleasure to stay here!

Definitely going back - May try Jamie's 15 restaurant next time too, althought the hotel food was very good too!

Room Tip: We had a standard see view room at it was just perfect! Huge bath with shower over it, lovely room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sand64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have always been honest in my reviews and therefore feel I have to be so with this one. Nothing I will say here has not been said to management. I shall start with the 'great' because there is a lot that is great. The location is fabulous, of course. The Beachcomber chic design, facilities (when you can use them), great housekeeping of rooms (although along with another earlier reviewer I agree a box of tissues in the room and maybe a biscuit or two with the tea/coffee tray might not go amiss at this standard of hotel) and restaurant/ breakfast staff are excellent. Food was of a very high standard. One meal of steak and 3 times fried chips was sublime (I now GET the reason for the 3 times fried!) However, now for the 'caution' - They have a policy of children free at weekends. Okay everyone is trying to make money in these difficult times and we knew of this policy thankfully from another earlier reviewer. We changed our arrival day to Sunday thinking by check in at 3.00pm the general mayhem would be passed. Wrong. Policy of once checked out you may use the facilities was in full flow and the 'living space' (main bar/ eatery) was heaving. The whole of the entrance and reception area was covered in sandy footprints and 20 minutes before 3.00pm our room wasn't ready. We have NEVER arrived slightly early to ANY hotel in any country and not had the room ready (including the usual hotel we stay at in Newquay which was closed for renovations) It's 'children access all areas' - even in the beautiful Ocean Room in the spa (?!!) - Thus, we decided against a 'relaxing' treatment... The pool was unavailable to all guests on the Monday afternoon for several hours due to deep cleaning because a baby doing what babies do in pools if not wearing a suitable nappy... If you are a person/ couple without children, a person/ couple having a break without your children or retired and all looking for a relaxing getaway - check in on Monday evening and leave by Friday!!!

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor 'better ocean view with balcony'
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tangolady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing