We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic family friendly boutique hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A fantastic family friendly boutique hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had the pleasure of a two night stay at the WB. The whole customer experience has been very well thought out, especially for families. A great kids area, well stocked with activities, is open all day, but you can drop your little ones off between 1830-2130 if they are between 3-7 for evenings under the care of the friendly and caring staff.
Best of all (again for families, there's a theme here) you can make use of the simple listening phone devices in the evening. Just dial in from your room, pick up a handheld phone from the hotel or restaurant, and you can spend an evening enjoying the really good food the restaurant has to offer. (Really, really good food)
Some rooms have a new tablet video link thing.
The infinity pool and spa is great, and like the rest of the hotel, nicely designed. The bespoke range of toiletries are available to buy but again they show their attention to detail by making them copiously available to all guests in the rooms etc. Nice.
The vibe is very relaxed but special. Evidently they have taken cues from a ski resort (but obviously translated as surf not ski). Our daughter (4) had issues putting her shoes on as she felt so at home!
The general areas are comfy, lots of space to chill out and take in the amazing views of the bay.
The staff are warm and make every effort - hosting is clearly an important part of the experience and they take it seriously.
It's a cut above the rest but in a relaxed true to its environment way. Yes, it's not cheap, but don't think that means you have to dress for dinner. Come expecting a relaxed but pleasingly considered quality experience, with really great food, and you'll leave happy.
We did.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    290
    96
    41
    28
See reviews for
369
673
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Staff were very freindly, effient and worked very hard. Nothing was too much trouble -including not wanting what was on the set menu. Our room was clean, tidy and well decorated. The bed was comfortable and the sea views breath-taking, situated right on the beach. The pool and spa facilites were fab and the food second to none (We had an evening meal and breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel and will be sure to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We chose a standard sea view room which was in the new wing and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scriblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was our third visit to Watergate Bay Hotel on the taste of the bay deal. The pool, gym and spa facilities are first class. It was lovely sitting in the hot tub at night, listening to the crashing waves of the sea.

Our room had a sea view, was a good size with everything you would expect from a first class hotel. The food was excellent.

There were plenty of staff, who were all very friendly and attentative.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrammieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a very well appointed hotel that offers superb views across the bay from the large airy lounge area (and ‘sea view’ bedrooms). Like many reviewers, we went on the ‘Taste of the Bay’ deal that includes a dinner in Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant and another in the hotel dining room, plus a lunch at the nearby Beach Hut restaurant. It was our fourth such visit, and although prices have risen since the offer was first introduced, it is still a good value package for such a hotel (although personally I wouldn’t mind if it left out the lunch, as although it was good I never feel that hungry after taking advantage of the large breakfast selection at the hotel!).

The staff were very friendly and helpful, which is just as well as on this occasion we were very disappointed with our room. Although we have always been happy in the past, this time we were given room 10. This turned out to be right next to the stairs leading to the exit to the rear car park, and the windows looked out directly onto a high wall some 2 meters away if that. This meant that the room had no view whatsoever and was perpetually dim and dingy, and the low wattage lighting didn’t help. You couldn’t really see any daylight, let alone sunlight! It was also noisy, as being next to the stairs there was a lot of guest traffic, and the soundproofing was not great so we could hear every word the passing guests said as well as the regular footfalls on the stairs. Other aspects of the room (contemporary décor with the modern wood flooring, the space, comfortable bed, good quality linen and towels etc.) were fine, but it wasn't worth the £125 per night room rate. The depressing dinginess led me to ask for a move. And this is where the helpful, friendly staff came into their own, as Matt at the front of the house handled the situation in a friendly, helpful and professional manner. Despite the hotel being booked almost to capacity he did manage to find us a much better room and our bags were moved for us. This was a lovely room – bright and airy – which made so much difference to the holiday (we felt lifted when entering the new room rather than being depressed by the cheerless atmosphere of room 10).

As for other aspects, the breakfast offered a good selection and dinner was also very good – for me as good as Fifteen but much better value, both for food and wine. For example, the excellent 3-course dinner was priced at £30 - virtually the same as a single fillet steak at Fifteen (£29, without vegetables!). Also, Fifteen is not very suited to people with mobility problems, as there is a 26-step descent with no lift or any visible means of getting down other than using the stairs.

Car parking in both the hotel car parks can be a bit of a problem, but fortunately you are able to use the public car park near the front of the hotel so its no great inconvenience.

All in all we enjoyed it once again, although if we had had to stay in our original room then things would have been very different, so we are grateful to Matt who saved the holiday.

Room Tip: Do not take room 10. There is no view other than a wall some 5 feet away from the window, which mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

It is our 3rd visit to Watergate bay and it just gets better. We took our 14yr old dog with us for the first time and it worked very well. The new pool and spa facilities are excellent. We stayed on their taste of the bay deal and it is great value for money. We had a room in the coach house which was a good size, we had a bit of trouble getting the heating right, too hot the first night not warm enough the next 2, but this didn't spoil it for us.
The food in the dining room in the evening has improved a lot, Fifteen was good as ever and our lunch in the beach hut was also good, we came straight off the beach, they gave us a bowl of water for the dog.
It is very much a child and dog friendly hotel so if that is not for you then this definately is not the place for you. It is definately a place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A beautiful hotel with great staff. Very relaxed and very accommodating if you have kids or dogs. We enjoyed all aspects with regards food and drink.

Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view room. The beach at Watergate Bay is spectacular.

Concerned about the cleanliness of the room - a lot of dust! My only other disappointment was the fact that the hotel failed to recognise or mark our honeymoon, despite informing the reservation team when booking.

'Taste of the bay' is a great package, and includes a trip to Jamie Oliver's Fifteen. We hope to stay again.

Room Tip: A suite is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

The facilities at the hotel are all very good, including a lovely swimming pool and a hotel bar that commands spectacular views across the bay and out to the Atlantic, which at £5 for a pint of lager you certainly pay for. The room was very clean and spacious, however the bed was a little uncomfortable as it was slightly bowed in the middle, and the bedding whilst very clean was so stiff it felt like you were sleeping in a hospital bed more than a hotel. All the staff we met were very curtious and friendly. Overall the hotel was very nice for a short break in a lovely part of the country.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mainze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing