We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night which was a shame but I highly recommend watergate bay. The view from the pool/chill out lounge and bar area is stunning especially on a sunny day. The service is quick and friendly. We had some lunch in the bar which was delicious.

The room itself (best king) had a beautiful view over the bay, a standalone bath that itself had views of the bay and the sunset and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

The bay itself is lovely and a great walk at low tide. There are a few places to eat locally including Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall which is a stones throw from the hotel.

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    287
    95
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
665
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Epping, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I had a brilliant weekend here. The area is beautiful and the views are probably some of the best cliff scenery in the UK. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They offer a baby monitoring service which allows the parents an opportunity to enjoy dining together. The food was well presented and to a high standard. This hotel has it all, a stylish interior with a beach feel. There are two areas to chill, either in the bar slumped in sofas or armchairs, or you can venture to the pool and unwind with the slightly noisier generation (families with young children, like myself). The hotel manages to blend the atmosphere of a chilled out surf lodge with a sleek 5 star experience. A great place to stay with lots to do. Recommend to anyone but especially young families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pook81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

First of all I must point out that I did not stay here, only visited for lunch. Being from Cornwall and knowing about this hotel, I expected everything to be of excellent standard. Yes the location is fabulous, the hotel itself is beautiful, and the food we had for our lunch was very good, however I really was shocked at the poor service we received. We were not acknowledged on arrival, however seeing they were quite busy we accepted this and sat at a table. After some 15 minutes we had still not been acknowledged or had menus. Several staff passed us several times, but they all seemed to be trying their hardest to avoid making eye contact. Eventually I had no choice but to call out to one of them, who then grudgingly provided menus. Drinks took a long time to arrive, but food was quick and very good. The girl who cleared our plates again seemed disinterested and made no attempt to speak or simply ask if we enjoyed our food. We felt quite uncomfortable and left feeling disappointed as we had anticipated better. There is so much that is right, but good service is what makes the experience. Sadly we were not alone on this day, we even saw others just walk out after failing to get noticed despite quite obvious attempts. Hopefully this is an area which can be fine tuned before the busy season begins.

Helpful?
1 Thank SJB_383
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had the pleasure of a two night stay at the WB. The whole customer experience has been very well thought out, especially for families. A great kids area, well stocked with activities, is open all day, but you can drop your little ones off between 1830-2130 if they are between 3-7 for evenings under the care of the friendly and caring staff.
Best of all (again for families, there's a theme here) you can make use of the simple listening phone devices in the evening. Just dial in from your room, pick up a handheld phone from the hotel or restaurant, and you can spend an evening enjoying the really good food the restaurant has to offer. (Really, really good food)
Some rooms have a new tablet video link thing.
The infinity pool and spa is great, and like the rest of the hotel, nicely designed. The bespoke range of toiletries are available to buy but again they show their attention to detail by making them copiously available to all guests in the rooms etc. Nice.
The vibe is very relaxed but special. Evidently they have taken cues from a ski resort (but obviously translated as surf not ski). Our daughter (4) had issues putting her shoes on as she felt so at home!
The general areas are comfy, lots of space to chill out and take in the amazing views of the bay.
The staff are warm and make every effort - hosting is clearly an important part of the experience and they take it seriously.
It's a cut above the rest but in a relaxed true to its environment way. Yes, it's not cheap, but don't think that means you have to dress for dinner. Come expecting a relaxed but pleasingly considered quality experience, with really great food, and you'll leave happy.
We did.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Gorgeous hotel. Staff were very freindly, effient and worked very hard. Nothing was too much trouble -including not wanting what was on the set menu. Our room was clean, tidy and well decorated. The bed was comfortable and the sea views breath-taking, situated right on the beach. The pool and spa facilites were fab and the food second to none (We had an evening meal and breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel and will be sure to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We chose a standard sea view room which was in the new wing and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scriblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was our third visit to Watergate Bay Hotel on the taste of the bay deal. The pool, gym and spa facilities are first class. It was lovely sitting in the hot tub at night, listening to the crashing waves of the sea.

Our room had a sea view, was a good size with everything you would expect from a first class hotel. The food was excellent.

There were plenty of staff, who were all very friendly and attentative.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrammieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a very well appointed hotel that offers superb views across the bay from the large airy lounge area (and ‘sea view’ bedrooms). Like many reviewers, we went on the ‘Taste of the Bay’ deal that includes a dinner in Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant and another in the hotel dining room, plus a lunch at the nearby Beach Hut restaurant. It was our fourth such visit, and although prices have risen since the offer was first introduced, it is still a good value package for such a hotel (although personally I wouldn’t mind if it left out the lunch, as although it was good I never feel that hungry after taking advantage of the large breakfast selection at the hotel!).

The staff were very friendly and helpful, which is just as well as on this occasion we were very disappointed with our room. Although we have always been happy in the past, this time we were given room 10. This turned out to be right next to the stairs leading to the exit to the rear car park, and the windows looked out directly onto a high wall some 2 meters away if that. This meant that the room had no view whatsoever and was perpetually dim and dingy, and the low wattage lighting didn’t help. You couldn’t really see any daylight, let alone sunlight! It was also noisy, as being next to the stairs there was a lot of guest traffic, and the soundproofing was not great so we could hear every word the passing guests said as well as the regular footfalls on the stairs. Other aspects of the room (contemporary décor with the modern wood flooring, the space, comfortable bed, good quality linen and towels etc.) were fine, but it wasn't worth the £125 per night room rate. The depressing dinginess led me to ask for a move. And this is where the helpful, friendly staff came into their own, as Matt at the front of the house handled the situation in a friendly, helpful and professional manner. Despite the hotel being booked almost to capacity he did manage to find us a much better room and our bags were moved for us. This was a lovely room – bright and airy – which made so much difference to the holiday (we felt lifted when entering the new room rather than being depressed by the cheerless atmosphere of room 10).

As for other aspects, the breakfast offered a good selection and dinner was also very good – for me as good as Fifteen but much better value, both for food and wine. For example, the excellent 3-course dinner was priced at £30 - virtually the same as a single fillet steak at Fifteen (£29, without vegetables!). Also, Fifteen is not very suited to people with mobility problems, as there is a 26-step descent with no lift or any visible means of getting down other than using the stairs.

Car parking in both the hotel car parks can be a bit of a problem, but fortunately you are able to use the public car park near the front of the hotel so its no great inconvenience.

All in all we enjoyed it once again, although if we had had to stay in our original room then things would have been very different, so we are grateful to Matt who saved the holiday.

Room Tip: Do not take room 10. There is no view other than a wall some 5 feet away from the window, which mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing