We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Really made to feel welcome. The pool and hot tub are great! Food really nice. Overall really good! I would come again.
Came for a three night Break eating in 3 different restaurants and it's great! They could do with some more car parking! And the electrical box in the room buzzes! But these are minor points

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    287
    95
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
665
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ash vale
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our 4th visit but the first for two and a half years. The hotel continues to improve and to delight.Previously the restaurant whilst pretty good was some way behind 15;no longer ...the food was great and to be honest more enjoyable than Oliver's 15 (which has gone downhill).
Also the investment in the spa area has provided guests with a beautiful room overlooking the sea in which to relax. A really good addition.
Must pay tribute to the front desk girls and staff generally who are really helpful.
Am already looking forward to next year's visit.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 which overlooks the road and can be noisy when they empty the bins etc in the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here at the end of June for a big family get together. The facilities, food, rooms, views are all excellent.

We stayed in the coach house which was the most spacious holiday accommodation we have ever had. We had two bedrooms, the master was particularly large, a spacious hallway with fridge. Lots of storage space and even a little courtyard which was perfect for hanging our wetsuits.

The wetsuit drying room is a brilliant idea, the shower was so warm and very welcome as the weather was a little cold during our stay.

The pool and spa facilities are all excellent. Drinks are on the pricy side.

Only Two minor negatives: The beach was dirty and we had to step over the same dead seagull for the three days that we were there. There was also empty bottles and random bits of rubbish at the top of the beach which weren't touched during our stay (I believe the beach is privately owned by the hotel?)

The staff are very friendly but are seriously lacking on English skills! Even one of the receptionists wasn't too hot on English.

Would recommend!

Room Tip: Coach house has no sea views but are very spacious for all the clutter that comes with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
296 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Watergate Bay Hotel for 3 nights in early September and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The hotel is in a wonderful location with fantastic views across Watergate Bay and only 2 mins you can be on the beach or in the sea. The hotel was busy during our stay and does attract many families but still has a number of areas to chill out and relax. Our room was well maintained with a comfy bed, small desk, TV & DVD player. We stayed in a room with a sea view so we had a small balcony with lovely views along the beach. Breakfasts are served buffet style with a good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, pastries (the croissants are excellent) and then a variety of hot foods all of which were very tasty (again lovely sausages).

Service at breakfast was very good with tables cleaned quickly and all food replenished regularly. It was equally friendly and helpful at the front desk and throughout other parts of the hotel.

Unfortunately we didn’t have time to eat dinner in the restaurant as we wanted to eat at Fifteen (we had a lovely meal and the restaurant is just across the car park) as well as try some of the lovely restaurants in Padstow.

It is fair to say that the hotel isn’t cheap but given the service, location and the variety of facilities (beach club, swimming pool, spa, gym etc) it’s worth it and we are very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed one night in a basic room (all that was available) at watergate Bay Hotel with our dog. How refreshing to find a modern, relaxed, contemporary hotel that caters for every need in such a wonderful location. The accomodation was modern, comfortable and a little retro, the staff were extremely helpful and the food excellent. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Watergate Bay.

Room Tip: 64 in the coach house is a good basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRBramhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stunning hotel in a stunning location!
Staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly...
There are lots of public areas with uninterrupted sea views where you eat, drink or just watch the world go by....
Somehow this hotel has managed to combine a relaxed an informal atmosphere with 5*+ luxury/service. Don't be alarmed to find an eclectic mix of people; Some wandering around in their bath robes after a dip in the pool, a few in their running gear after a jog along the beach, Many lounging on the deck enjoying lunch or afternoon tea or at home dressed up enjoying a delicious dinner and fine wine with friends etc...it completely works and it feels like you are welcome to enjoy the facilities as you wish.
For me, the best bit was breakfast! All too often it can be a "bun fight" in a full hotel at the weekend but the restaurant was well staffed and the buffet was replenished before items ran out! a rarity! The staff were charming and v efficient. Nothing was too much trouble and variety and quality of the food was outstanding!
Location wise, this hotel is idyllic and set in a quiet tranquil spot 2 miles from the airport and c.4 miles from Newquay town. However, within a few seconds of the hotel there is Jamies Fifteen Restaurant and The Beach Hut (service and food is far from "hut" standard!) So with these 2 offsite dining restaurants and the restaurant/living space at the hotel the options are plentiful!
Whether its a romantic break, a weekend with friends or a family holiday this hotel is the place to go!
We just can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are fabulous but if your budget won't allow it the entire hotel has been desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you looking for something a little bit different for a special occasion this might be for you. The views from this hotel are difficult to beat, the location is perfect. A very relaxed beach hotel which is also very sophisticated, the hot tub and pool are superb. The best view I've ever had from a bath!!

Room Tip: Book early avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayH301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing