We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel while on a business trip. The hotel is only about 10 mins from the airport, I arrived just after 2 and was told my room wasn't ready as check in isn't until 3, this wasn't a problem as I was given a card to get into the residents living space, which meant I could sit comfortably with a cup of tea while working on laptop (easy wifi access) with a bay view ....shame it wasn't a bright day but still a great view.
The hotel is well set up in a lovely location, as well as the residents living space there is a lovely looking spa, the beach hut as an alternative eating/drinking location and dining room with good selection on the menu and standard of food. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and not intrusive. The only points a would score down on are that the rooms although lovely have wooden floors, mine was on the ground floor in the coach house which meant that every movement across the floor upstairs is quite noisy - especially if there are what sounded like young children running around! I also didn't have a mobile phone signal in my room which made it difficult for me to connect to VPN on wireless (not forgetting my trip was business not pleasure)
A relaxing place to visit and appears there are some good offers made available which I would be happy to try out for a couples break

Room Tip: If staying with someone with walking difficulties would suggest requesting a room with easy access a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELRI49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    287
    95
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
666
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed last weekend, had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Hotel:
Vell appointed rooms, nice touch of tea/coffee making equipment and conditioner in the rooms (helpful for those with long hair and windy beach walks/swims planned!). Plus good wifi and an amazing location!
The pool and hot tub were great, kept very clean and what a view!
There was also an adults only time in the evenings which gave adults a chance to enjoy the pool 'quietly'.
To be picky, considering the price and star rating of the hotel; the mattress could have been better it was a bit lumpy and the balcony door was quite breezy around the seals, although the heating more than compensated, and we were not cold!
Like I say I'm being picky, the hotel was very good. I've stayed in hostels and guest houses which are £10/night or less and feel that I review them fairly based on the value for money and budget-expectation ratio.

Staff were excellent, prepared, friendly and helpful.

Food:
The hotel restaurant served fantastic food! The service was also brilliant. I would recommend eating here, thought it was better than Jamie Oliver's Fifteen.
It would be nice if there was a curfew/separate area for children in the evenings as there were some loud toddlers running around, which was a shame from our couple's weekend away point of view - I guess this would be a plus point for young families wanting to a family break! This might be resolved once the main restaurant renovations have been finished.

Breakfast was very good as well, huge variety on offer, fresh pastries, cooked food, coffees and papers, all with that stunning view.

Over all a very good stay, 4 1/2 stars and we would go back/

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatitgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 22 who went down for our company Christmas bash. Stayed in the hotel and had lunch, breakfast in the hotel and festive dinner at The Beach Hut. Between us all we sampled just about everything the hotel had to offer. Unanimous verdict - just fantastic ! Everyone one of our party said they would be back with kids / for romantic weekend / their wedding (!!). The location is of course is brilliant but throughout our stay the staff from the guys doing the cleaning, to front of house were absolutely exceptional. Whatever the request the answer was "yes" and delivered with a smile on their faces. We stay in many 5 star hotels around Europe on business , many promise much and actually under deliver or are so starchy - Watergate Bays combination of location, design and furnishing, great food and relaxed but hugely efficient service must make it one of the very best hotels in the UK. Just go!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in September as part of the taste of the Bay deal. We had been to Watergate Bay before but never stayed in the hotel.

The hotel has recently been renovated and it has a lovely feel to it. The living space (exclusively for residents) has a wonderful view and comfy chairs. The swimming pool is an infinity pool and you have full view of the sea when you swim. I also like the amended children hours so that adults can enjoy the swimming pool 'quietly'.

I made use of the spa facilities (very good for a pedicure - the 'nail room' has a view of the sea. There is also a small gym and a few classes available.

The food was good on all levels. Great choice at breakfast and good products. Lunch menu varied. The evening meals were also very good - the only comment I would make is that the standard of the Beach Hut is lower than the other two restaurants (and due to the size, can be quite noisy).

All in all it was not a cheap escape but I would not hesitate to go back because it ticked the right boxes.

Room Tip: Too many different choices of views and tariffs - sea view would obviously be lovely but price tag a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cissounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We love this hotel and can't wait to go back. Friendly service, great food, wonderful location, great kidzone and our family room was great. Pool is great and we both had a lovely massage. Our only gripe was child care. It is marketed as a child friendly hotel with baby sitting but there is not enough baby sitting. This was a quiet time of year and there were no baby sitters available. We had to eat in our room every night - fun but not what we had planned. They do have a tablet system but the family rooms are in the coach house so we did did not want to leave the children that far away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived to a friendly and cheerful welcome. Our room was comfortable, clean and had a small outside seating area with views over the sea.
The strength of this hotel is it's lovely relaxed and informal feel. The Living Space has magnificent views with cosy chairs to sink into. The dining room was being renovated when we arrived but this was not a problem. There was another room which was used as an alternative as well as tables laid in the Living Space. This was our preferred option due to its lovely informal feel. Food was good and hot and was good value. We were on the Taste of the Bay deal which we liked as we liked the flexibility of being able to eat in different restaurants each day. Staff were all helpful and friendly.
We had a lovely three days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane268_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just returned from a couple of days stay, having been a guest at a friend's wedding at the hotel last year. The food and service for the wedding were really excellent, and the location and ambience of the hotel attracted me back.

It's a little expensive, but you are rewarded with a really beautiful setting. It's peaceful and really relaxing - just what I wanted. The only very minor complaint were that drinks orders were occasionally a little slow to be fulfilled, although that said there were some really attentive members of staff who put that right, and we were made to feel well looked after. Everyone was courteous and helpful.

The room was lovely - plain and simple decor. Fantastic bed - best couple of nights sleep I've had in ages! Watching the sunset from our room, and waking up to the view of the beach was really stunning.

All in all a really happy couple of days visit - I'll be sure to return. Worth looking out for some deals, as I'd imagine it could be pricey in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a first or second floor room for the best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motocod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing