We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover the bay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Discover the bay”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was an amazing last minute trip for me, Mr and puppy. The weather was outstanding but even without this it would have been easy to not leave the bay or the hotel which was exactly what we were looking for. As it was it was glorious, this made the surfing even better and the sunsets quite spectacular. The room was amazing, sea view and so tranquil, which considering how puppy and little people friendly it is was impressive! The staff were super kind and helpful, to both the Mr and the puppy! Breakfast was sooo much fun, waffles are apparently impossible to resist if you get to make them yourself, just was well we were surfing every morning to burn of the delicious calories we were consuming! The beach is amazing and huge at low tide, the proximity to the beach incredible. Gloriously pleased that the car didn't nice for the 3 days we were there and still feel like we had had a most splendid adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kersty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    290
    96
    41
    28
See reviews for
369
673
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

so glad we stayed here . it is special. we have stayed in some fab hotels in the past, but this has to be one of our favourites . we did taste of the bay for 3 nights which was fantastic value. All the meals were first class. we stayed in room 12 which did not have a sea view, however the room was really lovely and spacious . Bed extremely comfortable .The bathroom was fantastic .
Most people staying here had either a baby or a dog. we had neither but that would not stop us returning again. All staff are extremely friendly and attentive. They obviously receive first class training . The location is amazing ......what can I say......except we will be back .

Room Tip: Room 12 no sea view but a gorgeous room ....and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my wife wanted a couple of nights away and after some searching around found the watergate Bay hotel, having lived in Cornwall all my life and seen a fair bit of it but never having been to watergate bay we thought we would give it a try. The setting of this hotel is special, there are not many hotels set this close to the beach, on arrival we found the staff very friendly and creating a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel was modern and clean and although our room didn't have a view it was everything you could want from a hotel room. The first night we ate at Jamie Olivers Fifteen restaurant, sat watching the sun set over the sea and enjoying good food was great. The second night we ate in the hotel Restaurant which is called Zacrys, although the view wasn't as good as fifteen the food was even better! The chef is clearly outstanding in his field, the kitchen has an open front so if you are lucky enough to get the right table you can watch the guys at work, cooking and preparing the food which is a nice touch. I have eaten in a lot of places in Cornwall and Devon and Zacrys has gone straight to the top of my list! all in all if you want a great place to stay in cornwall, by the beach, with excellent food this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmagicdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Easy to find. Nice & clean. Contemporary décor. Don`t agree with waiting staff touching the dogs in the restaurant, no matter how cute they are. Am sure people who do not like dogs, would be put off by this.) The food is excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of hotel. There were quite a lot of stairs, so bit of a walk to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A great place to stay for work or play! We were working on this visit. The service is pleasant and they always ask if you need anything just when you do need it, coffee's water, tea! At the end of the day a lovely swim or walk on the beach or treatment, good food and comfy bed and 10 minutes from the airport!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Hotel kindly extended my Birthday present voucher for a few months as I had not been well enough to use it by the expiry date in 2013. This was our second visit to Watergate Bay Hotel, we stayed last March 2013. It looks as though the constant building works are coming to an end and we were lucky to enjoy Breakfast in the new Dining Room just reopened that morning. This visit was sunshine not fog which is a hazard at this time of year so lovely views.
Dinner the previous evening was excellent, for starters if on offer try the smoked prawns and also the scallops were a delight. Two delicately cooked, still attached to the shell in a delicious sauce.
The fish and chips for main course is also very good,puddings a delight.
Overall very enjoyable, kind smiling staff at reception and the dining room. We felt that they are aiming at the active end of of the hotel trade on the West Country Coast, We live in North Devon with the famous surf beaches of Woolacombe,Croyde. Saunton, etc,my only word of advice is do not forget the older generation especially out of season!

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Second stay here. Overall lovely- hard to beat location wise. Decor contemporary and refreshing compared to most British seaside hotels. Lovely sea views and really like the ocean room although a shame the lights are turned off at 10 pm and ushered out all be it politely. My big bug bear is the same as last year- over 80 percent of the staff are in their 20's and most are " doing a season" . Delightful as most of them are they have been given very little obvious hospitality training and we're sometimes lacking in customer service. Some of the male staff clearly need some lessons in how to be polite to women over the age of 30. When asking if it was standard for their to be no toiletries/ shower caps in the bathrooms he came up with" we are just not that sort of hotel" patronising in the extreme! However I do think it is well worth a visit but if the management read these reviews please do some staff training, it would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Other than a soap dispenser there are no toiletries offered or shower caps in the bathrooms so need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVF2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing