We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed bit of luxury in a lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxed bit of luxury in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I really love this hotel. Husband and I just had a three day very foodie "Taste of the Bay" break there, which included dinner at Zacry's the hotel's restaurant, lunch in their Beach Hut cafe, and dinner at the adjacent Jamie Oliver's Fifteen.

It is the combination of relaxed ambience, beautiful contemporary but simple decor, and stunning location that does it for me. Our room (no 27 - a "better" room) was in a turret with views down the coast to Newquay, with probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. On our second day, it was raining solidly, so we happily abandoned plans to venture out, and instead settled into the Swim Club part of the hotel. This has a beautiful guest-only lounge overlooking the sea, serving drinks and snacks, a long indoor infinity pool also looking out over the Atlantic, a fitness room, and treatment rooms. So it just had to be the full body massage, followed by a leisurely swim; lunch upstairs in the hotel bar, then cuddling up with books as the rain lashed the windows.

So why not give it 5 stars? Two things, both of which took the edge off an otherwise perfect stay (with, I have to say, pretty perfect service too). Zacry's has just had a makeover, and very lovely it is too. But the lighting is so dim at night that I really had to struggle to see my food. As I think we eat with our eyes as much as with our other senses, this was a real disappointment. It wasn't just our table, the whole restaurant was really dim. The other quibble is that the buffet breakfast kept running out of hot food. The hotel was packed, it is true, and people do tend to descend en masse to breakfast at around 9-9.30, but for the three mornings we were there, the hot buffet had at least two items missing, which was a shame. The breakfast offering overall was lovely - fresh juice, berries and yoghurt, waffles, porridge, bagels/cream cheese/salmon plus the usual cereals and toast - but the kitchen needed to keep up with the customers on the hot food front.

This is not a cheap place to stay - Taste of the Bay put it within our budget but still at the luxury end -- and despite the quibbles over the restaurant, I have my eyes open for the next special offer, as it is a magical place on one of the most beautiful bits of coastline we have in this country.

Room Tip: Go for sea view. Even "partial", it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    294
    98
    41
    29
See reviews for
378
691
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for only one night passing through Cornwall and had a booking at Fifteen Cornwall which is next door. The room, facilities, staff, breakfast were all fabulous. Stunning location and magnificent view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Watergate Bay for two nights whilst touring Cornwall. The hotel reflects its surf beach setting with a cool, laid-back vibe in the communal areas and with staff casually dressed in 'Fat Face' / White Stuff' -style outfits. The feel is very similar to The Scarlet at Mawgan Porth but, unlike the adults-only Scarlet, several of the young couples staying at Watergate Bay had young children - not a problem for us but could be an issue if you wanted a quiet romantic break. Having said that, the lounge in the Swim Club is adults-only and is a really peaceful retreat with stylish and comfortable furniture and amazing panoramic views over the beach.
Our room was decorated and furnished in a minimalist but comfortable 'New England' beach style and had a balcony with views over the beach. You fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing onto the shore.
Watergate Bay is an excellent location for food lovers, with lots of excellent restaurants within a short drive. We'd eaten at Fifteen before so were keen to try The Beach Hut and Zacary's (the hotel's newly refurbished restaurant). Unfortunately, The Beach Hut was closed for refurbishment during our visit but the excellent food and service in Zacary's was more than adequate compensation and the less formal food served in The Living Room was good quality and good value. Breakfast, taken in Zacary's, is buffet style but is of a really high quality. Staff in the restaurant were well-drilled and knowledgable but also very friendly and welcoming. The sole and the venison were particularly good, as was the Chilean Viognier.
Finally....the pool. A lovely 25 metre infinity pool with views over the beach to the sea, suitable for a 'proper' swim (my husband) or a gentle 'pootle' (me). And then there's the hot tub on the deck outside the pool where we braved the March wind and the rain to enjoy the experience of watching the waves crash onto the beach whilst simmering gently in hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langers49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel has had some upgrades recently. The good things:
1. Hotel staff very friendly and so helpful.
2. Rooms furnished well and very clean.
3. Huge 6 foot wide bed, so comfortable.
4. Breakfast great but please turn down or preferably turn off the ever present muzak!

The not so good things:
1. Parking non-existent, so you have to use the public car park opposite, however this is free for guests. Parkin g spaces are fairly limited though and I would not like to be there in summer as I suspect parking could be a problem.
2. The new restaurant Zacrys, nicely furnished and good atmosphere. However I think there are still finding their way with some of the dishes. I ate in there for 2 nights. The shrimps were good and so was the Dover Sole but the next night I had Spider crab salad, .. Yuk too much heavy sauce and Soy sauce, almost inedible. I then had duck on a bean type base. Only one measly piece of duck which was Ok but a bit tough and the base of beans etc. almost inedible again.
I think the dishes need sorting out as very much pot luck!
3. One each night I stayed there were weddings which were noisy and the disco from down below echoed all round the bar.

Summary: Despite above comments I would stay there again as the staff and ambiance are good. People seem to have come a long way to stay there and it had 100% occupancy, which is a good sign. Just sort out the food in Zacrys and it would be a whole lot better.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view preferably on an upper floor as I was on first floor and view was partially ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VES11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was an amazing last minute trip for me, Mr and puppy. The weather was outstanding but even without this it would have been easy to not leave the bay or the hotel which was exactly what we were looking for. As it was it was glorious, this made the surfing even better and the sunsets quite spectacular. The room was amazing, sea view and so tranquil, which considering how puppy and little people friendly it is was impressive! The staff were super kind and helpful, to both the Mr and the puppy! Breakfast was sooo much fun, waffles are apparently impossible to resist if you get to make them yourself, just was well we were surfing every morning to burn of the delicious calories we were consuming! The beach is amazing and huge at low tide, the proximity to the beach incredible. Gloriously pleased that the car didn't nice for the 3 days we were there and still feel like we had had a most splendid adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kersty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

so glad we stayed here . it is special. we have stayed in some fab hotels in the past, but this has to be one of our favourites . we did taste of the bay for 3 nights which was fantastic value. All the meals were first class. we stayed in room 12 which did not have a sea view, however the room was really lovely and spacious . Bed extremely comfortable .The bathroom was fantastic .
Most people staying here had either a baby or a dog. we had neither but that would not stop us returning again. All staff are extremely friendly and attentive. They obviously receive first class training . The location is amazing ......what can I say......except we will be back .

Room Tip: Room 12 no sea view but a gorgeous room ....and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my wife wanted a couple of nights away and after some searching around found the watergate Bay hotel, having lived in Cornwall all my life and seen a fair bit of it but never having been to watergate bay we thought we would give it a try. The setting of this hotel is special, there are not many hotels set this close to the beach, on arrival we found the staff very friendly and creating a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel was modern and clean and although our room didn't have a view it was everything you could want from a hotel room. The first night we ate at Jamie Olivers Fifteen restaurant, sat watching the sun set over the sea and enjoying good food was great. The second night we ate in the hotel Restaurant which is called Zacrys, although the view wasn't as good as fifteen the food was even better! The chef is clearly outstanding in his field, the kitchen has an open front so if you are lucky enough to get the right table you can watch the guys at work, cooking and preparing the food which is a nice touch. I have eaten in a lot of places in Cornwall and Devon and Zacrys has gone straight to the top of my list! all in all if you want a great place to stay in cornwall, by the beach, with excellent food this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmagicdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing