We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding with a view!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We wanted somewhere very special for our big day and Watergate Bay Hotel was the perfect choice! We got married on 3rd May and enjoyed looking out over the beautiful beach as we said our vows in front of close friends, family and our dog. The setting was idyllic and the décor of the hotel is very stylish making the perfect back drop for any special occasion.

The new Zacry's Restaurant is very chic and the food is incredible with a great wine list. We enjoyed the English Flower cocktail for our celebratory drink which was divine and many of our guests have commented on how delicious the canapés were.

The staff were wonderful too, they were so helpful and could not do enough for us on the big day. Our guests also commented on how the staff had gone above an beyond to look after them. We had a few children attending and we were concerned about them getting bored, but we had nothing to worry about as the amazing kids corner kept them entertained for hours.

We were very lucky to stay in suite 1 with the breath-taking view and free standing bath by the window - bliss! The bed is huge and really comfortable and the double shower is amazing. We enjoyed it so much that we tried to book an extra night but the hotel was fully booked for the bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was beautifully cooked, with so much to choose from and waffle making facilities, we were spoilt for choice.

We have fallen in love with this hotel and the location and can not wait to return for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to suite 1 and enjoy the view and the amazing bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla_j_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay. This is a fabulous hotel and I can't find any fault with it. We stayed in a standard sea view room. Our balcony had a table and chairs or we could sit in bed looking out over the rolling sea. The room was quiet and very comfortable.

We ate in the beach hut and zacrys and both did great food and the service was great. We lovely The Living Space and spent hours reading books and papers on a sofa overlooking the sea.

The pool and hot tub also had the amazing views and were spotlessly clean.

The atmosphere at this hotel is very casual but everything is of a high standard and the service is exceptional.

I think this hotel is a rare find for anyone looking for a fabulous seaside hotel on the uk. If you are a dog owner it's even more out of the ordinary as dogs are not only welcomed but catered for in that you are allowed to leave your dog in the room and can make use of the 'baby listening' monitors they provide to make sure your dog is not barking while you are in the restaurant.

And if you can stretch to it, eat once at Jamie's Fifteen. A real treat and 2 min walk from the hotel entrance.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We chose to spend our 20th Anniversary at The Watergate Bay and were not disappointed. The hotel, room and facilities were all superb. The staff were friendly and couldn't have done more. The overall feel of the hotel is casual and beachy yet smart and classy at the same time. We were made to feel very welcome and relaxed and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to spoil themselves with a real treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which overlooked the beach. Stunning. Go for a sea view if possible, it is we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Took advantage of the mid-season DBB 3 night break - wow what can I say, we had a fab time, food was great, weather was amazing, room was an absolute delight, we did not want to go home, this hotel caters for EVERYONE. We though when we arrived that there were a lot of children, as we booked outside the school holidays, No we are not grouches but we left our boys at home, but we wanted a nice break, but the children and dogs are so catered for that we didn't see or hear from them at all.

Will be back again after our summer holiday in Cornwall for my October birthday and will be praying for the same weather.

Just one point to moan, we had to have a change of rooms, which we knew about but didn't want a ground floor room, we did ask fro a 2nd or 3rd floor and when we called to ask for this change and said we were unhappy with a ground floor room we were offered the option of "going home then" which as both myself and my partner are in the customer service industry felt was a little on the poor side but they did come through in the end and managed to sort out a 2nd floor room.

Just a quick tip Managers tell your customers that you will do your best even if you know you can't and let them feel valued.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room you WILL NOT be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Got a deal on a 2 night stay in March which considering the location, service, communal space and the pool I felt it was really good value for money. We had to have a room in the coach house as we wanted to take the dog. I was dissapointed at first as I was keen on a sea view but I'm pleased to say it atually didn't bother me. Watergate has designed the hotel so that lots of communal space has the view. Because of this I didn't feel at a disadvantage, The room was a two bedroom family apartment. It was nice and it was new: large double bed very comfy, cotton linen, feather bedding, good mattress (pillows a bit flat), wooden floors, large TV good storage. The kids/ second bedroom was bland. Could have done with a bedside table and light and maybe a little colour in the room from cushions or better lighting. It was very bland. Bathroom was great and shower was powerful. Shampoo and conditioner bottles didn't pump and I found this in the showers in the spa facility too. The dressing table was really wobbly. Lacked seating. TV was big and good in the main bedroom and the distant location wasn't a problem at all.
The breakfast was really nice and varied and we liked eating in the Living Room and also the new restaurant. We ate in the Living Room both nights which we enjoyed. The first night my steak was useless (came in 3 small bits and was well and truly chewy - it was my 40th bday so didn't want to complain) and on the second night I mentioned it wasn't good and it was great second time around. Pool was really clean, lovely view great shower areas and fluffy towels. The best thing about the hotel was the consistency of good service and the abundance of staff. The staff really are lovely. I will definately be going back because despite some details being a little up and down the stay overall was lovely because you can see they are doing their best to get it right. Great location, great outlook and great service. Watergate is certainly all about the bay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Watergate Bay Hotel is a beautiful place to stay in every respect. What a shame then that they expect visitors staying in the "Village apartments next door to look down on their staff car park that also seems to double as a rubbish tip!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank MikeandJean15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. The whole feel is very relaxed. The rooms are lovely, clean and spacious. We stay here with our two children and have 2 interconnecting rooms in main house. The baby listening is a very clever web can app that works throughout the hotel and they also provide brilliant babysitters. Kids tea is good too. Having said all that, there are just as many people that stay here who don't have kids, so it's not all about being a child friendly hotel.
The pool and spa are stunning - there are bifold doors that they open around the pool on warmer days. The restaurants are great with the Beach Hut and Fifteen as alternatives to dining in the hotel, but are just a two minute walk away.
Staying here is a proper holiday for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £95 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing