We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the flat roof!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beware the flat roof!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at watergate bay for one night. It was out first visit and we booked the most expensive room, one of two suite's, entirely based on the pictures and spiel on the web site.

Our stay coincided with a mini festival on the beach below the hotel, so we expected extra noise and a greater weight of people around, this was not a problem, the music finished ahead of the announced time and was in fact quite interesting to watch.

Staff were efficient and precise during checkin, although it felt a little rushed and was conducted over a computer screen due to a queue at reception.

We were directed to our room which we found with ease, it wasn't until unpacking and settling in did I open the double French windows. Instead of the unspoilt view of the beach surf and bay, we were hit with a massive flat roof and the smell of greasy chip fat via the extraction fan. After considering our options and the fact that the hotel was fully booked we accepted the room, although all the atmosphere and feel good feeling had gone. I really did not want a argument in a busy reception where the staff would be unable to move us in any case.

The room itself was clean but had general wear and tear, the bathroom was fantastic and well appointed. We found one or two things a bit strange, the bedside tables were tiny to the point of being useless and the main room light was a large shade with a printed picture of a nice light fitting, for the cost we paid for the room it might be nice to actually have a nice light fitting.

Whilst these issues may seem a little fussy the reason is simply due to the fact that we paid £325.00 for one night in this room, we absolutely expected a lot more.

I believe there may be a trade description issue with the room as the web site photo has clearly been photoshopped, (I did take the same photo from the room for comparison), also whilst the term suite is commonly abused, I believe a square room with a bathroom in one corner, L shaped, is not a suite.

My partner did contact the hotel to raise these issues via a customer feed back form, there reply was simply that our issues had been noted, my partner replied once again, no reply was received.

We sincerely wanted to enjoy our night away in what looked like a fantastic hotel, instead several weeks later I feel robbed and disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    288
    95
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
667
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just had a wonderful long weekend and it was pretty much faultless. The room was great, we had a sea view which was stunning, a large king size bed and a lovely bathroom with a great shower. The staff were brilliant and so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic, the breakfasts were incredible with the choice and standard of food and the suppers were great. The location can't really be beaten and it is amazing to be able to wander on to the beach whenever you feel like it. Overall we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Watergate Bay Hotel, both times taking advantage of their "Taste of the Bay" offer which includes Breakfast & dinners at Jaimie's 15, The Beach Hut & Zacry's.

The hotel was much better this time with staff very attentive and delivering high levels of service whether front desk, bar, coffee bar or cleaning staff.

Breakfasts are outstanding and the quality of food always very good.

Jamie's 15 was disappointing and the food very ordinary compared to previous visit, unfortunately so was The Beach Hut - not awful but should not be part of the "Taste of the Bay" experience poor menu choice/variety - the service was good though in the end. Zacry's food was unexciting but very well served and presented.

Room Tip: try and get one with AC and not overlooking the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A friend at work told me about this place and my partner booked it as a surprise for the weekend of the longest day, so we've just come back.

Easily found, if you can't get a space to park in the hotel there is a car park next door so you can be on standby for the next available space. We were lucky and parked straight away.

We went for a walk on the beach then to the Beach Hut restaurant on the beach. Recommend pre booking. It is a menu for an experienced palette but excellent. Lovely place, nice staff and a fab view.

Then we went to the hotel for treatments, again, pre booked. We were given swim passes to the pool and treatment rooms straight away, despite not being checked in because we arrived early. We changed, put our things in free lockers provided and then swam in the infinity pool before showered and going for our treatments. I had an original pedicure, sitting in an armchair looking over the pool, out to sea, with a pot of tea beside me. Life just can't get better - or so I thought.

After the lovely treatment we went to our room. Suite one. It has a roll top bath in the window, so you can open the doors and listen to the sea and feel the breeze. A fabulous queen size brass bed, double shower and bathroom with two basins. Fridge etc with complimentary waters.

Someone has really walked this through. It was a stress free, wonderful experience. We sat outside of the lounge area to avoid children and dogs, because we could. Had a nice meal in Zacarys in house, then went go the lounge for drinks.

Despite there being a small wedding, we wouldn't have known, there were plenty of staff, the food wasn't delayed.

We watched the sun go down in our room and finished our champagne. I took ipad and speakers for music, which worked well.

Only criticism I can level is that the disco was almost immediately outside our window underneath, and could have been turned down a bit after eleven, but I went to sleep looking out to sea and listening to it so was okay.

We had a fabulous help yourself hot and cold breakfast, the chefs watch it like a hawk to swap out the eggs etc when needed, and you can even make your own waffles.

We checked out Fifteen to One after breakfast and agree it is expensive but very full on value no doubt. For a more discerning pallet it would be great.

I loved my stay, I will dream about the view for years to come and hope to revisit as soon as I can.

Thank you to all the thoroughly charming staff.

Room Tip: Suite with bath in the window recommended,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for three nights on the Taste of the Bay deal. We had a perfect summer holiday, helped by amazing weather. The hotel is stunning, beautiful interior design and colour schemes. The staff are all welcoming and friendly. It was a real bonus for us that we could book a family suite and have a separate room for our toddler to sleep in and the room was spacious and lovely. The food was great - Fifteen was exceptional (and we got a hotel babysitter that night and left our toddler sleeping in the room), the Beach Hut is so lovely (we ate there a few times including lunches) and Zacry's is not bad. The hotel breakfasts are awesome.
Having the beautiful beach just steps away is so special, and the pool / swim club is outstanding, both for our little one, and for an adult swim. I was the only one in the pool one evening, as the sun started to set and it was magnificent.
We have holidayed all over the world and this was one of my favourite holidays ever, we'll be back again for sure. Thank you Watergate Bay!

Room Tip: Family suite for anyone with children - there is a separate bedroom in the room for little ones to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing West Sussex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wonderful stay in Cornwall due to fantastic weather and the location of this hotel. We had the Ocean View rooms, a bit small and the bathroom could do with a make over.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and the tea and coffee arrived in good time, often a problem I find. Only criticism was a lack of choice of fruit, strawberries were in season but no sign of them.
Excellent swimming pool, if you choose your time to go in, it could become crowded as it was rather narrow. A hot tub, located outside with great views was nice. Bad weather (it is Cornwall) would leave you wanting a steam room and sauna, which are missing.
If you are a light sleeper you will need to choose a room away from the wedding disco room. This eliminates the rooms with a sea view. While we stayed (a week in June) there were three weddings all with noisy music playing until midnight. I get the impression the wedding guests are more of a priority than those staying at this hotel.
The hotel has free wifi. Unfortunately it was rather patchy in our room, although was fine on the balcony.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, is adequate in most respects, but you do pay for it, room prices are very high for what you get.
This may seem a harsh review but, no doubt, I will be back again next year (for the 22nd year in a row) for a dose of freezing Atlantic waves and a two mile sandy beach on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Beware of the Ocean View rooms if you go to bed early and are a light sleeper, due to the wedding di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A wonderful, relaxing 3 days, using the new pool and terraces in hot sunshine. Our third time here and we can't wait to have another "taste of the bay".The new Zachary's Restaurant is great and the food fantastic!
The staff are ALL so friendly and welcoming everywhere, the rooms so comfortable, the views to die for! Just perfect for a romantic break whatever your age...

Room Tip: The sea view is worth paying extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitnFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing