We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very scenic location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very scenic location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were staying in an apartment opposite but decided to eat here a couple of evenings and wasn't disappointed. Lovely setting with outdoor seating to watch the sunset across the ocean. Very stylish inside with a separate games area to suit older kids. Staff attentive and eager to please. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view room with bath looking over water, I am told!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darj33ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    290
    96
    40
    28
See reviews for
369
674
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel we keep going back to, despite a few niggles, primarily because of its location, the great staff and the opportunities it offers to surf and enjoy life by the sea for a few days.
I do agree wholeheartedly with a previous reviewer about school hols though. We too are restricted as to when we can stay and as soon as my - now teenage - son finishes school I will be delighted to book in early July or September, but definitely not August!
Breakfasts this year were chaotic and just not relaxing. We moved to the Living Space as I just couldn't cope with the terrible din and constantly negotiating small children sent off to forage for themselves and finding they couldn't manage.
The hotel do try to keep adults happy, with young children not allowed in the restaurant for dinner after a certain time and not permitted in the pool after six.
Unfortunately there are always parents who want to bend the rules and I think the hotel has to keep on top of this so as not to alienate families with older children. They do try I know, I saw it in action, but it must be an uphill struggle!
Room wise do not expect great luxury but the ones we have been in are well equipped, fresh and comfortable.
We stay in the Coach House now. Bunks in the main hotel are too small for teenage boys. It's a bit of a hike but has the advantage of being quiet - no through traffic! No view though.
Staff are great. So, so helpful. They were great in Zachary's which continues to serve fab. food only now in much more modern and tasteful surroundings following its refurb. I do agree about the wine list though. I'd love a bit more variety.
As most people comment parking is a nightmare, but space being at a premium in the area I don't think the hotel can do much about it. It is annoying though when you pop out for the day and are concerned as to whether you'll be able to park on your return.
So, great hotel, friendly staff and good food allied with the opportunity to surf and body board and just enjoy the magnificent surroundings BUT it is a family hotel with all that entails - for us that means some good, some not so good. Pick your room and the dates you travel on with that in mind.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our third stay at Watergate Bay, but first in the midst of school holidays. Room in Coach House was large and spacious, it was a Best Room and had a fridge, as some have commented there are no in room fridges. No view, but that is the trade off for larger room and front of hotel has all of the views you need. School holidays add a dimension of chaos we had never previously been aware of and will do our best to avoid in future (if only Mr Gove had not changed the school holiday regulations). In summary:

Zacry's Refurbishment is fantastic and brings hotel completely up-to-date (please improve the wine list).
Waffle machines at breakfast were almost best part of holiday for our girls. Get to breakfast before 8.15am to avoid the rush and enjoy calm surroundings. From 8.45am it's rush hour!
New Baby monitoring on tablet is great. It only lasts about 2.5 hours, but works in Fifteen, Beach Hut and Hotel areas.
We managed to have the pool to ourselves (2 adults & 2 children) on several occasions between 5.30-6pm.
Kids club was thoroughly enjoyed in mornings by both of our girls.
Beach Hut and Fifteen service and food were fantastic. Highly recommended.

Service in Living Space was a nightmare. Perhaps Team Fifteen could give some lessons on table management/speed of service? Luckily we were in holiday mode and learned to order drinks at the bar and keep children busy until someone arrived.
Only 20 wet room lockers for 85 rooms. The lockers were all taken all week. Please do something to improve the situation. I know almost every inch of space in the hotel complex is utilised. We took everything back to our rooms, but I am sure cleaners didn't appreciate wetsuits and surf boards in the bathroom everyday.

If you are travelling with children in school holidays, you can't get much better beach/room/bar location than Watergate Bay, it makes beach days so easy. If you are travelling without children or can stay outside of school holidays, book now!

Top tip - once you have a car paking space don't let it go. Beach and cliff top walks are more than enough to keep you busy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mot1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed at the Watergate Bay Hotel as a couple on many occasions but this year our children and grand-children came too for my 60th birthday. We had a wonderful time and the facilities, wonderful location, sunshine and friendly, helpful staff ensured that our stay was perfect. We visited Jamie's Fifteen restaurant at lunch time and were given a table for eight overlooking the bay. This hotel is in a perfect location and we never tire of staying there!!

Room Tip: We always choose room 2 but there are other lovely rooms in the original build of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed there with my best friend over the weekend of Boardmasters 2014, arrived on the Friday and the hotel was closed to non-residents as the hotel was fully booked and Watergate was busy with the rest of the festival goers (normally the hotel is open to non-residents). Always have someone at reception 24/7 and security on the doors after a curtain time im not sure if this is only when Boardmasters is on or weather they have it all year round. The staff are very Helpful and kind. The rooms are nice cleaners are quick and come in every morning tidy the place up as our room was very messy as we had come back from the festival in the early hours of the morning. The setting of the hotel is amazing, sat in the hot tub outside over looking the beach was lovely with the big glass windows when you go back into the pool, great for the festival as well which is hosted every year at the top of the hill about a ten minute walk. The only thing i can complain about is that my friends dads car got clipped and they have a security camera in the car park just outside the main entrance and when we asked to see the cctv footage they told us that the camera is just a dummy, and the camera that is down the road is to blurry to see anything on it... overall the hotel is excellent! Would highly recommend it :D

Room Tip: Book far in advance higher floors better view although more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel. Beautiful decor. Fabulous food. Superb staff.
I've visited twice now, and always recommend this hotel to friends and clients. (I should be on commission )
Thank you Watergate Bay. Can't wait to visit you again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillette70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

You need to call at this hotel even if only for lunch the views are beautiful and the staff and atmosphere are perfect, dog friendly too! Felt really relaxed and the quality of food was excellent. The facilities by the hotel and in it cater for all an fifteen restaurant being on your doorstep is a big plus! Living space for lunch with the view was perfect for our family trip!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing