We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jacqueline H
Bath, United Kingdom

I will always return.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2024
I have been coming to Watergate Bay Hotel for more than a decade, for it's atmosphere of a laid back , relaxing holiday done very well.
It is charming, friendly and in the most wonderful location.
I would and have recommended it to friends, who also return again and again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Apr 2024
Hello T6050ZFjacquelineh,

Wow, thank you for your incredible review and, for taking the time to leave your kind comments. We love welcoming guests back year after year, becoming what we hope is a home-from-home. I'm delighted you've left us feeling relaxed after your time with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £72
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £140
  • Booking.com
3.6 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£51
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Interior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £133
  • Hotels.com
2.8 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Official Website
  • Expedia.com
    £48
  • Hotels.com
2.4 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Hotels.com
2.8 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
2.7 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
3.8 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Hotels.com
4.1 miles from Watergate Bay Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newquay
Reviews (2,733)
Filter reviews
2,733 results
Traveller rating
1,918
507
186
79
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,918
507
186
79
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living space beach hut coach house watergate bay swim club infinity pool kids zone ocean room hot tub the main hotel family suite stunning location love this hotel dog friendly hotel overlooking the beach sea view school holidays
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,733 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

If you ever stay at watergate bay the beach lofts are a must. Stunning views over the beach, beautiful interiors and bathrooms, you won’t want to leave. The pantry is a great addition for breakfast and snacks and just happens to have the best waffle maker!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah11Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Sarah11Louise,

Thank you for your kind review! I'm thrilled you had a great stay, enjoying the Beach Lofts and what we agree are the best waffles. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Staying in one of the beach lofts is the way to go when staying at Watergate Bay. The view out over the sea, with the waves crashing into the rocks virtually just below the windows at high tide is amazing. Just outside the room is a mini-kitchen, stocked at breakfast time with the famous Watergate Bay Hotel waffles as well as everything else bar the cooked breakfast - which is still available up at the main house, making lazy breakfasts in bed the way to go.

The only downside, is in poor weather, if you fancy a swim in the indoor pool, you have to go outside first!

Will definitely be going there again.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MatthewF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear MatthewF66,

Wow, what a great review. I'm thrilled you loved your getaway with us in the Beach Lofts, especially our famous make your own waffles. I'll be sure to share all your kind comments with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

Hotel has stunning views. Ideally situated for numerous walks. Great selection of restaurant choices. Dog friendly
We are on our second visit using the taste of the bay offer and will definitely look to do a third.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank h115rowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Dear h115rowan,

Thank you for leaving us your lovely review! I'm thrilled you loved your getaway with us, especially since it was your second visit! I hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

Wonderful service and amenities for the whole family. Beautiful setting and views of the coast. We wish we were there longer. The kids club was absolutely brilliant for our 1 and 4 year old and we all enjoyed the games room together. The pool is perfect and the food delicious.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Natalie D,

Thank you for leaving us your great feedback. I'm delighted you loved your trip to the Bay, especially our Kids Zone facilities. I'll be sure to share all your kind comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

A stay to refresh your inner soul, mind and body.
Leave with a new zest for life back into
the working world. There is nowhere like Watergate
Bay Hotel, it has it all. A sheer joy to see all ages and dogs
enjoy themeselves.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Collings, Guest Services / Front Office at Watergate Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear jackie e,

Wow, what an outstanding 5-star review! I'm delighted you loved recharging your batteries with us and had such a relaxing stay. We always love hearing comments like yours. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews