We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windward Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windward Hotel
Ranked #41 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed at the Windward for 5 nights in September with my husband. Sue, the owner, is wonderful and the staff are really friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the town. We stayed in room 12 at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking Porth beach. The rooms are quite small but are absolutely spotless. Breakfast is lovely. I would recommend the poached eggs. Overall it is a fantastic hotel and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    78
    24
    13
    16
See reviews for
21
180
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just come back from a long weekend for our 25th wedding anniversary, courtesy of our sons, who booked it as a surprise. Great hotel with a wonderful view of Porth. Sue and staff very friendly and welcoming. Room small but clean with a comfy bed. Thoroughly recommended. Hope to return again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here (in room 12) for two wonderful nights, and was looked after by very friendly and helpful staff.
Waking up to such a wonderful view from the beautifully decked balcony, and drifting off to sleep as the waves lap the nearby beach (you can hear it, if you keep the window open!) was simply blissful.
The room wasn't massive, but perfect for two people. Great shower (it actually had power!) and the bed was suuuuper comfy.

If I had to mention something slightly less than positive, then all I could come up with was the following:
1. the hair dryer was one of those "fixed to the wall, only works if you hold the button in, and overheats quickly if you're drying long hair" things.
2. I would have loved some kind of croissant option at breakfast (that said, the poached eggs on toast were delicious!)
3. 10:30am check-out, especially on a Sunday, wasn't ideal - had to pay to check out an hour or so later.

Room Tip: I only saw room 12, but would recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMiles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Windward has got to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in! Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was fantastic. Sadly we were only there for one night in august but we will definitely be going back! We loved Merlin!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

thoroughly enjoy my stay here,staff really friendly and helpful , nothing too much effort stunning views over porth beach ,having breakfast with sun shining helped make the even more enjoyable. didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Windward for one night in May 2013 as part of a Cornwall trip. We wanted to have a place with a view of the sea and could not have done better than this! The room was amazing with a great view and it's own (huge) balcony overlooking Porh beach. Very clean with great service and delicious breakfast. Great location just outside of Newquay and right next to Porth beach and the coastal hiking path.

We will definately consider staying there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinkies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great location. Great base to explore a beautiful part of the world Staff and owner couldn't do enough for us. Wonderful breakfast. Nice bar to have a nightcap in.Will definitely return. Many thanks. Best view in Porth

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandTony95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Whipsiderry Hotel
Whipsiderry Hotel
#17 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#8 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rolling Waves Hotel
Rolling Waves Hotel
#40 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windward Hotel

Property: The Windward Hotel
Address: Alexandra Road | Porth Bay, Newquay TR7 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windward enjoys a fantastic location, overlooking the award winning beach at Porth, a mile from Newquay and half a mile from the amazing surfing beach at Watergate Bay. The perfect location for exploring Cornwall, 3 miles from the A30 and only 4 miles from Newquay Airport.We have 10 recently refurbished and fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, finished to a high standard. A non smoking policy throughout but smoking permitted in designated outdoor areas. Plenty of secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windward Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing