We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wah Hing

Wah Hing
Ranked #127 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but cosy”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great food here. The staff were all very friendly especially the manager who did her utmost to make us feel comfortable. We were a group of 12 adults and 15 children of all ages. Everyone had fun.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank durster2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    10
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Are you kidding? Great takeaway!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We are locals and we often get a takeaway from Wah Hing.
Never disappointed so far, love the Kung Po chicken! Don't fancy eating in though, looks very tired.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad service and hygiene ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We went in to have a nice meal out as my wife was wanting Chinese and this place was recommended to us. The restaurant was a bit scruffy but I can live with that, though there wasn't much atmosphere and no music which just led to the few other people eating in just talking in hushed voices amongst themselves.
Prices seemed a little higher than expected and although the waitress seemed helpful at first, when we were trying to figure out the set menu prices, the owner (I presume) just walked by, jammed her finger into our menu and sharply told us "that's per person" and then walked off. I ordered a beer which I was told they had ran out of do I chose another drink, which never arrived.
Some other people arrived who the young waitress seemed to know, and then proceeded to stand and chat with despite us trying to get her attention. The final straw was when we saw the waitress sneeze into her hand and then wipe it on herself, and finish wiping her nose with her hand. We waited to see if she'd go and wash her hands, but she carried on talking. Needless to say we got up and left and went to Shanghai Express for takeout which was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank MrLewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yuk”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

the same.. bland, rubbery, processed, horrid.. Chefs night off? This was a big disappointment. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent £30 on a takeaway for two. I called back as I thought they had given us the wrong order. After being told it was right and we started to eat it. I called again certain it was the wrong order. Unfortunately not... All the food tasted the same and it was quite a mixture of meat and seafood... stale... bland plain awful. It went in the bin... even the dog refused to eat it... complete waste of money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MC7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wah Hing also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Wah Hing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing