We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cove Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from Cornwall from a 24 hour trip to surprise a relative on their birthday whilst they were camping. Was a snap decision and found the Alex Guesthouse via Google. Was fortunate when phoned that Andy has 1 family room available for the Bank Holiday.

A little Gem. Andy and Emma have just taken over and are new to the game but provided fantastic hospitality, warmth and Andy was very engaging and comical:). Great views and only 100 yards from a fantastic beach. We had our 14 and 8 year old with us and the family room was clean and spacious. Andy popped up after 10 minutes with a plate of creamed tea, jam and scones. Fantastic. The full English was also fantastic with plenty of Juice, Tea, Coffee and toast.

I would seriously recommend this place if you have plans on visiting Newquay and the surrounding areas

The interior is a little dated but Andy agrees and has plans over the next few months to update it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisSpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Alex for two nights whilst walking part of the Southwest Coastal Path. It was only Andy and Emma's second day as proprietors and Emma almost apologised when she told us we were in the small double. This room was the only one available and would be better described as a large single, with the shower cubicle in the corner it made it very cosy indeed. Everything else during our stay at the Alex was perfect. Considering it was their first week and still with boxes to unpack the Alex was clean and welcoming. Andy and Emma have big plans for the Alex. It looks like long overdue changes are on the way for we look forward to experiencing these on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenGreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at The Cove Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

We are very pleased to let you know that all the guest rooms have now been completely refurbished with a contemporary beach house style. This small double sea facing room now has it's own new private shower room. The shower in the room has been removed to give more space and a new window seat overlooking the beach has been added to make the most of the view. We look forward to you next visit at the re-branded "The Cove Guesthouse".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Had a very pleasant overnight stay at the Alex.The new owners Andy and Emma had only taken over three weeks previously and seem to be taking to the business like ducks to water.

Our en-suite double room was clean, comfortable and well equipped with good quality bedding and towels. We slept like logs and enjoyed a first class breakfast.

Look forward to our next visit to the Alex. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hecker_Janina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carstharthh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank UweP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lyncroft Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 106 in Newquay
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#8 of 106 in Newquay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Guesthouse

Address: 19 Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove offers 4 Star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation overlooking Cornwall's stunning coastline. Located on Cornwall's Atlantic Coast The Cove is perfect for exploring the areas beautiful beaches; situated between Newquay's famous surf beaches and Watergate Bay with its renowned restaurants and Extreme Academy. Sea views and proximity to the beach at Porth make The Cove an excellent base for your seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing