We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great retreat for a quiet relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cove Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From start to finish I couldn't have wished for a better break, from the welcoming owners (Andy & Emma) with a 'Can Do' attitude when we pulled up, to the recommendations of local attractions and showing us the local pub to help us settle in after a long trip the whole experience was great!

Nicely positioned away from the hustle and bustle of Newquay town centre but close enough to enjoy the beaches and bars when you want to.

Lovely views & walks, freshly cooked afternoon cakes, great breakfast and good company this is definitely the best B&B I've been to in the UK in the 21st century! I highly recommend you come here to unwind its worth every penny!

Dave & Zoe

Room Tip: Take a trip to Padstow if the weathers good & definately do the pub quiz at the Mermaid pub oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Look at the rating...nothing more to be said.
It's the second time that I have been with Andy and his lovely partner Emma and yet again they managed to exceed my expectations by miles. It is not only the beautiful view, the good laughs with them, the great breakfast and the good recommendations the 2 have for you, and it's not only the love and attention to detail and the really great atmosphere that makes 'The Cove' something really unique in the UK...to best describe it, I guess it's just the feeling of coming home after a long journey and the welcoming nature of the two of them. You can tell it was their dream and they live and live up to it every second.

Many Thanks for a wonderful time and all the Best to You Emma and Andy. Hope to see you again at some point in the future.

BR,

Val

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Andy and Emma make you feel wonderfully at home at The Cove. They are great hosts, always happy to help and serve a fantastic breakfast. The rooms are all newly decorated, look fantastic and are extremely comfortable. The terrace has lovely views and we spent two very sunny afternoons there enjoying Emma's beautiful lemon drizzle cake, scones and tea.

Perfect location, walking distance into Newquay and close to The Mermaid pub which is great for families and couples alike, with good beer, pool and outdoor seating on the beach. From the guest house you can take lovely costal walks to Watergate Bay, Bedruthan steps and beyond!

This was our first stay at The Cove and we will definitely be back.

Liz & Matt

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Having first stayed with Emma and Andy over the new year period we decided to return for an early April visit. Our latest experience has confirmed our initial impressions - warm, friendly hosts who provide high class accommodation, excellent food and good company. As always, 7 days in not enough to complete the intended walks, cycle trips and general relaxation that a trip to the Cove offers. We're thinking about the next time already !!!
Continued best wishes from Mike & Gill, Clacton-on-Sea

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MHC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely get away. Really enjoyed are stay at the cove :) lovely bedrooms and the owners andy & emma were great and meet all are standards would recommend it to anyone whos reading this ( looks like the gunners gonna win this one andy ) the bude family :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank paulbude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at The Cove Guest House for valentine's weekend with our 6 month old son. Andy and Emma were both very welcoming when we arrived and the service they provide leaves little room for improvement.

The room was immaculate and very spacious even with a travel cot in the corner of the room. The whole stay was made as easy and care free as you would come to expect of a holiday and Andy and Emma always make an effort to stop and chat to you, making sure everything is going the way you hoped and offering great suggestions on places to eat and visit.

The roaring log fire in the dining room was an excellent addition and never went out for the entirety of our stay, meaning getting up in the cold morning was a little easier knowing that when you go down for breakfast you would be warm and leave with a very full stomach. The options for breakfast seemed endless with something for everyone on offer accompanied by as much toast, fruit, cereals and hot drinks as you can fit in.

All in all, I would easily recommend The Cove Guest House to anybody looking for a break away in Torquay as Emma and Andy provide 5 star accommodation and hospitality for a more than affordable price.

We look forward to our next trip to Newquay and will again stay with Andy and Emma at The Cove Guest House.

AJ, Beth & baby Samuel.

★★★★★
10 / 10

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent two nights at the Cove Guest house his weekend. Andy and Emma were very welcoming and accommodating. Roaring wood burning stove was so welcoming! Once I had settled in to the beautiful sea view ensuing room which is very tastefully decorated I explored the locality. Just across the road easy access to a cliff top walk up to Watergate Bay where I stopped for coffee at the Hotel and enjoyed the sea views. Dined at a local pub and had tasty local food just s short drive away. In the room there was loads of information in a well thought out file recommending local places to dine and places of interest to visit and lists of facilities. I visited the local Spa and enjoyed a swim and steam room session.

I was lucky with the weather as despite strong winds the sunshine came out and was able to visit the Iron Age island just across the way.

Emma and Andy were close at hand if I required any information. Breakfast was delicious a variety of choice to suit all with home made marmalade and fruit salad to boot and fresh coffee.

Rooms very tastefully decorated with TV, free WIFI (which many hotels do not offer!) bottle of water and tea and coffee facilities at hand.

Really enjoyed my stay and will be back and highly recommend to all! I will be back! It has been newly acquired and Andy and Emma have worked hard to refurbish and make the business there own with emphasis to be as welcoming and accommodating to all their guests as they can be!

Could go on and tell more but do recommend you come down and experience it all for yourselves!

Room Tip: I was given the opportunity of seeing all the rooms as they were quiet and wished for future visits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Guesthouse

Address: 19 Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove offers AA 4 Star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation overlooking Cornwall's stunning coastline. Located on Cornwall's Atlantic Coast The Cove is perfect for exploring the areas beautiful beaches; situated between Newquay's famous surf beaches and Watergate Bay with its renowned restaurants and Extreme Academy. Sea views and proximity to the beach at Porth make The Cove an excellent base for your seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing