We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cove Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just spent 2 nights at The Cove with our 2 daughters (4 and 8 months). It was a fantastic weekend.
Andy and Emma are wonderful hosts who made us feel right at home even when we showed up 30 minutes early for check-in.
They were very helpful and answered any questions we had about the area and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.
We loved the fresh baked cakes in the afternoons and the breakfasts were fantastic!
The view was amazing as our room was directly opposite Porth Beach.
We are looking forward to hopefully returning here for future vacations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
121
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodville, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having decided to spend a few days in Cornwall, we searched online for a night's accommodation the night before we travelled, and stumbled upon The Cove. On arrival, Emma greeted us at the door, and on inviting us into the hall to fill out the booking form, our first impressions were such that we immediately knew we'd like to stay longer. Emma checked her bookings & was luckily able to accommodate us for an extra two nights. Our initial gut feelings were spot on & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Andy & Emma are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Emma's food is delicious. Her full Cornish (don't call them English) breakfasts with locally sourced produce really set you up for the day. Other alternatives such as scrambled egg and smoked salmon make a welcome change. Home made cakes were in our room on arrival, and a different one was available each afternoon in the dining room. Andy is perfect for front of house, and has good knowledge of the local area including places to eat (as recommended by himself and previous guests).

The Cove Guest House has refreshing contemporary decor and is beautifully clean throughout. Emma's home made soft furnishings give an added personal touch. Sea view rooms are available, however we were perfectly happy at the rear of the house where it proved to be pleasantly cool during a hot sunny spell. We made the most of using the newly built deck either reading or supping a glass of wine while looking out over the beach.

We can't speak highly enough of The Cove Guest House... we're certainly going back!

Room Tip: Don't disregard rooms at the rear just because they don't have a sea view. They are lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eamonn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband & i have just spent a fantastic 5 days at The Cove. Andy & Emma are so welcoming & friendly you feel like its your own home. The room was fresh,clean & on trend with a great en-suite. Every afternoon homemade cakes are left in your room & its these little extra touches that make The Cove so special. Andy is always happy to give you advice on local restaurants & great coastal walks. Nothing is too much trouble for these amazing hosts. Cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: They only have 5 rooms at The Cove and our room at the back was lovely but they do have a great sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved our stay here with Andrew and Emma. They were both so friendly and welcoming to us.
The guesthouse was bright, clean and all decor and furniture was to a very high standard. The breakfast was delicious nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed the homemade cakes kindly put in our room daily, such a nice touch. It's in such a great spot in Porth too very handy location wise. You can also sit out overlooking the bay on a lovely decking area also which is a lovely touch the guest house offers. The room we stayed in was a little too small for me but I am not a light traveller so for anyone else I would say it would be just fine and, it had everything you would need in there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicobar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked The Cove on the strength of other reviews - and we weren't disappointed. Andy didn't bat an eyelid when we turned up on a loud motorbike, welcomed us warmly and hepled us to to our room. Beautifully appointed with everything you need, very tastefully decorated and a comfy bed! Despite being a little 'cosy' the en-suite was spotless and the shower bigger than usual. Being nosy we opened the biscuit tin on the side to discover two homemade brownies that didn't last long!

Breakfast was excellent - we had the veggie option, which was delicious and certainly set us up for the day. Andy and Emma had provided soya milk for us, and other guests had gluten free bread - so they are more than happy to cater to all dietary requirements.

Overall a great guest house in a lovely location, far enough from the bustle of Newquay to be peaceful but with plenty going on around and about. Andy and Emma were great hosts and are clearly committed to excellent service. We'll be booking again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Andy and Emma run a very well organised and beautifully presented guest house.
We received a very warm welcome, with homemade was a really great touch.
We had two rooms and both were cleaned to a very high standard.
Breakfast was fantastic, with a large selection. With cracking bacon and sausages for part of the full English! The wife really enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
All in all, the best guest house we have stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 92Nick4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Straight away from arriving, Andy was very friendly and welcoming.

We had the smallest room, but the room was very thought out and I appreciated the layout- mirror and proximity to plug sockets for hair straighteners etc is something often ignored by many places! The bed was very comfortable, despite being small double, and the bedding was all hotel quality and felt lovely. The room was modern and extremely clean.

There was a separate private shower room across the hall for our use. This was very cosy but again all perfectly clean and new. The only minor gripe was the water pressure in the shower was a bit weak, but this didn't detract from the overall experience.

I had informed Emma on booking that I need a gluten free diet (not expecting anything), and this was remembered despite booking a while ago! There was a cupcake for my partner and gluten free shortbread specially baked in the room. To follow up, in the morning they'd even gone to the trouble of getting gluten free bread in. This was not expected but just goes to show the extra mile Andy and Emma are willing to go for their customers.

Breakfast itself was lovely, the scrambled egg in particular was very good, and you could tell all the produce was fresh and of the 'locally bought' quality.

Andy and Emma were great hosts and it was good to have a quick chat before leaving. Overall highly recommended B&B, if you previously came here under previous ownership (when it was called the Alex), do not hesitate to visit now as from what I can tell it's only improved massively!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#9 of 105 in Newquay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Guesthouse

Property: The Cove Guesthouse
Address: 19 Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove offers AA 4 Star luxury bed and breakfast accommodation overlooking Cornwall's stunning coastline. Located on Cornwall's Atlantic Coast The Cove is perfect for exploring the areas beautiful beaches; situated between Newquay's famous surf beaches and Watergate Bay with its renowned restaurants and Extreme Academy. Sea views and proximity to the beach at Porth make The Cove an excellent base for your seaside holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Guesthouse Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing