We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Stay”
Review of Priory Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Priory Lodge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A great place to stay, near the Town Centre, rooms are very clean and have everything you need. The breakfast was freshly cooked and was different each day, as well as a full selection of cereals and fresh fruit, nothing was to much trouble, The whole place is excellent which includes a bar, pool, large lounge and garden, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BECKS593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a five night break. Had a lovely time. Fiona and all the staff are so welcoming and the entertainment in the evening enabled everyone to join in, their choice. It was the fist time we have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it. The breakfast had plenty of choice and always hot. We didn't have an evening meal, but it always smelt lovely. We stayed in the family rooms near to the pool area. It was nice to be able to sit and relax when the sun did come out. A few people were using the pool and said it was really warm even on a cloudy day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Had a one night stay here at the end of June, to watch the amazing band Keiko Rise at a local hotspot. Last minute booking and stayed in the annex, an extra guest was welcomed as the annex had an extra bedroom.

What relay impressed me was the friendly, professional staff. It shows that the owners are doing something right here. The room/apartment was large and clean. A black-out curtain at the patio door would be good as sleeping past sunrise was difficult.

The restaurant was modern, the bar did not match the restaurants ‘new’ feel.
The breakfast was good, but not the best we have had.

One problem we did have, which has made me give 4 stars is the smoking in the small entrance porch. Every time we went into the hotel from the annex there were one or two smokers just inside the porch, to walk through the horrible smell was awful. It drifted into the reception and into the bar making the area smell of yester-year.

Along with an out-dated road sign and a gaggle of smokers by the front door, initial impressions were not good, but all that faded when we booked in.

£100 for 3 people B&B was superb value for money, my first choice now for visiting Newquay, far, far better value than the main hotels.

Thank you very much Priory Lodge Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The atmosphere was warm and friendly from the moment we stepped through the door, Fiona, Judith and all the staff are the most accommodating we have ever met. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. We were part of a coach tour that visits this hotel regularly and we had the most wonderful time, our room had a balcony with spectacular views, a real treat to sit in a private area and relax with a cup of tea. Following the evening meal there was the option of entertainment or a comfortable lounge to sit in and watch TV. Fiona is a "hands on" hotelier and is one of the loveliest people you could wish to meet, this is reflected throughout the hotel and all staff members, we couldn't give too much praise or recommend this hotel highly enough, believe the reviews - they are all true!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel and on the upper floors have a balcony and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVEWHITBY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

From the moment we set foot within the hotel it was apparent that previous reviews about the friendliness of the hotel staff were accurate.

The food (evening meal) was excellent and cost effective and, again, the team of staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The hotel is cosy, the atmosphere relaxed and friendly.

One developmental issue; which is not a criticism at all; is the lack of a shower in the room. This, however, was my fault for booking late in the day.

Overall, an excellent hotel and recommended.

Room Tip: Book early and try to specify an upstairs sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattStevens908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just come back from spending 6 days at the hotel. Fiona and her staff are all lovely and certainly look like they enjoy their jobs. They make each and every person feel special and all work so hard. The food is excellent, rooms spotless and nothing is too much trouble. I shall definately return and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends. Thank you for giving us a lovely holiday. Looking forward to the next time.

Bennetts from Chesterfield

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

this is not a 2 star hotel more like 4 ! excellent rooms,food,entertainment .fiona,s a hoot !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Hotel

Address: 30 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#7 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £58 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Priory Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Priory Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Newquay
Priory Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing