We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our fourth wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Priory Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Priory Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our fourth wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Priory Lodge Hotel is like " a home from home," except this year when we walked into our usual Room 18, we had a very pleasant surprise! The room had new carpet throughout ( even though we did not think there was anything wrong with the previous one!) There was also new bedding, cushions and pictures. There was also a nice suprise when we walked into the restaurant to find that it had been re-furbished to a very high standard with new modern tables and chairs!
We feel that even though the Priory Lodge Hotel is already an excellent Hotel, Fiona, Judith and the team strive to improve it year on year! We are looking forward to our 5th year with them all!

Ed & Jayne Hogan, Birmingham

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    47
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
110
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

OK, so the context is that hotels in and around this location can be quite old and their decor tired. I'm not convinced the number of excellent ratings for this hotel are justified, but I guess that's about context again.

That said, I do consider this hotel to be 'very good' with extremely friendly and welcoming owner/ staff and is certainly outstanding value for money.

In summary, great location with ample parking; our room was comfortable and clean although the en-suite bathroom was a bit smelly. We had a sea view, which in light of the hotels brilliant location looked out across both the town and the bay.

Good quality full english breakfast breakfast and toast/cereal included in the price made staying here good value for money.

If we are in Newquay again would definately consider staying at the Priory Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lagos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked in for one night and cannot fault the hotel. We arrived early before check in, but Fiona sat us down making us feel very welcome and got the room ready as soon as she could. Room very clean and wonderful view of the sea on top floor. The staff are so welcoming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was beautiful and plenty of it, and as per a previous review the pool is heated and my husband and daughter had a lovely swim in the warm water on quite a cool day. This was our first visit here and want to return again. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 12 on top floor has an amazing view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Very nice hotel. Great value for money. I stayed in room 1 for a short trip learning to surf - very enjoyable and will be back! Bar area is very nice and bar prices especially reasonable. Very friendly and helpful staff too and only a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonParisPeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

our second year at Priory Lodge and it was again an excellent weeks stay. Nothing was to much trouble for the helpful and pleasent staff. Spotlessly clean rooms and superb choice of food for both breakfast and evening meal. Because my wife has to follow a gluten free diet the chef came and spoke to her every morning after breakfast to discuss the evening meal, you wouldnt get that sort of service in many hotels if any! And of coarse not forgetting Fiona, the perfect host with her own brand of evening entertainment. Cant wait to book up for next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinter117411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have been holidaying in Newquay for over 30 years and have always stayed on Headland Road to be near Fistral Beach. However, due to the demise of the Hotal industry which has been replaced by "luxury appartments" we decided to try elsewhere. Priory Lodge Hotel is one on the friendliest Hotels in Newquay. Fiona and her staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble!

The food was great, the view from our room (room 4) was wonderful and I can't belive I swam in an outdoor pool in the UK! The water was certainly heated! The Hotel is very clean and runs like clockwork! Word of warning - dont play Fiona at golf!! she's very good apparently!!

Will certainly return next year, despite the daily trek up Marcus Hill, still it helped to work off the enormous breakfasts!! Should be rated more than two stars!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The only reason we booked 'The Priory Lodge Hotel' was down to the trip advisor reviews, it certainly lived up to its reviews!

From entering the hotel to the time we left Fiona & her staff made us welcome.
The simple things like showing us around the hotel to taking us to our room are FIVE STAR STANDARD! You don't get that in any Travelodge’s or Premier Inns.

Although the room was a bit dated it served its purpose very well. What do you need in a room apart from a comfortable bed, shower & coffee making facilities.

The room had a patio door which leads out into a very well kept grounds with a heated swimming pool what more can you ask for in hotel in Newquay at a very reasonable price..

We did have one small problem during our stay, however Fiona resolved this very quickly & could not apologise more than she did.

If & when we do return to Newquay we will only be stopping at the Priory Lodge Hotel.. If we can book there - we wanted to stay one more night but they were fully booked! Now that says it all..!

Thank-you Fiona & staff for making our time in Newquay a pleasant one!

Room Tip: Any room with a rear view that either looks over the bay or backs onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#8 of 38 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Hotel

Property: Priory Lodge Hotel
Address: 30 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#7 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Priory Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Priory Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Newquay
Priory Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing