We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Priory Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priory Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My partner and i have just returned from a 7 night stay, as we have stayed here many times we always know what to expect and are never disappointed, we had a great time and the food was exceptional as always.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    50
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
113
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner only stayed for the one night so we didn't use the facilities like the pool, games room ect. So I can't comment on them but the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast in the morning was great with a wide selection on offer. So all in all for £90 it's a good hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coreydadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have recently returned from a 3-night stay at the Priory Lodge. We booked it after seeing it was #1 hotel in Newquay on TA at the time we booked.

I feel it only fair to provide some constructive feedback based on our stay.

Firstly, the room. We had a poolside family room with a double & two singles. The room itself had a patio-like front door. The 'back-bedroom' where the single beds were situated was very dark due to there being no windows at the rear of the room, and there was no ceiling light, only wall & mirror lights. The room was dated, in need of modernisation and the bathroom (which has a shower only - which was also old and lacked any power) was very small, too small for a family of four and very dated. The room was stuffy and hot with no ventilation at night when the door had to be closed apart from a small window next to the door. At £135 a night, we at least expected the room to be modern, although it was clean & the facilities staff went out if their way to provide clean towels and anything else we required every day.

The outdoor heated pool was a definite bonus, another reason we booked this hotel. However, the pool wasn't cleaned every day and had leaves / bits of litter floating in the shallow end. The poolside lounge area was also a bonus but there were a lot of ants crawling around, plus litter and loose paving flags.

The restaurant is very clean and modern, plenty of choice for breakfast, although I had an issue on the last morning with bits of wire (from a Brillo pad maybe) in the scrambled egg. We had dinner on one evening and decided not to eat again because the food was very average (uncooked pastry on the steak & ale pie, overcooked breaded fish etc).

Service from all the staff was very friendly. I just feel the cost per night does not justify the out dated rooms & lack of general attention to the grounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for three nights in August 2013. We had a family room right next to the pool, which was great. There was a good choice at breakfast and the staff were very friendly throughout our stay. It was nice to have different areas of the hotel where we could quietly chill out in between enjoying al the activities Newquay has to offer. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the main town, and getting to the beach was very easy too.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms are great for families. Ours had a shower and the kids' beds were segregated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have very mixed feelings about this hotel as on arrival we were allocated a room (No.16) with no shower and no balcony. Had we booked direct I would hope that we would have been informed of this but we had booked via another source and had been led to believe by the picture on the booking documents that we did indeed have a balcony. We did complain about not having a shower and we were given an old fashioned rubber shower hose which didn't fit the taps. The room was directly above the bar area so a bit noisy when entertainment on and is on the front of the hotel so noise from around the front door until early hours.

The swimming pool and sunbathing area is nice but does need a little attention to water hygiene and loose paving flags.

The interior of the hotel was fine no problems there, the lounge is very comfortable and the dining room superb. The staff are on the ball, always attentive and smartly dressed

Room Tip: Go for one at the back of the hotel (facing the sea and with a balcony) but don't accept room 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nookie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priorylodgehotel, Owner at Priory Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thanks for your kind comments regarding our valued staff, they all work exceptionally hard to keep up our AA 2 star standard.
We are sorry if you thought that we have mis - lead you into thinking that you were getting a balcony with sea view. With booking.com we only offer three types of rooms - double.triple and family. We do not offer any rooms with sea view and balconies, these can only be booked direct with us by phone or by making a booking on our own personal website. With booking.com there is a request space were guests can request such things as sea views and showers only and we try our upmost to accommodate all requests.
Our outdoor heated pool last week was very well used .We check the ph levels twice a day and on all occasions the read was perfect. The water clouded over on one evening- however it was perfect within 48 hours.
Room 16 is unfortunately situated over the entertainments room and overlooks the front of our car park.However we do advertise entertainment most evenings on our website, so if guests require a quiet room they usually ring in advance and request this. We have live music three times a week and we make sure that all our entertainment finishes @ 10.30pm as we are well aware that noise travels to all of the upstairs rooms. This year this room has just had a new push button toilet, vanity basin,carpet, lino and bedding to match, so we are very sorry to hear of your mixed holiday feelings.
If you wish to try us again, please call for a more personal touch and we will try our best to allocate your good selves a sea view and balcony . Ps you will have to book at least 6 months in advance- as these rooms sell like hot cakes! Kind regards Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly staff nothing is too much trouble and they make you very welcome.
The hotel is very clean with spacious rooms, our balcony and the sea view were amazing. The grounds with heated pool are fantastic. We had no problems parking even though the hotel was full. There was a great choice for breakfast and evening meal and always very tasty. Would recommend and will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just returned from a weeks break with the family and having stayed here numerous times, I can honestly say it just keeps getting better. Fiona, Judith, Hayden and the rest of the staff can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. The standard of the food is superb and plenty of choice for both breakfast and evening meals. The chef even prepared and cooked a rather large fish my son caught on a fishing trip and served it to us for the following mornings breakfast!!
The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk from the town centre. Rooms are spacious and very clean (I recommend ones with balconies and pool & sea views, room 12 especially!!) and there is a good variety of entertainments on an evening should you stay in, the cornish bingo is a good one!
Looking forward to my next visit!!

Room Tip: Room 12 has a cracker of a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#8 of 38 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Hotel

Property: Priory Lodge Hotel
Address: 30 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#7 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Priory Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Priory Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Newquay
Priory Lodge Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing