We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ChrIstmas Celebrations”

Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We spent four days over Christmas here and were pleased to be greeted by very warm accommodation complete with a Christmas tree, card, wine and mince pies. The accommodation is very acceptable but may need updating within a year or two. It was very quiet during our stay but beware there is building going on close by and there may be further building when the site of the Tregurrian hotel site is developed. At the present it is an unsightly hole in the ground opposite the villas. Staff from the Watergate Bay Hotel use this as a smoking area, whatever the weather!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very nice location. Slightly let down by a building site opposite (old Trequrrian Hotel) but we was informed of this at time of booking.

The reception is just around the corner in the Beachcombers Apartments, It was only open at certain times of the day, otherwise you could contact the porth veor manor hotel (5 mins drive away towards newquay). The Receptionist was a bit shirty but we didnt let this upset us.

The Villa was more than adequate for 4 people. Very comfy and welcoming. I liked the idea that you could use the facilities of the Porth Veor Manor i.e. Swimming Pool etc.

I felt that the Beaucliffes restaurant at the above mentioned hotel was very overpriced. We didnt eat there so cant comment on the food.

The location is right out of the way, its about a 10-15 minute drive along some very fun country roads or about 30 mins from the lovely village of Padstow (worth a visit as a day out).
Also only about an hour to Lands End.

One place i would recommend going on the way back from Lands End is a place called Porthcurno. Take my advise and follow the signs to the Minack Theatre (go up the winding hill). Park in the car park and walk to the cliff edge (by the stairs). Trust me, you'll love the view!

Like i have said above, i am currently booking my 2012 trip to cornwall and will more than likely stay in the villas.

Room Tip: All Villas have the same layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The facilities are in a great location and of an adequate specification. Unfortunately let down by the staff making fraudulent charges to my credit card. I would advise booking elsewhere, or with extreme caution!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Fantastic value as arranged at short notice.
Nice decor, done to high spec. Great location, warm and homely. Comfortable and spacious to chill out in on a cold and windy January.
Only bugbear was a less than average strengh shower, but that is really nitpicking.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chrisfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

What a great little hotel this is. It's a 1 star hotel so don't expect the Ritz. However, the Tregurrian does offer exceptional value for money.
Rooms are a little old fashioned and jaded, but nice and clean. What is good about the hotel is the fabulous breakfast. This is as good as anywhere in the UK and includes hotels with a greater star rating than the Tregurrian. Dinner was great value too. We hadn't booked half board, but did take advantage of booking a table on the days we wanted to eat there. Again, amazing value at £9 a head for a four course meal. Even the Coffee was included in the price. This compared very well against other places to eat in Watergate Bay. Restuarant "Fifteen" was £50 without wine or £90 a head with, and the local pub (The Phoenix) averaged about £15-£20 a head (Very nice though).
If you want a base from which to explore North Cornwall, give it a try. At the price you pay, it's practically impossible to be disappointed. We were surprised to find couples who had flown in from Germany staying there. One couple had returned 3 years on the trot. I guess that tells you the story.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueYonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

Having read a few reviews for the Tregurrain Hotel we weren't holding out much hope of enjoying our stay. However, I have to say we found the location of the hotel to be ideal. The staff were extreamly pleasant and helpful. Although the rooms were on the small side they were clean, and when you are in such a beautiful part of the country the last place i want to be is in my room! The buffet breakfast set us up for the day. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Surfer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2006

Booked through laterooms.com
Having never been to Watergate Bay before i was impressed by the Hotels location, not far from Newquay (which has really been run to ruin) and not far from the stunning Padstow. The hotel has a rating of only 1 star, and me and my partner took a huge breath as we opened our hotel room door. Although we found the room to be very clean, the bathroom very clean. The facilities in the room include, bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities and a TV for those winter rainy days!
We stayed B&B at £25 for the room a night and we're impressed by the breakfast, an all you can eat buffett (go help yourself)of fried food, fruitsalad and cereal.
Staff were helpful which is a suprise compared to many english hotels ive stayed in.
All in all the hotel is suprisingly a 1 star, when it could really be at least 2 or 3, but dont be put off by the one star rating because it is suprisingly good, just opposite Jamie Olivers Fifteen. And the hotel has a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Yoz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Beachcombers Apartments
Beachcombers Apartments
#30 of 78 in Newquay
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kernow Trek Lodge
Kernow Trek Lodge
#4 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay

Address: | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £54 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregurrian Villas are 3 superbly appointed self-catering holiday villas just 100 yards from the sandy beach at Watergate Bay. Accommodation includes two ground floor bedrooms including one double and one twin room with an upstairs kitchen/diner and lounge with a sofa bed. There's a deluxe bathroom plus a separate toilet. The fully equipped kitchen includes a cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and separate freezer compartment, washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and board plus a wide range of kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery. There's a TV and DVD player in one of the bedrooms plus a widescreen TV and DVD player in the lounge. There's free WiFi throughout. The villas are fully centrally heated with double glazing and a smoke alarm system. There's also a safe. Bed linen, towels and tea towels are all provided with beds being fully made up for your arrival. Dogs are welcome in two of the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregurrian Hotel Cornwall
Tregurrian Hotel Apartments
Tregurrian Villas At Watergate Bay Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing