We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pendeen Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
10
7
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We spent four days over Christmas here and were pleased to be greeted by very warm accommodation complete with a Christmas tree, card, wine and mince pies. The accommodation is very acceptable but may need updating within a year or two. It was very quiet during our stay but beware there is building going on close by and there may be further building when the site of the Tregurrian hotel site is developed. At the present it is an unsightly hole in the ground opposite the villas. Staff from the Watergate Bay Hotel use this as a smoking area, whatever the weather!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very nice location. Slightly let down by a building site opposite (old Trequrrian Hotel) but we was informed of this at time of booking.

The reception is just around the corner in the Beachcombers Apartments, It was only open at certain times of the day, otherwise you could contact the porth veor manor hotel (5 mins drive away towards newquay). The Receptionist was a bit shirty but we didnt let this upset us.

The Villa was more than adequate for 4 people. Very comfy and welcoming. I liked the idea that you could use the facilities of the Porth Veor Manor i.e. Swimming Pool etc.

I felt that the Beaucliffes restaurant at the above mentioned hotel was very overpriced. We didnt eat there so cant comment on the food.

The location is right out of the way, its about a 10-15 minute drive along some very fun country roads or about 30 mins from the lovely village of Padstow (worth a visit as a day out).
Also only about an hour to Lands End.

One place i would recommend going on the way back from Lands End is a place called Porthcurno. Take my advise and follow the signs to the Minack Theatre (go up the winding hill). Park in the car park and walk to the cliff edge (by the stairs). Trust me, you'll love the view!

Like i have said above, i am currently booking my 2012 trip to cornwall and will more than likely stay in the villas.

Room Tip: All Villas have the same layout.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The facilities are in a great location and of an adequate specification. Unfortunately let down by the staff making fraudulent charges to my credit card. I would advise booking elsewhere, or with extreme caution!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Fantastic value as arranged at short notice.
Nice decor, done to high spec. Great location, warm and homely. Comfortable and spacious to chill out in on a cold and windy January.
Only bugbear was a less than average strengh shower, but that is really nitpicking.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank chrisfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

What a great little hotel this is. It's a 1 star hotel so don't expect the Ritz. However, the Tregurrian does offer exceptional value for money.
Rooms are a little old fashioned and jaded, but nice and clean. What is good about the hotel is the fabulous breakfast. This is as good as anywhere in the UK and includes hotels with a greater star rating than the Tregurrian. Dinner was great value too. We hadn't booked half board, but did take advantage of booking a table on the days we wanted to eat there. Again, amazing value at £9 a head for a four course meal. Even the Coffee was included in the price. This compared very well against other places to eat in Watergate Bay. Restuarant "Fifteen" was £50 without wine or £90 a head with, and the local pub (The Phoenix) averaged about £15-£20 a head (Very nice though).
If you want a base from which to explore North Cornwall, give it a try. At the price you pay, it's practically impossible to be disappointed. We were surprised to find couples who had flown in from Germany staying there. One couple had returned 3 years on the trot. I guess that tells you the story.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueYonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews