We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Hotel”

Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Cheslyn Hay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2007

What a great little hotel this is. It's a 1 star hotel so don't expect the Ritz. However, the Tregurrian does offer exceptional value for money.
Rooms are a little old fashioned and jaded, but nice and clean. What is good about the hotel is the fabulous breakfast. This is as good as anywhere in the UK and includes hotels with a greater star rating than the Tregurrian. Dinner was great value too. We hadn't booked half board, but did take advantage of booking a table on the days we wanted to eat there. Again, amazing value at £9 a head for a four course meal. Even the Coffee was included in the price. This compared very well against other places to eat in Watergate Bay. Restuarant "Fifteen" was £50 without wine or £90 a head with, and the local pub (The Phoenix) averaged about £15-£20 a head (Very nice though).
If you want a base from which to explore North Cornwall, give it a try. At the price you pay, it's practically impossible to be disappointed. We were surprised to find couples who had flown in from Germany staying there. One couple had returned 3 years on the trot. I guess that tells you the story.

  • Liked — The sheer value for money.
  • Disliked — Strong disinfectant odour in bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueYonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2007

Having read a few reviews for the Tregurrain Hotel we weren't holding out much hope of enjoying our stay. However, I have to say we found the location of the hotel to be ideal. The staff were extreamly pleasant and helpful. Although the rooms were on the small side they were clean, and when you are in such a beautiful part of the country the last place i want to be is in my room! The buffet breakfast set us up for the day. We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Location to beach
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Surfer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2006

Booked through laterooms.com
Having never been to Watergate Bay before i was impressed by the Hotels location, not far from Newquay (which has really been run to ruin) and not far from the stunning Padstow. The hotel has a rating of only 1 star, and me and my partner took a huge breath as we opened our hotel room door. Although we found the room to be very clean, the bathroom very clean. The facilities in the room include, bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities and a TV for those winter rainy days!
We stayed B&B at £25 for the room a night and we're impressed by the breakfast, an all you can eat buffett (go help yourself)of fried food, fruitsalad and cereal.
Staff were helpful which is a suprise compared to many english hotels ive stayed in.
All in all the hotel is suprisingly a 1 star, when it could really be at least 2 or 3, but dont be put off by the one star rating because it is suprisingly good, just opposite Jamie Olivers Fifteen. And the hotel has a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Yoz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

The hotel was in a great location at Watergate Bay, at a great price. The room was clean but very small, with the tiny bathroom provding a few bumps and scrapes over our weekend stay (don't go with someone you don't know very well...). It was just as you'd expect for a one star hotel, and most of the staff we spoke to were very helpful. However, we had no hot water at all after our first day, and ended up having to use a communal bathroom on another floor, with no lock. The person on duty was great, and did her best - writing a note to go on the door to say the bathroom was in use. What was more disappointing was that when we brought this up on checking out, we just got told that their usual plumber was on holiday and someone else would have to come in, with no sense of urgency about fixing the problem in a room someone else would be checking in to. No apology, no explanation, and it was no fun after a long day on a cold beach! On the other hand, they did go out of their way to buy us the Sunday paper we wanted, but then didn't produce one the next day. So, good for what it is, but inconsistent on what was often really good service. We won't return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of room and bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Great restaurants at Watergate Bay - Beach Hut, Fifteen, Phoenix...
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bathtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

just come back from a 5 day break in cornwall, stayed at the Tregurrian hotel in watergate bay, its only rated a 1 star but it was clean tidy and food (breakfast) was excellent, staff were ok no problems rooms were good (room 8) small bathroom was only set back, enjoyed the area, visited fifteen jamie olivers place food was excellent well worth the stay, and an excellent location

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — needs a lick of paint
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tg167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2006

We really wanted to stay at Watergate Bay as it is a quieter part of Newquay and very laid back but we also wanted to go to Fifteen for our first wedding anniversary. Sadly Fifteen was full and the Watergate Bay Hotel was way overpriced for a 3 night trip! We decided to stay at the Tregurrian for the location and had no delusions that it was anything other than basic due to it's 1 star rating - what we found was a little gem (and it's next door to the Watergate Bay Hotel). The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was small but immaculately clean and the breakfast was something else! The pool area was great and a nice change to the beach, the hotel has a pool/games room, bar and sauna/jacuzzi too. The whole of Watergate Bay is a beautiful place and the Phoenix pub which is next door but one do great food and drink. We would definitely go back and are planning our next trip already.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank Pinkemma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwalia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2006

We decided to get away for the weekend and because we were late had only the bottom end guest houses or top end hotels available. Found this hotel advertised as a hotel with reasonable prices for b&b. Booking was easy via a web-based agency but contacting the hotel for directions etc wasn't. We found out that reception is staffed only for afew minutes each day.

We arrived late and incurred the wrath of th receptionist for not having told her our time of arrival. (we had in an e-mail). Her revenge was not proviiding the sea view we had booked. This led to a shrug of shoulders French-style.

The room was small and basic but adequate for our needs. With a car we were able to get out and about and use the room only to sleep in. I think over the three days we spent less than six hours awake in the room.

Breakfast is at 8.15am and the hotel was full so it was a scrum at the counter. Good choice and being self-service meant you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. Being early my partner and I chose a table in the conservatory part of the dining room. This overlooked the beach and an off-putting swimming pool which appeared to have all sorts of flotsam in it. Then a couple arrived and said we were at their table. Apparently you have to sit at the table corresponding to your room number. We were tucked away at the back of the room - a bit like our bedroom.

Dinner is at 6.15pm! The choice was steak or sea bass at reasonable prices but we ate out

The hotel is right on the beach and probably gets very busy in summer. Newquay is four miles away by either narrow road or coastal path. We had a great early morning walk to Porth and caught a bus back to the hotel for breakfast. Padstow is 11 miles away.

Leaving the hotel we had a run-in with reception again. Plans to leave straight after breakfast was dashed because reception opened at thier convenience.

Hotels had better get the hang of the idea that customers are their reason for being and not an inconvenience. We love Cornwall and are already planning a return visit before the end of summer but although the Tregurrian has a lot going for it until they sort out their attitude we won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gwesty_cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Beachcombers Apartments
Beachcombers Apartments
#18 of 74 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#5 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kernow Trek Lodge
Kernow Trek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Windward Hotel
The Windward Hotel
#41 of 105 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay

Property: Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
Address: | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregurrian Villas are 3 superbly appointed self-catering holiday villas just 100 yards from the sandy beach at Watergate Bay. Accommodation includes two ground floor bedrooms including one double and one twin room with an upstairs kitchen/diner and lounge with a sofa bed. There's a deluxe bathroom plus a separate toilet. The fully equipped kitchen includes a cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge and separate freezer compartment, washing machine, tumble dryer, iron and board plus a wide range of kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery. There's a TV and DVD player in one of the bedrooms plus a widescreen TV and DVD player in the lounge. There's free WiFi throughout. The villas are fully centrally heated with double glazing and a smoke alarm system. There's also a safe. Bed linen, towels and tea towels are all provided with beds being fully made up for your arrival. Dogs are welcome in two of the villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregurrian Hotel Cornwall
Tregurrian Hotel Apartments
Tregurrian Villas At Watergate Bay Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing