We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcombers Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A brilliant experience. I've always loved Cornwall, and this was truly Cornwall at its best. I've visited the county many times and would definately stay at one of these apartments again. They were of a good size, very nicely furnished, clean and bright. My apartment had a great sea view, which was perfect and what initially attracted me towards staying here, and the fact that the weather was gorgeous made our 2 week holiday a pleasure.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a sea view - totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhss95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

HI all, well my wife and My best mate and his wife stayed at Beachcombers in Watergate bay for Boardmaster Music Festival In August 2012.
We Arrived at the apartment, and found it very clean, towels, bed linen ,and pillows were provided, plus all the kitchen necessity.

The Cleaners are always on hand and are very helpful

beachcombers is right next door to the Phoenix, but we found the beach hut on Watergate bay beach a much better place to be!

Any way back to the apartment! my wife and I had had the sofa bed, and it was the most uncomfortable bed in the world! there was a bar that was raised that made it very hard to sleep!

We would stay again, if they changed the beds, but i guess you are always use to the main bed you sleep in at home!

Would still recommend 8/10

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wozza6453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

About to return home after an enjoyable (and hot & sunny!) week at Beachcombers. This the second time we have used this accommodation and, once again, can recommend it, without hesitation. We had a two bedroom ground floor apartment - spotlessly clean with everything you needed. The lounge/kitchen area is spacious & the two bedrooms (one double; one twin) are a good size. Find it quite difficult to fault this place...apart from having to walk 50 yards to the beach for a 'phone signal! Would also recommend The Falcon Inn at St. Mawgan (near to Newquay Airport) - had a lovely meal there, and it was not that expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rammytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in a ground floor one bedroom apartment for four nights during the terrible
weather. Good view of sea in distance through nice bay window in lounge area.

Very clean all through with everything you could need for a snack or a full cooked meal.
Large lounge for a one bedroom apartment with a nice modern bathroom. Bedroom good
Size with patio doors onto small well kept garden. Bedroom was ensuite too.

Only minus point as far as I was concerned was it was far too old fashioned for me. I like
Contemporary furniture etc. All a matter choice.

Room Tip: Book a room at front with sea view. Well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank miniparklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in a twin bed apartment overlooking the beach. Double beds are only available in the 2 bedroom apartments apparently. We paid extra for a sea view and could just about see the sea from our balcony. However Watergate Bay is about 3 minutes walk from the apartments. Watergate Bay is a lovely beach and surfer's paradise (see my review) and 15 restaurant is on the beach.

The apartment was a good place from which to explore the surrounding area. It was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There was even a rolling pin in the kitchen equipment in case we felt like baking. The living area had a sofa bed and there was extra linen in the wardrobe. The apartment could sleep 4. There was a table and chairs in the living area and on the balcony. The kitchen had a dishwasher, cooker, microwave, kettle and everything else you would expect.

The bedroom was small and I found the bed very uncomfortable. I am not used to sleeping in a single bed and the mattress was very soft. An added bonus was a separate toilet in the bedroom. The main bathroom had a brilliant shower.

Room Tip: I think it is worth paying extra for a sea view even though our room (30) did not have much of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suemercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We payed around £450 for four nights with a sea view. Nothing can be faulted here really. The area probably needs some more amenities; for example a local shop but this is the only quibble I can muster. If the weather is great, as it was for us, this is the base for a truly fantastic beach holiday. One area for consideration is that the rooms need baby baths as after a day on the beach trying to get a child under the power shower is difficult. Superb surf, a lovely beach for children and 15 Jamie Oliver's excellent restaurant.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Pay more for a sea view. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

As a regular visitor of Watergate Bay, we had never stayed in the Beachcombers Apartments before. It was a last minute booking and we only stayed for a couple of days. The location of the apartment was fantastic and well equipped. The bathrooms looked newly decorated but the living area (lounge, dinning & kitchen) looked a little tired. The arrival system was quick, organized and simple. Our only complaint with the Beachcombers was the standard of the cleaning. It was obvious that the living area had not been vacuumed properly as there were crumbs and rice on the floor by the lounge chairs and under the dinning room table. There was bottle rings on the tables from previous visitors that hadn’t been wiped clean. An engineer had recently changed the radiators in the both bathrooms but hadn’t bothered to clear up behind him. I emailed the Head Office to complain and within minutes, someone was on the phone apologising and arranging to put it right. Shortly after, the Manager arrived discuss our complaint and offered to clean whilst we were out at dinner, which we accepted. On our return we had a closer look around and you could find areas that needed some attention. As a lucky apartment, it lacked attention to detail. Normally we wouldn’t have bothered looking as close but because of the original complaint it makes you more picky!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as some apartments don't have this. Balcony is better than a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inlineml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tregurrian Villas at Watergate Bay
3.2 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#20 of 78 in Newquay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#4 of 78 in Newquay
436 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lewinnick Lodge
Lewinnick Lodge
#12 of 106 in Newquay
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#10 of 78 in Newquay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcombers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Apartments

Address: Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £59 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcombers Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcombers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Apartments Hotel Newquay
Beachcombers Apartments Cornwall
Beachcombers Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing