We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beachcombers Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pendeen Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Retorrick Mill(St. Mawgan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
78
52
12
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
52
12
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatergate baybeach hutsea viewunderfloor heatingcar park over the roadcontemporary furniturepoor phone receptionheavy fire doorsthe sofa bedlucky with the weatherparking spaceallocated parkingminute driveexcellent apartmentsunny weatherself catering holidayspent nights here
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great apartments, we have been at least 10 times but this was probably our last. Returned after a surf trip to find the car park space allocated to us had another car half in our space. Was advised to use the public car park over the road earlier when we asked if any larger spaces were free, but none were available, which I was not keen on as I had all my boards and kit in the back of the van, along with a longboard on the roof. Last time we were here I also had a wetsuit stolen off the balcony.
Anyway, had no choice so used the car park over the road as advised and looks like I've got a parking fine coming from Cornwall council who don't allow overnight parking of vans. I then had to pay a full days parking for the following day that kicked in at 9am.
So if you have a van be warned, if you can't get into your allocated space or have more than 1 vehicle (1 space per apartment) you have nowhere left to go and park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My son had his wedding at the Watergate Hotel on 14th September. The Beachcomber apartments seemed the logical place to stay as a 7 day stay at the hotel would have cost a fortune. I booked online for a 2 bed apartment with 2 bathrooms, one en suite, with a sea view. The apartment surpassed my expectations. The views were to die for. It was beautifully fitted out with quality items such as matching blinds and curtains in the huge lounge and the kitchen equipment appeared to be all brand new. The box containing the iron was empty and the hair dryer was old and grubby and when we mentioned it brand new items were provided immediately. The bathrooms were spotless and sparkling and looked brand new. The staff were helpful and friendly. The wedding was perfect and the apartments made the whole trip a holiday to remember. Definitely the best rental experience of all time.

Room Tip: Research as much as possible and look to see what other people say. Given a choice always get the sea view then if the weather isn't great the view is still fabulous and when the sun sets on a good day there is no better place to be.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steelcitygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent 3 days at Beachcomber apartments in August 2013. We stayed in Apartment 31, which had a sea view and large outside patio area. The apartment had one bedroom with two single beds and an en suite toilet. There was also a spacious shower room with toilet and wash basin too. The shower had constant hot water and good pressure. The living area was open plan from the kitchen area too which was equipped with fridge, oven, dishwasher and a good selection of clean crockery and cutlery. Even dishwasher tablets are provided. The main sofa converts to a full double bed which our 15 year old daughter used and found it to be very comfortable. The lounge had tv, dvd etc, which we only used while returning to our apartment etc. Some have said the TV's are old and the apartments look outdated and whilt our TV was not a flat screen, it still looked modern and whilst the decor was a little more old fashioned than say our own house, everything was spotless, comfortable and the apartment was a great base while we toured the area. Watergate bay is a 10 minute drive from Newquay centre. Watergate is very popular with surfers, which we are not, but the bay is huge with plenty of room to sunbathe, walk, fly a kite and of course surf. Dogs are permitted on this beach too. Next door to the apartment is a Pub/Restaurant called The Phoenix. They serve Real Ale, quality food and were a real friendly bunch. They do get busy in the evening, but will accept a booking if you pop your head in and reserve for later. Prices were really good here and the food was quite exceptional. Some evenings they have live entertainment downstairs, but this is quiet acoustic stuff, not loud or raucous. Just a mile up the coast on the way to Newquay, you go through another beach called Porth, this is a really good traditional beach without the surf and the pub there called The Mermaid is another great stop for quality pub grub. We also visited Padstow while here, just 10 miles up the cost and really a first class small fishing port made famous by Rick Stein and his Restaurants. We also went to St Austell Brewery again approx 10 miles away. Great to tour and they have a Bar Restaurant called Hick's Bar which serve really good food and it is suitable for all ages. In conclusion, a great location, quality accommodation and i'd stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Sea View are worth the extra, because they have either a balcony or patio area with table and chairs where you can sit and watch the world go by.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Coming from the US we found this place through a web search and were thoroughly delighted with our apartment. We had an inner unit on the first floor overlooking a courtyard. Two bedrooms, one with a double bed, the other with two twin beds. There was also a sofa bed in the living room. Furniture was good, basic but comfortable. Kitchen had an array of cooking utensils, enough to make a meal, and plenty of cutlery, plates and glasses. Full size oven and cooker and micro, and dishwasher, but fridge was tiny under cabinet type with no freezer.

Under the TV, which has a good array of channels, were a selection of board games including scrabble and monopoly.

We spent a four day weekend, the beach is phenomenal and our timing was great as the temps were in the high 80f's, 30c. Each apartment comes with a parking space which is needed as watergate gets busy during the day and parking is at a minimum. There are some local restaurants and bars, as wells a J Oliver's place, but we didn't go to them.

Some minor flaws included some worn cookware, not enough towels, no tea towels or washing up sponge. net curtains would have been nice to have too as the only way to cool the place down is to open the windows, but then your neighbor has a view in so make sure the curtains are closed.

Laundry service is also available and we took advantage of having the staff do our laundry.

Overall we had a great time and would certainly consider returning

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcon1an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Visited Beachcombers for three night break. Can't fault the apartment- clean, spacious,well equipped and loved the balcony- felt like we were staying abroad. Next door was The Phoenix, a pub/ restaurant with outdoor sitting, lovely setting and food was great, huge portions and reasonably priced.- £8 for a burger meal, £14 for tender steak. The apartment are only two minutes from the beach, which is great particularly if you want to pop down for a quick bodyboard then back for a shower! Want to return again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank poppy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews