We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely beachside break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcombers Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at Beachcombers. Our apartment was very clean although some of the furniture and carpets looked well worn and could do with updating. Beds were really comfy and bed linen and towels were of really good quality. We stayed in a sea view room, which was definitely worth paying extra for, as the views were amazing. All in all a lovely relaxing break.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24, this room was situated on the corner of the building so we had amazing views f...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The apartments are finished at a high spec with good quality towels and bedding. Beds and sofa bed very comfortable. Showers very good and always hot. Kitchen well equipped. Use of DVDs and board games from reception. Good facilities for leaving wet suits and boards with showers also. We had a great stay here and would love to go again. Only problem we had was that we booked via their family hotel nearby due to them having no rooms so recommended their apartments. What they forgot to mention was all the deals they advertised I.e. One night free for four nights. So we were overcharged over £100. When we went to the hotel we were fobbed off with a promise that the Manager would call us. He didn't. So we had to ring twice more to argue our case. The same receptionist that we met and spoke to three times was quite offish and condescending. She said that although they had overcharged us there was no facility to refund our money?! Obviously they must have thought us stupid and we were highly offended. We told them clearly what we thought and then the receptionist muttered "alright we will refund you". Definitely dodgy dealers who we would not recommend booking with. We will go through some other way next time. But be warned, there are quite a few "agents" acting for Beachcombers with different deals who are all probably one company! BE CAREFUL! These apartments are not cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Darj33ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie R, General Manager at Beachcombers Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I am extremely concerned by some of the remarks in your comments and would welcome the opportunity to discuss these in greater depth with you. If you could please email jamieriches@breaksincornwall.com I would like to take the opportunity to investigate the allegations you make regarding the way your booking was handled.

It is difficult to respond to feedback of this type given the time between your visit and the time that a review is placed without making further investigations and I would welcome your direct input.

I can state without hesitation we are in no way 'dodgy dealers' and of course given the current market conditions utilise a variety of sales and marketing channels to maximise our presence in a highly competitive market.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest Regards

Jamie Riches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Despite the lack of a bath and reliable wifi, the overall stay was excellent. The view from the balcony was beautiful and the rooms were a really good size. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing, coastal stay near Newquay. :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to have amazing weather during our visit to watergate bay in cornwall, the beacholmer apartments where perfectly positioned for the beach, literally 2 mins walk away. Apartments where spacious, clean and had a separate bedroom, lovely bathroom and balcony, some had sea views. Jamie Oliver's restaurant 15 is just a stones throw away and the beach hut served fabulous meals, the Phoenix pub next door to the apartments also served some good meals too. The beach was beautiful and we were graced with beautiful sunsets. Will definitely be going back.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a 2 bed apartment with a sea view and small balcony. Worth the extra. Quite modern would have liked modern sofas to finish it off. Bathroom was good. Kitchen we'll equipped .
You are given a parking space but came Back one day and someone had parked in it. No manager there at time so had to ring another number and was told to go in another space as that would be vacant that night.
Saw someone drive off later that night. Cheek.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fishnorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Went with friends for the second year running. Had a two bedroom apartment with two shower rooms and balcony with sea view. Really well fitted out - home from home- could easily live there!
Very close to the beach and not far from Mawgan Porth, Padstow, Newquay. A really great location. Nice to have a lift too. Only slight drawback is the parking. One space allocated but we had two cars and you have to park in the car park opposite with an extremely keen parking attendant! And of course you have Jamie Olivers restaurant just down the road.

Room Tip: We have had Apartment 5 two years running. Its on the road side but the road isn't busy, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 397ValH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were really impressed with the apartment number 27. Excellent facilities and view. We will visit again. Nicely decorated with all you need. Two bathrooms with modern fittings. Nice touches such as books for all ages and games in apartment. Nice art work on walls. More than you would expect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
4.2 mi away
Lewinnick Lodge
Lewinnick Lodge
#12 of 106 in Newquay
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcombers Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Apartments

Address: Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £57 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcombers Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcombers Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Apartments Hotel Newquay
Beachcombers Apartments Cornwall
Beachcombers Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing