We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location, Friendly staff, run down hotel”
Review of The Glendeveor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glendeveor
Ranked #9 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

6 of us stayed at this hotel. Two couples and our older Sons of 19 and 20.

What we liked.

It's an absolutely super location and you couldn't want for more to be fair. A short walk from the town centre, shops, restaurants and bars. The surfing is awsome and the 'blue wings surf school' is recommended Mart and his brother are very nice indeed.

The staff in this hotel are very friendly and helpful although the " we're not always behind the desk so if you need your key help yourself" worried me slightly as I had expensive camera equipment with me. The hotel itself is very run down and in need of a complete refurb to be honest but due to the company I had it didn't bother me too much, you make your own happiness is my moto and to be fair it was way cheaper than the others and totally what I expected.

If you want modern clean and well appointed don't book here. If you want really attentive staff and someone to pander to your every whim don't book here.

If you want cheap and cheerful and a great location then book here!

Room Tip: try to get the front of the hotel and you can see the sea from the top rooms :D
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edavmmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for The Glendeveor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes from the centre of Newquay, however the smell of the bar hit us as soon as we arrived. The Reception area is unwelcoming and although our room was clean it was in desperate need of updating and the duvert covver was past its sell by date. The breakfast is the worst I have been offered. The dining room was locked until 8.45am (breakfast being 8.45am - 9.30). Residents were queing in the reception area waiting to get in. A tiny glass of juice, cereal in large tupperware boxes measured with mugs, yes mugs, weak coffee, and a very small English Breakfast. Two residents ate breakfast in their pyjamas.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JancolStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Very friendly and very welcoming. Relaxing atmosphere with great evening entertainment - full marks to Alan the barman for his performance on the Wednesday evening!

The room was clean, beds were comfortable and there was more than ample tea/coffee/sugar/milk provided.

Meal times were very organised also. Portions were perfect and the food was delicious - 10/10 for the bread pudding!

Location: Ideally situated for the town centre and for Towan Beach. Within easy reach of various attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Glendeveor Newquay 14th to 20th Aug. The negative reviews we read prior to our visit made us fear the worst.
The holiday was great, the Hotel staff were just great, the waiters were just great, the food was just great and plenty-full if required.
Then there was the evening entertainment that just got better and better. Wednesday evening was terrific, Alan took the stage for the evening and it was the best laugh we've had for a long long time. Keep up the good work Glendeveor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Having booked to stay at the Glendeveor hotel in July I was quite worried after reading some of the negative reviews of the place. I should not have worried. Although the place is a little dated , the staff more than make up for this. John, the manager is more than approachable, Plug the barman is very friendly and Alan, well I'll let you make up your own mind, they certainly broke the mould when they made that one. We stayed bed and breakfast and no complaints were made from our table, breakfast was lovely every morning so compliments to the cook aswell. All I can say is one thing not to be missed is quiz/bingo night with Alan, we laughed so much it hurt. All in all a great place to stay and will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandamand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I have stayed at some bad hotels in my time but this place is like a prison. The manager rocket John and his diciples Alan and some other guy are unreal! We travelled down from Liverpool for 2 nights staying at the Glendeveor one night. The place has the feel of a care home slash prison. The rooms are covered in warning signs and Rocket John took over five minutes upon arrival to discuss fire precautions and that we must go to the car park should a fire happen; your hardly going to wait in your room are you? He was a very patronising person and this was shown by the multiple warning stickers in the room, he was either paranoid or insane! The room itself was awful! It had a very overpowering musty smell similar to that of a hospital and the bathroom shower had less pressure than a tire that had been ripped in half and was either freezing cold or boiling hot. I had to put my head in the tiny sink to wash the shampoo from my hair! The beds were uncomfortable and filthy! Unless you are bordering on insane and over the age 95, i would say avoid this place like Afganistan! Terrible hotel, rude staff, nightmare place! I think the only positive reviews have been written by Rocket John himself! Do not go here!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steliverpool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We were worried reading some of the previous reviews.No need, room D was very quiet and cleaned fully every day.Break fast and dinner had several options,and good portions.
Having stayed in over 140+hotels in Britain and Europe, over the last 15 years,this one is not to complain about,we could name 30+ in France,Italy,Austria ,Eire, Britain and Jersey,including 2star.2 & 3 suns and 3 & 4 rosettes.,that were nowhere near as good as Glendeveor.John,his family and Alan do seem to care about their customers. I am sure as they re-decorate and renew,their hotel will improve.After all 5 years of ownership in the recent economic climate,they have done well to do what they have.Sunrise tripper.

Room Tip: Don't expect more than you are paying for.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank essexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glendeveor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glendeveor

Address: 25 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £58 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glendeveor 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us for a warm Cornish welcome. Our spotless 33 room guest house provides excellent value for money, with all the facilities you'd expect from a good quality B&B. In fact plenty of our guests come back year after year. Every room has central heating, a flat screen TV plus free tea and coffee making equipment. Many also feature gorgeous sea views. And we're only a stone's throw from Newquay's famous sandy beaches, great tourist facilities and pretty town centre. And, of course, there are lots of places to buy the famously delicious Cornish pasty! Famously balmy Newquay provides easy access to the entire Cornish road network. Penzance, St Michael's Mount and The Lizard are close by. And the magical Scilly Isles are easily accessible, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Glendeveor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glendeveor Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing