We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun time”
Review of The Glendeveor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glendeveor
Ranked #9 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, "mature" couple on belated honeymoon from Australia. It was pouring with rain, hubby was struggling with narrow British roads so went to booking.com and plumped for first on list. Yes, the bedrooms and bathrooms are incredibly small, the walk to our room was like a maze, but it made us laugh and added to the occasion (we aussies are laid back!). Entertainment in evening was hilarious, we didn't try brekkie as we like a lie-in but the food did smell nice:). Nice location near to everything, all in all a fun experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karalynbice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went to the Glendeveor on a trip with Travelstyle Sunday 8th June and we had a great time. John came to the bus when we arrived to welcome us and give a quick run down of the week to come. The bedroom and en suite bathroom were on the small side but that was the only drawback! The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. The meals are first class and the best salads I have ever seen anywhere.Danny behind the bar is laid back, Alan is a comedian who also does an evening of entertainment with Cornish bingo and a quiz with a bit of Jethro thrown in! All in all a great hotel and would return for another week.




Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nanalulu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Clean, friendly staff, good food, best salad I've had in any hotel I've stayed in , comfy bed but only one problem not a lot of room to get into shower and this seems to be in most rooms, drinks where half price between 7.30pm and 10.pm on this special weekend . Brilliant value for money trip with Gibbons holidays Bedlinog. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: if want quiet room ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Glendeveor hotel Newquay on a 5 day 4 night coach trip,we arrived late left our suitcases and went straight into dinner after which we found our suitcases outside our bedroom door.My sea-view room had 2 beds and was a reasonable size but the bathroom and shower were very small.the bed was uncomfortable, a new mattress springs to mind.There was a fair sized lounge with coach party standard evening entertainment.The bar had a fair selection of drinks but was let down by the wines,a £15 bottle of shiraz was vastly inferior to a supermarket £4 bottle.The white wines on the pumps were poor quality and one glass was enough.It was a great shame about the wines but I feel it is something that could easily be put right with some good advice from somebody with experience of wines and wine buying.(and drinking.)The meals at the Glendeveor were a real plus point with a good breakfast of your choice,evening dinner offered a good choice of menu plus a very nice salad was always available.The staff were pleasant and efficient with nothing to much trouble.My bedroom and the public areas at the Glendeveor were spotlessly clean.Newspapers were available from 7oclock at reception with an honesty box,I thought this was a nice touch.Taking everything into consideration I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Arrived .25th April on a Gibbons Holidays Coach Tour.
The hotel is in a very central location overlooking the town and beach.
Excellent varied menu with more than ample portions.
Room was very clean and presentable with outstanding views over the harbour.
Bar was well stocked with excellent prices and quality ale.
Entertainment was excellent.
All the staff were tremendous and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hot-Blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotel ok, good central location.

BREAKFAST well all I can say is I went down to weatherspoons straight after !!!! It looked like a kids breakfast !! Saying that we had a family sitting next to us with to young kids and they started crying because they didn't have enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

we went here on the 28th of march for a 3 night stay, there were 13 in the group, ages from 59 to 80, from the start to to end with the staff waving us goodbye the trip was excellent, the dinner and breakfast was very good and plentyful nothing was too much trouble for the waiters, all the staff were friendly and courteous at all times.we had a great laugh with alan who does the entertainment amongst other things(cornish bingo) jokes and gentle micky taking. All in all it was a great weekend, thanks to the effort that the staff put in to make your stay enjoyable. We went with Gibbons Coaches from south wales who were also excellent .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjacko50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
0 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#8 of 106 in Newquay
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour
The Harbour
#25 of 106 in Newquay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glendeveor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glendeveor

Address: 25 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £54 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glendeveor 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us for a warm Cornish welcome. Our spotless 33 room guest house provides excellent value for money, with all the facilities you'd expect from a good quality B&B. In fact plenty of our guests come back year after year. Every room has central heating, a flat screen TV plus free tea and coffee making equipment. Many also feature gorgeous sea views. And we're only a stone's throw from Newquay's famous sandy beaches, great tourist facilities and pretty town centre. And, of course, there are lots of places to buy the famously delicious Cornish pasty! Famously balmy Newquay provides easy access to the entire Cornish road network. Penzance, St Michael's Mount and The Lizard are close by. And the magical Scilly Isles are easily accessible, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glendeveor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glendeveor Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing