We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gibbons tour 9th july.”
Review of The Glendeveor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glendeveor
Ranked #9 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Yet another nice trip with Gibbons at the Glendeveour our third visit.Lovely weather and a nice time was had by all. Once again the salad was outstanding ,however there were some issues in the restaurant,in that they were very short -staffed so service was sporadic.Also placing tea/coffee on the tables in the morning before you sat down resulted in beverages being luke warm as were the starters in the evening,which was disappointing . If that could be looked into I think it would make a difference. That aside the bedroom was lovely and clean and the shower hot Staff lovely especially Alan..Will hopefully return next year.

Room Tip: Not above the laundry or at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teresa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Glendeveor. Was a little worried after reading some negative reviews. Our double room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was squeaky clean and though small, was completely adequate. Someone on tripadvisor said that there was a SMELL which apparently followed you around! The only smell I detected was pleasant, fresh cleaning materials. My Dad (God rest his soul) would say "perhaps his nose is too close to his bottom!"

It was said that the breakfast was small and that someone's kids were crying cos there was not enough food. What a total load of rubbish!! Can only assume that this was Family Obese! There was a choice of five cereals, prunes, grapefruit, 3 different kinds of juices (and not watered down) and we were asked whether we'd prefer skimmed, semi or full fat milk. The cooked breakfast consisited of: bacon, sausage, fried bread, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans and egg. You were given a little breakfast slip on which you ticked all the items you wanted with an S, F, or P in the egg column to say scrambled, fried or poached. There was also toast, butter and preserves brought to your table. You could also have a continental breakfast of croissants, cheese, fruit etc. I didn't try this but I saw it and it looked lovely. The service was very good. We weren't waiting around for long and the waiter was pleasant and friendly.

The rest of the staff were friendly and even the housekeepers greeted you. The prices in the bar were not expensive as some people have said. £3.50 for a house double and mixer is quite good value in my book. San Miguel was £3.50 a pint. This is not Spain where you can get a pint of watered down lager for 1 euro 50. My half of San Miguel was a bit flat. The barman said it was because of the glass (no widget) and immediately changed it for me, no quibble.

There was no entertainment on this weekend as there were no coaches in. This didn't worry us as we go out anyway and use the hotel for the last couple of drinks. The dining room was not open in the evening (as no coaches in.) Whilst I can understand that it isn't worth opening for 1 or 2 people, I was a little disappointed as the evening menu looked gorgeous with proper home made dishes. Never mind, I will make sure there is a coach booked in when I visit again.

The Glendeveor is in a great location. Away from the youngsters and all the racket but close to town as well. The only thing that kept me awake was the noisy seagulls!

People have said that the decor is a little dated and the hotel can do with some refurbishment. This is true, but Rome wasn't built in a day. This year they have refurbished 18 rooms and they have an ongoing programme of refurbishment.

I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel. Thanks very much all staff at Glendeveor. From Glynis Pope.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank glynnieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Used the Glendeveor as a stopover on visit to southwest and was very happy . Was up sized to a family room from a twin . Room was a little dated but clean . Breakfast was fine and overall happy with accommodation would use again .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Busa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked last min, but what a find, right in middle of newquay, town center at the bottom of the road, room was clean, sea view room 19, not big rooms, but ideal for short break, good parking a bonus aswell, found a nice place to eat captain jacks on road opp yorkshire building soc in town recommend by the owner John, food really good, breakfast was good full english was good, dont know what people moan about, they also let us leave cars when we checked out for the morning so we could look around a bit more, very friendly staff, will go back again, ideal for parents dropping of kids at smugglers for under 18 leavers week as one night for a double was 65.00.

Room Tip: Room 19 sea view, on road bit of noise from traffic, but soon goes quite about 12 you get a few pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just had an excellent week at the glendeveor hotel newquay,staff were great,could not do enough for us,and Alan's Wednesday night entertainment was just brilliant,never laughed so much in my life,brilliant holiday all round

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, "mature" couple on belated honeymoon from Australia. It was pouring with rain, hubby was struggling with narrow British roads so went to booking.com and plumped for first on list. Yes, the bedrooms and bathrooms are incredibly small, the walk to our room was like a maze, but it made us laugh and added to the occasion (we aussies are laid back!). Entertainment in evening was hilarious, we didn't try brekkie as we like a lie-in but the food did smell nice:). Nice location near to everything, all in all a fun experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karalynbice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went to the Glendeveor on a trip with Travelstyle Sunday 8th June and we had a great time. John came to the bus when we arrived to welcome us and give a quick run down of the week to come. The bedroom and en suite bathroom were on the small side but that was the only drawback! The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. The meals are first class and the best salads I have ever seen anywhere.Danny behind the bar is laid back, Alan is a comedian who also does an evening of entertainment with Cornish bingo and a quiz with a bit of Jethro thrown in! All in all a great hotel and would return for another week.




Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nanalulu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
0 mi away
The Quies
The Quies
#8 of 106 in Newquay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glendeveor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glendeveor

Address: 25 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £53 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glendeveor 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us for a warm Cornish welcome. Our spotless 33 room guest house provides excellent value for money, with all the facilities you'd expect from a good quality B&B. In fact plenty of our guests come back year after year. Every room has central heating, a flat screen TV plus free tea and coffee making equipment. Many also feature gorgeous sea views. And we're only a stone's throw from Newquay's famous sandy beaches, great tourist facilities and pretty town centre. And, of course, there are lots of places to buy the famously delicious Cornish pasty! Famously balmy Newquay provides easy access to the entire Cornish road network. Penzance, St Michael's Mount and The Lizard are close by. And the magical Scilly Isles are easily accessible, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glendeveor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glendeveor Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing