We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”
Review of The Glendeveor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Glendeveor
Ranked #9 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Last minute booking”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Last minute booking,what a shock had just come from a week at the quies but couldn't get extra night because they were fully booked.This hotel is in need of a total revamp,bathroom from the 70,s and room not much better,would not go back here unless it undergoes a total referb.

Room Tip: Don't try this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    122
    36
    6
    10
See reviews for
97
144
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Par, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Glendeveor. Great location, on site car park, central location. Rooms were clean and functional. Breakfast was great and staff were so attentive. Will be booking again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear do not have a view but do not have the noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kernowmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from this lovely hotel after a 4 night stay, very clean, in a central position near to shops & beach. Staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble and on arrival our coach party was welcomed by Alan the assistant manager. Food was delicious. The room was big enough for us we had a double on the front overlooking the sea which was lovely the only downside was the hotel next door had a noisy crowd on our last couple of evenings and the hotel is on quite a busy road and you do get some traffic noise if you have a room on the front. There also was a hiccup on our first evening and next day breakfast in regard to the service in the dining room, the waiter was running around and could have done with help from the waitress but she just stood around waiting for the guests to arrive on "her" side of the room and when he asked for help she just shook her head, the service improved on the second evening.

Room Tip: Rooms at front on top floor have a panoramic sea view but you do get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute booking. Was able to get in to room as soon as we arrived which was greatly appreciated. Room was clean and tidy although quiet small but as was only my husband and myself this was not a problem. The staff were very welcoming and polite. The food was nice. Was good value for money. Was allowed to use car park even though we had booked out which was very nice of the owner to let us do as parking in Newquay is a bit of a problem. Nice and central location. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twink182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Yet another nice trip with Gibbons at the Glendeveour our third visit.Lovely weather and a nice time was had by all. Once again the salad was outstanding ,however there were some issues in the restaurant,in that they were very short -staffed so service was sporadic.Also placing tea/coffee on the tables in the morning before you sat down resulted in beverages being luke warm as were the starters in the evening,which was disappointing . If that could be looked into I think it would make a difference. That aside the bedroom was lovely and clean and the shower hot Staff lovely especially Alan..Will hopefully return next year.

Room Tip: Not above the laundry or at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Glendeveor. Was a little worried after reading some negative reviews. Our double room was lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was squeaky clean and though small, was completely adequate. Someone on tripadvisor said that there was a SMELL which apparently followed you around! The only smell I detected was pleasant, fresh cleaning materials. My Dad (God rest his soul) would say "perhaps his nose is too close to his bottom!"

It was said that the breakfast was small and that someone's kids were crying cos there was not enough food. What a total load of rubbish!! Can only assume that this was Family Obese! There was a choice of five cereals, prunes, grapefruit, 3 different kinds of juices (and not watered down) and we were asked whether we'd prefer skimmed, semi or full fat milk. The cooked breakfast consisited of: bacon, sausage, fried bread, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans and egg. You were given a little breakfast slip on which you ticked all the items you wanted with an S, F, or P in the egg column to say scrambled, fried or poached. There was also toast, butter and preserves brought to your table. You could also have a continental breakfast of croissants, cheese, fruit etc. I didn't try this but I saw it and it looked lovely. The service was very good. We weren't waiting around for long and the waiter was pleasant and friendly.

The rest of the staff were friendly and even the housekeepers greeted you. The prices in the bar were not expensive as some people have said. £3.50 for a house double and mixer is quite good value in my book. San Miguel was £3.50 a pint. This is not Spain where you can get a pint of watered down lager for 1 euro 50. My half of San Miguel was a bit flat. The barman said it was because of the glass (no widget) and immediately changed it for me, no quibble.

There was no entertainment on this weekend as there were no coaches in. This didn't worry us as we go out anyway and use the hotel for the last couple of drinks. The dining room was not open in the evening (as no coaches in.) Whilst I can understand that it isn't worth opening for 1 or 2 people, I was a little disappointed as the evening menu looked gorgeous with proper home made dishes. Never mind, I will make sure there is a coach booked in when I visit again.

The Glendeveor is in a great location. Away from the youngsters and all the racket but close to town as well. The only thing that kept me awake was the noisy seagulls!

People have said that the decor is a little dated and the hotel can do with some refurbishment. This is true, but Rome wasn't built in a day. This year they have refurbished 18 rooms and they have an ongoing programme of refurbishment.

I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel. Thanks very much all staff at Glendeveor. From Glynis Pope.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynnieCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Used the Glendeveor as a stopover on visit to southwest and was very happy . Was up sized to a family room from a twin . Room was a little dated but clean . Breakfast was fine and overall happy with accommodation would use again .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Busa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
869 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#22 of 78 in Newquay
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glendeveor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glendeveor

Property: The Glendeveor
Address: 25 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glendeveor 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us for a warm Cornish welcome. Our spotless 33 room guest house provides excellent value for money, with all the facilities you'd expect from a good quality B&B. In fact plenty of our guests come back year after year. Every room has central heating, a flat screen TV plus free tea and coffee making equipment. Many also feature gorgeous sea views. And we're only a stone's throw from Newquay's famous sandy beaches, great tourist facilities and pretty town centre. And, of course, there are lots of places to buy the famously delicious Cornish pasty! Famously balmy Newquay provides easy access to the entire Cornish road network. Penzance, St Michael's Mount and The Lizard are close by. And the magical Scilly Isles are easily accessible, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Glendeveor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glendeveor Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing