We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenton Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Extremely welcoming and accommodating to our needs. We went to a wedding party and arrived back at the hotel at about 12.30. We were given a key to get back in. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank-you for your comments, I am glad you had a nice stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
28
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Welcoming Staff, Great Location, Clean & Tidy Rooms, Brilliant Sea View Rooms, Well worth the money definately Stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank-you so much, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Extremely dated hotel and decor. Extremely tiny claustrophobic rooms. Extremely overpriced. Although pets "welcome" - the owner moaned despite being asked politely to fill a dog bowl with water. Most unwelcoming people you could imafgine. Absolutely gobsmacked. I'd rather sleep in the car instead of coming here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
I am confused by this review, as the hotel was not open at the time this guest says they stayed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

i stayed at this hotel and i tell you i would not recommend it to anyone. Room was cold shower freezing, breakfast bad and the owner was not very welcoming,The only good thing is the location
spoilt my trip

and if you read the comments left by the staff you will see what i mean.,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jueLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
So sorry you were unhappy, wish people would bring any problems to our attention so we can put the rite. I also wonder why it has taken this guest so long to leave a review from July to April? We would also like to thank all the hundreds of people who pass through our doors every year with many of them returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very nice, friendly family run hotel with amazing views of the coast. The rooms were clean, tidy and welcoming for a couple to relax in. plenty of breakfast choice. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmgeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

As an experienced family of Newquay visitors, and having stayed at numerous hotels, guesthouses and other locations around Newquay and Porth this was our first stay at The Kenton Hotel.
We immediately felt at home with a friendly welcome from Norman and his family.
Parking was spacious and safe at the rear of the hotel.
The entrance lobby, bar, seating area, conservatory and dining room all have fabulous views of the spectacular Newquay coastline from Porth right across to the Headland Hotel and everything in between.
We had a side room but could still see the sea from the window and it was clean with plenty of space for our family of 4 (incuding girls aged 8 and 10 yrs).
The hotel is within easy and comfortable walking distance of beaches and the town and offer body boards, buckets and spades, etc for all your beaching needs.
The bar is well stocked and available all evening and there was a great atmosphere with friendly hosts and guests. The Hotel is canine friendly but this did not detract from our stay, despite not owning a dog.
The food catered for all appetites and was varied, with cerial, fruit and full breakfast in the mornings (toast a plenty - yummy) and a different 3 course evening meal each night. Any special needs were sorted out and the children were kept well entertained.
There were lots of things to do at night including a comfy and well equipped TV room, pool table, dart board and countless board games, et al. Quizzes and Bingo provided to suit which were thoroughly enjoyable.
We will return and will encourage as many friends and family to do likewise as possible. We are already trying to work out how soon we can do this and after just one week feel like part of the family.

Room Tip: Sea View is Immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bligad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Kenton Hotel. The location was great and the view from our room was amazing.
Everywhere was clean and the breakfast was lovely.

We will definately stay here again :o)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Whipsiderry Hotel
Whipsiderry Hotel
#17 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.7 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#10 of 38 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Property: Kenton Hotel
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing