We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenton Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This dog friendly hotel was a bit further out from Newquay than we were expecting but the unspoilt views were amazing. Staff were warm and friendly, breakfast and room were of a general regular standard. Fantastic walk along coastal path just across the road from the hotel, beach and local pub were 10 min's walk down the hill. (Pub was dog friendly but not the beach during the summer months). Great hotel for a budget break.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if possible-views are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Kenton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed here before & feel so welcome . The room was loverly & clean. The bed was so soft i had a great comfortable sleep. The breakfast is great as always, its always hot & great service. The views are some of the best you will see from a hotel window. Thank you to all the staff/staff once again. see you again soon.

Room Tip: Just stay here !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

set just outside the rough and tumble of Newquay(I mean rough and tumble!), with a fantastic view across Porth beach to wake up to. immaculately clean, friendly family staff (lively debates with the owner-don't be offended, interesting character). Breakfast excellent, swift service and always hot.
Walkable to newquay and to Watergate beach, but best beaches are opposite the hotel straight across road.
bar well stocked and always open , nice front of house to sit and look out over that amazing view.
Rooms were great, guessing ours was a recent refurb, could do with aircon or a fan in room, but thats personal preference.
the family are passionate about the hotel and the local area, which reflects in the level of service they give.
All in all, one comment - stay here!

Room Tip: most people want sea view but ours overlooked the hills which is still great- you only have to walk...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an old hotel with a beautiful ocean view. It is not very inviting when you look at it from outside. It is a little dingy and feels like a bit of a fire hazard. The bathroom is very small. The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

All the family are so friendly it feels like you become part of family during your stay. The full english breakfast comes to you quickly & hot, it sets you up for the day ! The bed is comfortable & with sea view that comlements it ! The rooms & general decor could do with updating, maybe small flat screens in the room ! But dont let this put you off , as the whole place was very clean, & i can be a fussy git ! We will be staying again sometime next year.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are a must .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Friendly staff, clean hotel and room, good breakfast & evening meal, lovely weather!
We all enjoyed our week long stay in the Kenton Hotel - the day started with a good breakfast and then out for a bit of relaxing on a local beach and body-boarding/swimming in the sea. Back to the hotel about 5:15pm for showers (which were hot enough) before our 6:30pm evening meal. Afterwards, a quick walk on the cliffs opposite or into Newquay for a walk around the shops (Newquay is about a 5 minute drive away and we always found a parking space). Back to the hotel about 9pm to enjoy a few drinks in the bar. The owners/family would be relaxing in the bar too and were happy to play you at darts, pool and cribbage. Finally to bed about midnight!
To summarise:-
Room was clean and tidy and checked everyday.
Beds and pillows were clean and comfy.
The dining room had lovely sea views. Meals were served with a smile and some jokey banter!
Nice/comfy TV room - oldest son enjoyed watching football on the big TV.
We all enjoyed a few games of darts, pool and cards in the bar.
It was really enjoyable to sit and chat to the owners/family and other guests in the bar, sun lounge and dining room.
Plenty of car parking to the front of the Hotel as well as in the Hotel's car park. We were happy to leave our car in front of the hotel as was safe enough as off of the main road.
There was a washing line at the back of the hotel to dry any swimmers or wetsuits.
Our dog and the other 2 dogs staying at the same time caused no problems to other guests. They all laid down quietly in the bar in the evening and no dog were allowed in the dining room.
The local beaches are fantastic especially Watergate Beach (only about 2 or 3 miles away, about a 5 minute drive away).

The hotel and location suited our family's requirements.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have lovely sea views!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, it is very rewarding to know that all our hard work is worth the effort. I know you can't please all of the people all of the time but we do try anyway without much luck on some occasions it would seem. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a 3 night stay here over a weekend after reading ok reviews. Oh how did we regret it. It advertised a car park, however it could only hold about two cars and we were told that we may be asked to move it each day. The hotel smelt but I thought that was down it being a old building. Then we saw the room, a lot of dust on the skirting and headboards. Coffee mug stains on the side tables, curtains coming away, no net curtains, shower gel half used and horrible brown stains on the duvet. Bed not properly made either. It was obvious that someone had just left this room and then they checked us in without cleaning it. Disgusting. When we told the reception we were leaving she didn't argue or hesitate to give our money back. The receptionist was very nice, only good thing about the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chrissiexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Owner at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

I am sorry you are not happy, not sure where all these nasty comments have come from to be honest, the photo's taken are very misleading and not quite as they look, not sure that one or two have even been taken in this hotel. You were given a full refund as your behavior was very suspicious, and we preferred that you left. We have had many lovely, friendly very happy customers this year, and find all your comments to be untrue and misleading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#18 of 37 in Newquay
201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#20 of 37 in Newquay
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.4 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Priory Lodge Hotel
Priory Lodge Hotel
#7 of 37 in Newquay
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £67 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing