We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers???”
Review of Kenton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Having read previous reviews I feel compelled to write one myself.However like a former writer I cannot quite understand how the reviews can be so different.We have our own experience of running hotels.Starting with our arrival we would have appreciated a friendly greeting from the Dad who was sitting outside "pretending" to be a guest.As it was our first night we opted for the evening meal.When asking for a Sherry as an aperitif the Dad wasn't sure whether they had any and made a big deal out of finding some.The evening meal must be one of the worst I have ever tasted. Everything seemed to be heated up.The soup appeared to be out of a tin.The meat which was supposed to be silverside beef seemed to be something out of a packet and doused in Bisto gravy, possibly to disguise the fact.The Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes were extremely tough(you could barely cut them). The peas and carrots appeared to be out of a tin.The choice of desserts was limited as they had run out of most of them.The bedroom was draughty and basic with a tiny TV.The "ensuite bathroom" was the size of a largish wardrobe with barely any room to move.If you wanted a hot shower you had to run the wash basin hot water tap for 10 minutes before stepping into the shower cubicle or you were in for a nasty cold surprise.Although there was plenty of time for them to clean the bedroom it clearly hadn't been hoovered nor had the wash basin been cleaned.At breakfast I asked for two soft boiled eggs as an alternative to the full English. Although I had been warned the eggs arrived hard boiled!!!The following day I decided the Full English was the better bet ;-).The "fry up" was good but the toast was white bread only and cold.The general demeanor especially that of the Dad was reminiscent of Basil Fawlty from Fawlty Towers.I overheard him talking about a conversation he had had with a former guest with the sentence ending"..... If you don't like it you can leave!!"That just about sums it up as far as I am concerned. We had the feeling if we didn't like it we could leave.It's a shame that the people running this hotel aren't making the best of the beautiful location and gorgeous views.The interior and exterior are in need of some TLC and the people running it could benefit from some basic training in personal and culinary skills. Or maybe they are in need of a holiday in a well run establishment to give them some clues on how to improve the running of their place. Who knows?

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegeen2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

Been to the Kenton Hotel again and still a wonderfully run hotel, proprietors friendly and helpful, having lots of guests who return year after year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroldewhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdtwoolway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tistone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cazidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murraydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton, Manager at Kenton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2008

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenton Hotel

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kenton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenton Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing