We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #83 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2011

we choose to stay at the glendorgal as we were considering having are wedding here but wanted to check it out on the quiet first, glendorgal hotel is set in a beautiful position, in my opinion it need s a massive makeover not only are the rooms overpriced for the standard of decor, but a joke when you have an air duct outside that makes the worse noise i have ever heard they should really consider moving it to a less visible and less noisy location, specially when your paying over the odds for a sea view. You can hear neighbours very clearly at night so be warned if you happen to have a snorer next door you wont get any sleep.
the meals are adequate though definitely not to a high standard the choice of drinks are poor and over priced specially when most can be purchased at over half the price they sell them at the local supermarket, breakfast well were to start was the worst i have had in fact we went to a local cafe which was 100% better than we had at the hotel and at half the price.
overall this place is overpriced, food adequate and over priced for the standard, and definitely will not be booking any further accommodation here and definitely not a wedding i feel sorry for any bride to be choosing this place and not road testing it first

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mickyblue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

After our stay at this hotel I honestly cannot get the smell of sewerage out my noise as the Drains were constantly blocking. Housekeeping amazing very clean would do anything for you. But there were curtain poles hanging, light fittings loose and bits of paint missing etc. The rooms must have paper thin walls and you can hear absolutely everything the next room is saying and doing. The rooms at night are far too hot as mentioned in previous reviews. Breakfast was limited and the hash browns were thin and just full of grease with poor quality sausages. I have to say I have been disappointed and would be reluctant to give this hotel a second chance. I have to put a positive and that would be the views which are stunning, and Rose the housekeeper deserves a pay rise she is awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank toby_4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Glendorgal is in a super location on the edge of Newquay with an impressive outlook across Porth Island and the sea. The hotel has reasonable facilities and our accommodation was clean, if cramped. We had a room overlooking the sea, with a tiny balcony and an expanse of flat roof in front : not so bad except for being where a large population of seagulls hang out, but hey, its the seaside.

Our room was furnished in fairly neutral (if rather cheap) modern style, it's on a par with Travelodge, but not up to the standard of, say, City Inn - although much less space than either.

The major problem with our experience of the hotel was noise. The kitchens have an air extractor that sounded like a turboprop aircraft was taxiing on the roof. The fan goes off at about 10pm when the kitchen shuts down (hurrah) but started again at 7.10am - on Sunday - (aaaarghh). I cannot begin to describe how intrusive or annoying the noise is. The rooms overlooking the water seem worst affected and ironically they are the most expensive. The sound insulation between rooms isn't up to much either, we could hear our neighbours' conversations as if they were sitting in our room.

We paid £100 for a night's stay, which is a significant discount off of the room rate. Even so i would not rate the value as half that. The hotel would be ok for anyone who is either deaf and used to the sort of personal space you might find in a submarine, or who cant find anywhere else to stay and can get a room here for less than £50.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surveyor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed in one of the self catering houses. The one good point is the size, very spacious with three rooms and a large open plan living area. The location is fine as well as the indoor pool but thats were the positive stops. Regreatably we decided to try somewhere differant as we normally stay at the Headland Hotel Cottages which are far superior in terms of buils quality,clenliness and service. Sorry Glendorgall but you need to try alot harder to compete ,as you chage a similar price when you add on the hidden utility charge. Clenliness and maintanace is poor and the overall service from the hatch they call reception is a real let down. Naerly forgot to mention the accomodation is very noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gm_cpchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Where do I start!!! I booked a stay at Glendorgal Hotel after a winning bid through Bid4it.
I paid over £117.00 for a one night stay, dinner and breakfast for two.
The night was booked for my birthday and also to celebrate Valentines Day and my husbands upcoming birthday on the 15th February.
On arrival we were directed to our room, pleasant, but with a view of a flat roof.
We decided to use the leisure facilities, but we left feeling very disappointed, the hot tub was not working, the sauna wasn't hot enough and the pool smelt musty and as my husband described "like cheesy feet", hence we didn't stay there long.
The hotel room was clean, comfortable with a lovely hot shower with complimentry shampoo and shower gel. Room was uncomfortably hot though.
Our dinner was booked for 8pm, we ordered from the menu and then the electric went, complete darkness. We did manage to eat our starters by candle light as they had just been prepared before the electric went.
Our main meal could not be cooked, we asked the waiter what we should do and he suggested we ordered a takeaway! We could not drive to another restaurant as we had both had a drink, we decided to go back to our dark room, hungry, no TV, no refreshments, no WiFi, (which had been pre-paid for).
Our stay was a complete disaster, I did manage to have a breakfast, which was very overpriced at £12.00.
Overall I was extremely disappointed with my stay, a verbal apology was given by the hotel receptionist, and I claimed a refund from Bid4it, an email was sent to Glendorgal Hotel highlighting all the problems we incurred, yet still awaiting a reply a week later.
P.S The remote for the television only worked when it was placed right up to it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaidinCornwall555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

stayed at the glendorgal for 2 nights.This was our third visit to this hotel.We paid £49 per night for a double room.We booked through booking.com.Breakfast was not included on this occasion but had been in the past.We were offered breakfast at £12 each but know newquay well so chose to eat at the Donna's cafe at the train station where you get a far better breakfast for£2.50!!! We didn't use the bar this time either as we know this too is expensive.We walked down to the mermaid in porth and on the sunday into newquay.We did use the gym and pool though.I found these to be fine though my partner though the pool fealt a little dirty.Our room was fine though.we were in room 21,nice big room with armchair and leather sofa.tv was useless though,remote did not work and the channels kept freezing on the digibox....the ones you could find anyway.The room was really warm and put the fan on most of the night.All in all though we enjoyed our stay and would return on another late deal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davesuperleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nghts during the Christmas season. Staff were friendly, room was surprisingly spacious and clean, TV didn't work and the walls were very thin - we could even hear someone snoring from the room next door which impacted on our sleep. We paid 50 pounds per night and didn't feel it was value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Laos_Kiwi_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £55 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing