We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Bargain for New Years Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #93 of 111 Newquay B&B and Inns
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Bargain for New Years Eve”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a nice hotel,stunning location room's finished to a high standard and a very welcoming staff.We managed to get Bed & Breakfast here for me and my Fiancee on New Years Eve for £70 and I must say the breakfast is one of the best I ever had and the restaurant has breathtaking views.I have promised my Fiancee we will return one day soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinHosking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    64
    63
    53
    58
See reviews for
81
121
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just had a one night stay at the Glendorgal for a party We paid £135 for a room , we decided not to pay for another £20 for a sea view as it was such a short stay but boy were we disappointed There were no hand towels, no blind at the window just the broken plastic bits to hold the missing blind The paintwork was shabby and the carpet was in need of a vac and the room just loooked really tired and in need of some tlc. We were looking out on a broken air vent and the car park The staff were great but charging these kind of prices you really need to be offering so much more, the breakfast was mostly self service and looked really cheap and certainly not worth £12 per person We have stayed in guest houses that could knock spots off this place They really need to up their game to charge these sort of prices in the current economic climate

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisey32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel on recommendation. We were on a weeks holiday to Cornwall with elderly friends. On arrival there was only the receptionist on duty and our rooms were on the top floor up two sets of stairs and along many corridors and no help with bags or a lift.
The rooms were nice, but we would only describe them as 'adequate' but they did have views of Porth Cove,but the bed and floors were really creaky.
The shower was alternating between hot and cold and I'm not sure where the water drained as the seals around it were non existent!
In hindsight, I wish we had breakfasted somewhere else as for £10. per head it was very poor, help yourself tea, coffee and toast and very little choice, although the Staff were very good! and a good view from the conservatory restaurant. Shame the last orders were 9 a.m
a bit early for holidaymakers!
On the whole it is a very nice hotel, but remember it is only 3stars, and slightly overpriced, but the location and views help them get away with imperfections.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My newly-wed wife and I were honeymooning on a tight budget and were overwhelmed when we found an amazing online deal for such an expensive hotel.
It is in a superb location and although our room didn't have a sea view, that didn't bother us. The girl on reception was lovely and extremely helpful (even letting us use the spa and pool after it had officially closed) and all other staff we met were very good and attentive.
The room we had was huge which we liked a lot. The beds were comfy and we slept well until the morning when we could hear our neighbours banging and crashing about. I'll call that 50% their fault and 50% thin walls...
Other issues with the room were that there was no shaver power point, the tile grout on the bathroom floor had broken out and some tiles were loose and wobbly. The shower, although a nice size, was weak and the control seemed to be on backwards. There was no-where to hang towels, the towel radiator being too small and in desperate need of a clean between its' rungs!
The floorboards creaked in the room, the window frame had enough grime in it to plant things. The room needed a good dusting, especially the tea-pot!
On the whole though, despite all that I've just said, we really did enjoy our stay! Perhaps this was down to the location and the super-happy newly-wed haze we were in!
We've rated it as excellent value as we paid less than a third of the usual price, but would not ever pay full price for the room we had. Oh, and we skipped breakfast as it was £10 a head, but the evening meals were more realistically priced.

Room Tip: Would only really say to try and get a sea view room, it is worth it! (but try and find a good deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

2 nights, 3 days in beautiful, sunny Cornwall. Why are there so many bitter people on Trip Advisor? Just had a lovely 3 day break in the Glendorgal Hotel. The whole experience was delightful. Thank you, hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Chose a seaview and were glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diwjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Perfect views. Amazing place great location for cornwall overlooking the beach at porth.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelocalbigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

we stayed at the Glendorgal last week...Aug 2011....to say this hotel is not in "a brilliant location" would be unfair...however I feel the owners hide behind its positional beauty and have failed in their responsibility to give paying guests a "whole luxury " experience...especially .when paying such high rates.
Why????
Well most of the houses that are self catering appear to be timeshare owned...which means 52 people own 52 weeks potentially....the owners pay on average £500 to maintain the property for their particular week......that could equate to potential income of £25000 per house per year....alas none of this money seems to have been spent on the properties...they are tired and shabby and have had few upgrades since the original build...items are missing broken and mismatched ...the decor is dirty and marked...how much is white emulsion paint...not £2500 surely!!!
The cleaning standard is abysmal........and we are not picky.....the curtains were mouldy from the damp and the smell of damp was awful...we had stains on the carpet which were there last year....still there last week!!!!

How can they warrant this when the weekly charge for the houses is £1300 ....We had visitors and they were shocked when comparing to their "timeshare" treatment.
I would suggest that the "Fat Cat " greediness is left behind and a little money spent on making this place as lovely as its location......Premier Inns have a much better standards!!!!!!!
Take heed Glendorgal because your location is your only saving grace!!!!!!
This is not a negative person speaking either.....my glass is always half full.....which reminds me we found two bits of broken glass after the cleaners had left!!!

Room Tip: only go if you like to stay outside admiring the fabulous views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
801 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Property: Glendorgal Hotel
Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing