We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views! Friendly staff and great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #91 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic views! Friendly staff and great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

This hotel was a real surprise, got a last minute cheap deal and didnt expect much. We arrived late on a thursday night and the staff on reception were really friendly. We had a drink in the bar which is really modern yet relaxed. The room was basic but lovely and clean and the bed was very comfy. In the morning we went for breakfast and could not believe the view from our table! It is absolutely breathtaking, even in winter! The free leisure facilites, which are included were great too. We had a nice swim in the pool and relaxed in the sauna. Would recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — view from breakfast table!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Seileso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    63
    63
    53
    57
See reviews for
80
120
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

My wife and I took our granddaughter for a short break to Newquay and stayed at the Glendorgal Hotel. Generally we had a very enjoyable stay. The hotels best point is it's close location to Porth and Lusty Glaze beaches with terrific views from the dinning room across the headland. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the room clean and well appointed for a 3* hotel. Breakfast and restaurant meals were good and well presented.

The hotel had an extensive fitness center which included a nice indoor pool. It was however disappointing that our granddaughter could only use the pool between 2 and 4pm, the precise time she wanted to also be on the beach. Surely if a facility is provided, the hotel should not put such short usage times on it for it's guests.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Restricted access time to the indoor pool for children
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveMickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

This is a lovely quite hotel, great location for visiting Cornwalls sights. Right beside 2 beaches. Rooms lovely (my only complaint is that the tv's are a bit small) nice touches (shortbread, nice products in bathrooms) Breakfast good. Food in the restaurant is good too. Would stay here again. It is a chilled out place. Staff were nice too. Would also recommend the brasserie in the Headland hotel on Fistral beach.

  • Liked — location, chilled out
  • Disliked — small tv's
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KATZLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

I got a deal through Lastminute and whilst I enjoyed my stay, I can see why some people may think it's a rip-off - if I'd have paid any more I may have been disappointed too.

The hotel is fine - it's clean, the rooms are nice - the shower is hit and miss but not a problem, and you get good facilities and location for a decent price.

I had no problems with any members of staff but then again I dind't have cause to complain. I would go back although I'll be keen to try elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liverlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe, North Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2007

Samantha, Dominic and Izaak Hughes - North Devon

This is now the 3rd time I have stayed at the Glendorgal with our 3 year old son and it is my favourite hotel - the staff are out off this world, so friendly and will do anything for you. The food is stunning, breakfast and dinner and the Health Club is excellent. The location is breathtaking so too are Porth beach and Lusty Glaze beach which are minutes walk away.

My husband regularly rents the Bunker for business meetings which is also excellent.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

the Glendorgal charged us £70 per person per night when we found a room with them at the last minute-I notice from the other reviews that this in itself is more than most seem to pay. It was not worth the money (£300 in all for 2 nights).

The room was small with a stained carpet, rubbish tea facilities (not even a biscuit at £300!), terrible view of some slating, uncomfortable bed and a shower that ranged from freezing to boiling with every use. The hotel claims to be luxury when it hardly rivals your basic economic hotel chain. The breakfast was very poor and was only served until 9.30am which hardly seemed to support the 'relax by the sea' ethos they boast on their website. When we complained we were told nothing could be done, yet we then heard the same member of staff offer the people complaining behind us an £80 refund.

A waste of money-do not expect Luxury, expect dishonest prices and bad customer service.

  • Liked — The pool (when it was available) was very nice.
  • Disliked — The incredibly bad value for money
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank emilyroseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Southampton, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2007

We had a 2 night stay in Newquay in cold, rainy February, but had a lovely time due to the fab hotel!! We booked our room through the late rooms website - for £70 per room per night including breakfast for 2, which was a great saving on the hotel rate!

The room was fantastic: great decor (which was so well themed) & very spacious. Fab power shower in the bathroom and loved the Molten Brown products!! A lovely touch was the homemade cookies for us to tuck into on arrival to our room! Our only problem was that the carpet really hurts your feet (although it's perfect for the theme), so take some thick socks or slippers with you!!

The restaurant was lovely, although we ate out both nights, and the gym & pool facilities were great too!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were very polite & we cannot understand how it is only rated at 3*

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kerry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Property: Glendorgal Hotel
Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing