We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stuck in a rut !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #91 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Wales
1 review
“Stuck in a rut !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here recently, having been blown away by the place on my last stay some 6-7 years ago. Unfortunately, this time round the food was poor - tasteless evening meal, the decor is old and tired with stained carpets, dirty marks on the wall throughout and just in need of a refurb from top to bottom
the location is truly stunning - don't expect to get served very quickly in the bar as the owner insists on sitting on his backside drinking with his cronies, whilst the 1 waiter/waitress runs around like a poor lunatic . Pretty poor form and does show why the place is experiencing similar reviews if the owner chooses to run the place in this way - A great shame!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    63
    63
    53
    57
See reviews for
80
120
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This could be a great hotel!
But its current state really lets it down. From a distance all looks ok. However look closer and the hotel is tired. It so needs a deep clean and not just in the bedrooms...
Very over priced £109.00 for a family room.
Breakfast was ok, nothing special.
Amazing views

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetaylorfailiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Glendorgal Hotel is one of those hotels that in the right hands could easily be one of the landmark hotels of Newquay. The location is excellent, in fact excellent doesn't describe it, its magnificent, the hotel facilities are very good and the staff are, in a word, awesome, nothing is a problem and they will look after your every need, giving you excellent advice on days out, amending items on the menu to suit your needs and ensuring that you feel totally relaxed and at ease at all times, which is what a hotel is all about.

The food in the restaurant is amazing, although there could be more to offer for breakfast, but dinner you are tempted with daily specials and there is always fresh fish on offer and an emphasis on local produce. The fitness facilities are very good with a gym, a lovely swimming pool and a sauna.

The problem is I do not believe it is in the right hands, the hotel is in need of several licks of paint, the carpets are stained, the curtains are torn, the lights are out, the ceilings are marked, the car park is in pieces, no attention to the little details, and unfortunately you cant help but notice these things and it really is a shame, its like the owners/managers have fallen out of love with it. Would I recommend staying here, yes without a doubt, but it depends on how much you have been quoted and what your expectations are, there are going to be a lot of mixed reviews of this hotel, what it needs is someone to come along and take the proverbial bull by the horns and spend the money that is needed to put it right, once done this hotel really could stand head and shoulders above the likes of the headland and the Atlantic, its got the right location, the right staff, and the wonderful food and facilities to boot.

Thank you for making our stay special, we really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robi983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The views are amazing however this does not make up for the high prices charged. I stayed here when it was first refurbished several years ago and it has really gone down hill. Dirty carpets, bedroom doors that won't open, chipped paint etc etc. It feels like the owners have fallen out of love or have simply got bored with the place. Out of season I wouldn't look to pay more than £50 a night room only. I won't be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylBl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Room 2 had a stunning outlook, until one looked a little closer at the room itself; light bulbs out, scuff marks on the walls, occasional table with a big chip out the Formica top,stains on the carpet, and a bathroom basin that held all of 1 cup of water!!! Staff are brilliant, a pity the owners don't support them by ensuring everything I'd spot on.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikel0ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My family of 4 and my parents travelled from Chester to this quite expensive hotel we found on the internet. Wow, what a fab location. This place really should - and could be the jewel in the Newquay crown, but we were sadly disappointed. Breakfast is quoted as £10 per head if pre booking, going up to £12 if we left the decision to when we arrived. This on top of a premium rate for the room we found strange. We also found it strange that reception insisted on being paid in full on our arrival. Anyway we did, looking forward to a nice relax in the advertised Spa, hot tub and pool etc (the advert offering us the opportunity to book exclusive beauty treatments should we wish). We were given room 17 and my parents room 2.
Our family room appeared at first not bad, carpet was stained but room quite spacious. When unpacking our clothes the chest of drawers had an awful smell of sour milk meaning we couldn't put our clothes away unless we wanted to stink!! The same was found with all the other drawers in the room too. There was confetti behind the bathroom door and an empty drinks bottle behind the bin from previous guests....not to mention a mouldy bathroom ceiling and difficulty locking and unlocking the patio doors.
My parents room was a sea view with a balcony costing them a hefty price for room only. They didn't mind if the room was perfect. However this was not the case. The balcony could barely fit one chair, the balcony door wouldn't lock, the sea view was hampered badly by a flat roof with air con units sat on top. The hairdryer was attached to the inside of the bedside table - nowhere near the mirror. There were tea stains up the wall from previous guests throwing teabags into the bin and... wait for it... smelly drawers!!!!! My Mum requested via reception a manager come and see her room and look at the patio doors and other things. The catering manager came to the room with the attitude she was nothing to do with the rooms as she was the catering manager and gave the impression she couldn't be bothered. However when we went out for an evening meal the patio door had been mended...or so we thought. The doors on our return were locked but now impossible to open!!!
As we got to know our way around the hotel we found little evidence of other guests, the restaurant we didn't see a soul in there. The 'exclusive Spa' turned out to be a pool with some small gym rooms, its reception was never staffed and appeared to be a storage area for boxes and an oversized connect four game! The hot tub was broken we were told.
My UHT milk on all three mornings was out of date, pouring what looked like a white slug into my cup. The receptionist apologised and said the stock probably hadn't been rotated but would get it sorted... Sadly though she did not and every milk sent to replace the old stuff was also out of date. The third time I was quite angry but got no response from reception except for a feeble apology. The last night we were having a drink in the bar and the owner was there, drunk and swearing like a trooper. Nice while my 2 daughters were sat there. Even the girl behind the bar commented on it to him when he asked her what she thought about him!! When paying our bill we highlighted all the problems. The receptionist said there was nothing she could do and we should write in to the manager as the owners don't come to the premises often. Funny though because as we drove away moments later the owner was there speaking to a delivery driver. What awful customer service, even a decent apology would have been nice.
Do not waste your hard earned money on this place. It is nothing more than a hostel but charging top hotel rates. Certainly if you do find yourself there DO NOT pay them up front under any circumstances. I honestly thought the staff had all been told the hotel was closing down at the weekend and they would all be out of work such was the atmosphere in the place!!
Oh and we are still waiting for someone to contact us about our complaint.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cajmor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The service from the Bar & Restaurant staff was excellent. They made us feel at home. The chefs, Zachary and Max, great food gentlemen! The ribs and the BBQ sauce were to die for. You guys provided a 1st class service. Thank you Kate and Mathius, you guys were great. We would certainly recommend the Glendorgal Hotel, for your excellent service.

From Milton-Keynes Family

Room Tip: Book early to get a room you want. Don't go for the rooms facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.2 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Property: Glendorgal Hotel
Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing