We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrified whilst staying here.......”
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #83 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We loved the setting - but the owner!! whilst staying there we witnessed his verbal attack on a gentleman who was staying in one of the apartments - he swore continually and had to be asked by other guests to respect the fact that children were present - he was totally out of order and this seems to be a common theme here - shame that this hotel which could be fabulous is run by a husband and wife team that must have learnt their hotelier skills from Basil Fawlty!!

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank surferLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2008

We booked the Glendorgal for our wedding 25th July 08, we also stayed at the hotel and so did some of our guests. The day couldn't have gone any better. Staff are incredibly friendly, polite and helpful. Brock, the wedding/events coordinator in particular was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, he went out of his way and worked a 12 hour shift to make the day run as smoothly as possible. Any queries we had were delt with imediatly and with a smile. Brock was just as helpful on the run up to the wedding, and was very efficient in replying to any question I had.

The food was out of the world, the service from the bar and resturant staff was impeccable.

Our stay at the hotel was also wonderful. The rooms were very clean and well equipped. With balconys with breathtaking views.

Its needless to say I love the Glendorgal, so this amazing venue and wonderful staff made my wedding day so incredibly magical!

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank Newlywed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

i offen vist newquay on buisness but this is the 3rd time ive stayed at the glendorgal. It has allways been a last resort to stay in the past but after been this time round im very impressed in the improvements of every aspect of the hotel. ie, the makeover of the gym the friendlyness of the staff and the clenliness. i never normally choose to eat there but the menu is more local and good value and was very nice. the service was very professional and my waitress (Kate) was very friendly and well informative on the menu.
The rooms are of very high standard of clenlinesss but needs some tlc and attention to detail. If these standards stay consistant it will no longer be a last resort.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank boyce_dartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

well our stay here was overall great. The let down was our final night on the holiday. The drunken behavior of the party at the bar was a real put off. About 12 grown adullts shoutin down the microphone and the language was awful, but wait this is not worst of it, it turns out the gang at the bar was the owners of the resort and the on site painters.(apparently was the owners birthday) Well if your an owner of a hotel shouldnt you reserve yourself? set an example to the staff? Its areal shame because the staff work really hard to keep a high standard of service, food and clenliness. Its not offen i visit a hotel and leave thinking the owners let the place down. its not a suprise that kids a growing up to be what they are these days with parents like this gang of drunken animals. All i can say is why not close the restaurant while they have a party???????? dont come here if offended by yobs, yet its a great hotel and the staff make it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daisy096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Having returned from our family holiday in newquay just hours ago i just couldnt wait to share how much we enjoyed it at the glendorgal resort. In check in the girl was very friendly and welcoming.
After relaxing in our apatment for a while (which there is nothing negative to say about) we headed down to the Watermark Brasserie which is located next to the reception. The waitresses was very polite and looked very smart. There was a good atmosphere in the restaurant as it was quite busy, but the staff looked in conrol. The menu sounds devine with a set a la carte and a selection of daily specials. i had the signature fish and chips which was the best i ever had. my partner had the lamb which was presented very nice. the boys had the kids fish and chips which to be honest was not that much smaller than mine. The dessert just put the icing on the cake. my partner and i had the sharing citrus platter which is presented with skill and simplicity. And although we had to wait 20 mins for it as fiona (our waitress) did mention because of the orange souffle it was deffinately worth the wait.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kitty08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

After much excitment and looking forward to a relaxing weekend we were a little disappointed. Although the rooms were a cool beach style, which we loved and were very comfortable the bathroom could have done with a good clean! Being in a ground floor room meant that we heard every noise from the guests above, including the kids and the dogs!!! The hotel itself is looking a little tired in places, the stairwell especially and the hotel sign!

The health spa was lovely from a distance, but up close it hadn't been cleaned for a while, with a residue around the spa and the pool. The gym is very well equipped, but has been moved from the location shown on the website. You now have no view at all.

The restaurant however was very good, the food was excellently prepared and worth every penny.

The setting of the hotel is amazing and the hotel has great potential if only it was looked after and attention paid to keeping the building presentable.

Building works were being carried out on the self catering appartments, but this did not disrupt out stay.

An ok stay, but request an upper floor room for a good nights sleep!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

booked via airmiles, so got cheap deal,
i booked here because of the quiet spot and character hotel, and
having read previous reviews i knew of some of the issues affecting this hotel but i hoped thay my stay would be good.
this hotel is situated on its own lovely private headland above porth beach only 15 mins easy walk to the town, very quiet here and glorious views.and very quiet! (for now....but read on)

i upgraded to a seaview twin, nice room very seaside feel and good views from a juliett type balcony (you cant sit out on it)
no tissues in room (small gripe but this is not a cheap hotel)

room has no windows (only french doors) and was very warm, so i like to have fresh air and hear the sea BUT there are noisy smelly kitchen fans above these best rooms and also directly infront of my room is a fridge or aircon type compressor unit
(very noisy and unsightly)
this noise, smell and vibration ruins the peace and tranquillity of the hotel and location and seriously affected my stay which was a shame,
my room filled with cooking smells and if i left the doors open the fan noise was awful.
the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful (everywhere) and offered to move me to a non sea view room but i stayed put and they refunded my upgrade fee without asking (thanks)
if the hotel can do something about this i would return for sure,
other guests have mentioned it so to move these fans should be seriously considered as a priority.

the only other constructive point is the breakfast....
first morning was pretty cheap and poor,
cheap choices of items, (except the preserves were ok)
no sign of much local local produce or home cooked anything,

first day i had the most disgusting cooked breakfast i have had for years...but the 2nd and 3rd mornings i got them cooking things how i liked (ie how to fry a decent egg lol!!!) and it was much better, (sort of)
initially the frozen sausages cooked in a deepfat fryer were VILE...please source a local butcher for a good one, grill them, and get decent local quality products and maybe bake your own bread too,
(mothers pride cut loaves are naff)
they have a good chef here in the evenings so the breakfast is a big let down.
the breakfast really needs to be upgraded, the rooms rates here are not cheap and if i was paying full rate here then i would be kicking off big time over the below average breakfast...
also skynews tv playing at breakfast is naff too.
the hotel maybe should decide if they are catering to the business suits or the holidaymaker, you can do both but be discreet and considerate,
well equipped gym and indoor pool. (but the pool was not warm enough as there was a fault during my stay)
i did like the hotel overall very much, the location is superb and it just needs some ideas to be considered to make this one of newquay's best hotels...
easily done here, improve the breakfast and move the fans and compressor asap

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rog747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £55 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing