We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent scenic location”
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #85 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent scenic location”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with family friends. Location was excellent. Extremely relaxing scenic setting. A short walk 2 mins to beach next door. Or you could enjoy the short steps down to the beach below the hotel. Very picturesque and lots of space for kids to keep entertained. Staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Rooms were clean and spacious. Adequate for us as we travelled during day to lands end etc. Would definately stay again. Very soon, hopefully.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kullyb126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    67
    64
    53
    60
See reviews for
82
129
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
banbury
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As a couple we have just returned from a weekend at the Glendorgal. It is a very nice place to stay with very friendly staff. The bedrooms are nice and clean and very spacious. Breakfast was as expected with everything you wanted. There is a great view over the bay from the restaurant. Would I stay again then yes I would as there isn't anything to fault.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheneyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Before staying at this hotel I perused many different websites and reviews in order to generate an image of what to expect and having now stayed at this hotel I am shocked at the number of bad reviews that this hotel has received.

Personally most of my few negative impressions of the hotel were caused by other travelers and not the staff or the hotel itself. There were a few times when myself and my partner witnessed others complaining about the most pedantic things and some even gave us the impression that they had arrived at the hotel with the intent of complaining before they had even experienced it. The reason for this being that (after we overheard certain travelers making a complaint about the check in time) their children suddenly began to run amok throughout the hotel which we therefore assumed was to make a point to the hotel staff. Throughout the morning and evening these children also ran down the corridors with one of them actually knocking on our room door. When we complained the staff couldn't be more apologetic and thanked us for actually informing them instead of sitting quiet and letting it tarnish our experience. I can only presume that they dealt with this matter because they didn't bother us again so my advice would be to actually inform the staff if you have a complaint as they were more than happy to help us.

Focusing now on our personal experience: myself and my partner were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived at this hotel to the minute we left. We stayed for three nights in a sea view room that was nothing short of good quality. Overall the room was spacious, tidy and inviting, the bed was comfortable, the en-suite was clean, and the view was beautiful. The rooms were cleaned everyday and our towels, bins etc. were changed also.

On our last night we dined in the hotel's restaurant (which also has a beautiful view) and were very impressed with the quality of our meal and the value for money of both food and drinks. My only criticism here is that we felt that the bar worker was very nervous and may have been new to the job so was rather slow, however the server offered a very good level of service.

The hotel is away from any main roads or busy nightlife and is flanked by two beautiful beaches and as a result we had three peaceful and undisturbed nights sleep (minus the morning with the children). With that being said it is also only a stone's throw from Newquay town center so if (like us) you like having a wander and some lively nightlife then it is only a 5-10 minute walk away.

Overall I think this is a lovely hotel in a perfect location for both couples and families who seek a comfortable and relaxing place to stay with all the excitement of Newquay on their doorstep!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just got back after a second visit to the Glendorgal Hotel (last stayed 4 years ago) and I have to say we were very disappointed. The hotel is overpriced. Our room had dirty windows, when you opened them, black bits would fall onto the bed. Such a shame as there is a lovely view. The shower had no curtain or door so water would spray across the bathroom floor. The extractor fan in the bathroom made a ridiculous noise, so much so that we could hear the room next door. Air conditioning, well not much point putting it on, the room never cooled down. The furniture is very dated. The corridors past the rooms were always full of clutter. Dirty nappies, wrappers, cots and children running around and banging doors. We didn't have much to do with the staff, we did have to request for more toilet roll, which was delivered. Do not expect to check in any earlier than 2pm. I have noticed that other reviews have similar thoughts regarding the Glendorgal hotel. Overall, the location of the Glendorgal Hotel is great, its a shame standards have dropped.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We take all feedback on board to help us to go forward.

As a hotel we ask that guest’s bear in mind sometimes different families can make noise at different times in the day and are disrespectful to others. I apologise that they disturbed you.

I greatly appreciate your feedback relating to our guest rooms, however I can assure you that we do have an ongoing maintenance programme which covers all of our guest rooms. As far as your problem with the lack of shower curtain in your room, we can honestly say that is the first for us. Our showers are large walk-in showers with a tiled floor inside and out. No one ever has ever commented on this being a problem before. Please accept my apologies that your room was no in perfect condition on your arrival
The Glendorgal Hotel is competitively priced with other hotels of the same standard in the town, however we are pleased to be able to offer ‘deals’ and I hope that you are able to take advantage of one of them and stay with us again in the future.

I am disappointed that we did not have the oppourtunity to recitfy this at the time for you but thank you for bringing this to our attention,

If you would like to discuss any of these points further please do not hesitate to contact me and please accept my sincere apologies that you did not experience the normally high standards we pride ourselves on during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is an absolute joke... I still have one day left here.. As we turned up to this hotel we got here abit before check in which was at 2 o'clock, we asked the receptionist if we could check in early she replied with 2 o'clock I'm afraid! With no options to go relax in the pool or wait in the arrival area so we left because we felt unwanted. Also when we did get to the room it stunk like a run down pub toilet.. Half the lights ain't working, unfortunately there was pubic hair on our bed which is vile the window in this room needs a good clean you can hardly see out of it!!!! When you open it all you can see is roof and bird crap... we went for something to eat on our 1st night the Kay out is like a box standard cafe with the menu quite short of choice but prices like your eating in a 5 star restaurant... We got a pint which was filled up third of the way with froth and a single vodka red bull which cost 9.10 where the hel they
Got these prices from... As she came over to ask what we wanted we had to make an excuse so we didn't have to eat in there as we changed our mind but that was easy we just said we don't like fish which was 90% of the menu which costs a bomb. I really can't wait to leave. Go abroad all inclusive for the prices you will pay to eat and stay here.. To sum it up this hotel is carried by it's location. If the scenery around the hotel wasn't so beautiful this hotel wouldn't do so well. A wasted plot for what could be a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayleigh0895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
In reply to this unfair review, we can only say that the room you stayed has beautiful sea views on the cliff edge. During a storm our windows do get salt sea air and rain hitting them. We do clean them frequently, however, not after every down pour. We checked on the window when it wasn't raining and it was remarkably clean. As for our prices, obviously the venue is beyond your financial possibilities, therefore, maybe an all inclusive in Magaluf would be better suited to your pocket. As far as your other complaints, our receptionist are always approachable to speak to and would act on any problems you may have during your stay. Our 2 o clock check in is in place, like any other hotel, because as a busy hotel, we have many check in's and out's everyday. this means rooms have to be cleaned before check in. this takes time. it is stated and for everybody to read. The bar and lounge's are available, to everyone as you would have been informed of, if you asked the questions. Our conclusion is that all of your queries have not been mentioned to any member of staff during your stay. You stayed in a pleasant room with sea views, where as, you did not pay for a sea view room. No mention of that though. Instead of speaking to us about your problems you just go straight to trip advisor. Also what is a "Kay out" ? Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just wanted to thank Hilde and all the staff at the Glendorgal for helping to make our daughter Lucy's wedding to Dave on Thursday 7 August the perfect day. When Hilde took over the event management everything slotted into place and she responded promptly and helpfully to all queries. On the day all the staff were really helpful and friendly - there were a lot of guests and they managed very well. We had a lot of children at the wedding sat at a table on their own - I was really impressed that the waiting staff took time out to make sure that they were OK.
The rooms were all comfortable and well presented - there were lots of requests for early check-ins and the staff accommodated these extremely helpfully. The setting was perfect and so many of the guests commented on what a lovely day they had that I lost count.
Having read some of the negative reports here I can't believe that they are talking about the same hotel - our experience was so different - and this is not a review written by hotel management as has been alluded to in other reviews!
I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent event and stay at the Glendorgal Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us Thank you once again for your valuable time and comments which help us to constantly review our services and to better adjust them to our guest needs. We hope to welcome you again in the future....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went here last weekend, 2 small cokes, 1 pint lemonade and a bottle of Peroni £10.30! I said we had been overcharged but hadn't, all soft drinks were flat. To the owner you should be ashamed of yourself no wonder your number 92 out of 109, doubt it will be long before you get the 109 spot. Loved the bed bugs picture by the way!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlokeinCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendorgal-Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Glendorgal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello, very sorry to hear that you were unhappy about our drinks prices. They are standard Hotel prices with a fantastic location. As far as the soft drinks being flat, I am sure if it was mentioned to our bar staff, they would have taken action. as far as the bedbugs please note that the picture was not taken in a property belonging to the Glendorgal Hotel., but as the customer stayed within a privately owned & let property within the complex and has therefore nothing whatsoever to do with the Glendorgal Hotel. As a Hotel, we will offer you the same drinks again free of charge. I think most people would find that reasonable. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#27 of 37 in Newquay
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Property: Glendorgal Hotel
Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing