We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and restaurant great rooms not so great”
Review of Glendorgal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendorgal Hotel
Ranked #85 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Hotel is set on its own headland close to Lusty Glaze Beach with stunning views across the bays. Whilst the setting is fantastic the quality of accommodation was not so great. The rooms are small and described as rustic which in itself is not an issue but the room I stayed in was not up to a standard I would deem acceptable for £115 pr night. The walls were badly skuffed and the carpet filthy and bed was not of particulary good quality.
The firnishings were very cheap and bathroom not partcularly inspiring. There was a background smell of vomit which I suspect was imbedded in the stained carpet . I can live with sparce furtnishings and probably put up with shabby wall decorations but there really is no excuse for the state of the carpet. On a positive side, the staff were friendly and welcoming and very attentive in the restaurant where the food which mainly serves fish was exceptional. The restuaruant is located in a conservatory which has been extended from the main building and has stunning views of the coastline. The restaurant and location are the key selling points of this hotel and I would certainly return if it was not for the poor quality of accommodation. This property has the potential to shine if only the owners were to invest a little in the accommodation quality.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnyboy1000_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

Glendorgal lies in the perfect location, close enough to newquay for a visit on that inevitable rainy day yet far enough away from the hordes of teenage binge drinkers in the centre of town. The surrounding beaches are beautiful and within walking distance or a quick drive through the crazy cornish side roads.

The service was impeccable, all of the staff were only to pleased to help with any requests or questions. They went out of their way to ensure that we got the most out of our short stay.

The room was spacious and clean with attractive and modern decor. Although our room did not specify sea views, we could still see the sea (just) and had nice views of the surrounding area.

The pooland spa facilities were outstanding and came as a suprise. They were far better than you would expect of a 3* hotel of this size. The gym allowed for a complete work out and even had a specific room for weight training. All of these facilities were free of charge and almost completely empty most of the time.

We will certainly be returning and will recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Wow! Just WOW, and thank you to all at the Glendorgal. We couldn’t have asked for more from a reception venue. So patient, helpful and full of suggestions as we planned the event – but always relaxed and making sure it was going to be “our day”. Then on the day I think the best word to describe the team is simply “Professional”. The food was amazing, the service efficient, the flexibility as timings changed brilliant – even on the morning of the reception we had guests who’d stayed with you the night before complimenting us on the location and your restaurant! Are you getting the idea yet? In short, we’d recommend you!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrideNGr00m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed in room 19- Seagulls - and it was a lovely, airy, spacious room with great views!
The room had a comfy bed and a modern bathroom - very clean!
We chose this hotel mainly for the leisure facilities and we weren't disappointed. The gym had an excellent range of equipment, the pool was a decent size and the jacuzzi was fantastic. A pity the sauna and the steam room were broken.
The breakfast was delicious and filling.
All staff were friendly and helpful.

The only negatives we could think of are:
- in some places the carpet needed replacing
- cigarette ends left outside balcony door
- broken patio steps
-bar prices were VERY expensive (£8.50 for double vodka and red bull!!!!!)

However, we had a great time and would definitely make a return trip!

Many thanks to Jo on reception.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Everything about this hotel was first class. The room was modern, clean and large. The service was stellar. The food was delicious and the area with the beaches and rugged coast was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCrunchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I stay here regularly throughout the year abd I have to say that this is one of the most idyllic places I have ever stayed. The views over the small bay are stunning no matter what the weather. The food is also incredible. Great choice, no wonder Jamie wotsit has a restaurant nearby. The rooms are a lovely size with walk in showers. Service is excellent and its nice and quiet and peaceful. It has an indoor swimming pool and gym as well, good size conference room for functions.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobthemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at the hotel rather than going home for the night after celebrating the wife's birthday. The entire event was organized for us by the events manager and could not have been nicer or easier to deal with on the day. We had a party of almost 60 of us with a disco and buffet and the atmospher, the food and the staff could not have been more perfect. I will be coming back here again and again when I am in the area!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendorgal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendorgal Hotel

Address: Lusty Glaze Road, Newquay TR7 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £56 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendorgal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glendorgal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorgal Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing