We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in room 11 it was tiny, The sink was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom, giving you no work space to put anything. We had to leave our bags in the car as there was no floor space. The bottom of the wardrobe was a step !, so nothing could be put in there. The towels we showered with on the Friday we arrived, was the same towels we were using Sunday when we left. The Hotel itself was nice and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: dont book room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maiseynaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

We are sorry you were unhappy with your room. As the Whipsiderry was built in the early 1900 our bedrooms are of varying sizes, some smaller & other sea view rooms are much larger. We are disapointed that you did not mention this whilst staying with us, & therefore not giving us the oppotunity to move you to a different room.
We are more than happy to change towels daily if guests require, & this is stated in our bedroom information. We are pleased you enjoyed you breakfast during your 2 day stay.
We very much hope you may choose to return to the whipsiderry Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

Visit the Whipsiderry for a fantastic family run experience. The owners, Lisa and Andy, provide the warmest of service.
Hotel is ideally located to sample the area's beautiful beaches - close (but not too close) to Newquay.
Food is genuinely excellent. We had a great holiday and I definitely recommend this hotel to all visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philandgudrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Whipsiderry.

Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed at the Whipsiderry Hotel for two nights.

Lisa and Andy were really lovely. On the day of the Royal Wedding they had set up the lounge room with tea and cupcakes and the majority of the guests were sat together watching the event on the television. Lisa made us both a hot drink upon our arrival (which was lovely after our two hour drive!) and welcomed us into the lounge room to join in the excitement of watching the wedding. They had also laid-on a little lunch which gave a nice sense of occasion in the hotel.

The hotel is situated on a hill and is roughly 5-10 minutes walk down to the beach and is really close to the starting point for a lovely walk round Porth Island and Whipsiderry Beach.

We took the long route on-foot to Newquay town which was a 40 minute walk, but, you can cut across one of the beaches which is a much shorter walk. There is a pub at the bottom of the hill on the beach front called The Mermaid Inn where we had dinner and drinks both nights.

The hotel also runs a charming little bar which faces out to the great views of the hills and the beach and the serving staff were always friendly and chatty when we went into the restaurant for breakfast and also into the bar for drinks. Our favourite part of the breakfast was the fried bread, it was delicious!

One miniscule qualm would be that the room size was rather small and cramped for the room rate. The room was the smallest of the three BnBs/hotels we had stayed in during our trip and was the most expensive. But, as stated in previous reviews, the lounge space and bar area are delightful so you don’t really need to spend much time in your room!

We really liked visiting Newquay and enjoyed the kind and friendly hospitality of the hotel owners and the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe-and-Stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us at the Whipsiderry & particulary Enjoyed our Breakfast.

Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We chose the Whipsiderry for our wedding reception and are so pleased we did. From start to finish Lisa and Andy were freindly, helpful, relaxed and professional. Lisa and Andy were able to guide us through parts of the wedding reception we were not sure about and make both us and our guest feel at home. The Chef worked with us to create the perfect wedding menu, which was amazing tasty and looked superb, and the waiting and bar staff were wll organised, friendly and efficient.
Several of our family and guests stayed in the hotel with us both before and after the wedding day. Throughout the stay we were all well looked after and able to enjoy the great location of the hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.
Following the wedding we recived nothing but praise from our guest about The Whipsiderry, the food and the service.
If we had to plan it all over again we would not change a thing, it was the perfect venue.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

If you want to stay in a bright, airy and very affordable hotel (not in the centre of Newquay), then the Whipsiderry has it all. Located across the road from two of the west country's best beaches, offering fantastic views, food and service, you will not be disappointed. Lisa and Andy can't do enough for their customers. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurty_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

It is nice to stay in a hotel where the owners and staff are genuinely pleased to have you as a guest. Andy and Lisa are exceptional hosts and really make you feel at home. Location is excellent with glorious cliff top walks and stunning beaches on your doorstep. Restaurant very pleasant with food plentiful. I visited with my parents who are more used to staying in larger and may I say better known hotels in the area. They were delighted with their stay and we plan to return soon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manse203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Thanks Lisa and Andy for looking after us so well for the two nights we stayed in Whipsiderry. You were a mine of useful local info. Good food too. Close to the beach and great coastal walks. A bit noisy in the rooms - we had a snorer in the room next to ours - hence 3/5 on the sleep quality tab. I suspect (s)he would have woken the dead, so maybe we are being harsh??

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyIrishMan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £80 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing