We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time going back next year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time going back next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Our stay at the Whipsiderry Hotel was superb, made all the better by our hosts Andy and Lisa and the friendly staff. The facilities are well provided and the restaurant offers a wide range of excellent cuisine. The local Porth area is beautiful with some of the best beaches I have seen anywhere in the UK or abroad.

Would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday, with great company and good food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBritain039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us at the Whipsiderry.

Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    25
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
95
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Although there is nothing terribly wrong with the hotel, it is very hard to justify the price tag of £130 for two guests sharing a double room on a B&B basis, especially when there are so many excellent B&Bs in the area, offering better accommodation and far better food, for significantly less.

Our double room was very small, with virtually no space for storing luggage. The bathroom was cramped and the shower lacked sufficient water pressure. The breakfasts were adequate, but the sausages looked and tasted like very cheap supermarket fare.

On the plus side, the hotel did have a pleasant heated outdoor pool.

Overall, there are cheaper and better options in this area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RMJM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your 1 night B&B stay with us. Your comments have been noted.

Our Tariff is average for a 1 night Bed & Breakfast Stay at this time of year in Newquay. The tariff was infact £124.00. There are of course many B&B's less expensive & other Hotels More expensive than ourselves.

Of Course staying in a B&B you do not have the additional features that our Hotel Offers, such as a Restaurant, Bar, Entertainment & as you mentioned a pleasant heated Swimming pool. These facilities I am sure you appreicate are reflected in the overall cost.

We are also proud to have recently been awarded a Breakfast Award from VisitEngland.
Our Sausages as all our meat is supplied from our Local Butcher, it is extremely hard to cater for everyones taste. Our award, of which, there are only a few in the area, does prove a high standard of Breakfast & Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in room 11 it was tiny, The sink was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom, giving you no work space to put anything. We had to leave our bags in the car as there was no floor space. The bottom of the wardrobe was a step !, so nothing could be put in there. The towels we showered with on the Friday we arrived, was the same towels we were using Sunday when we left. The Hotel itself was nice and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: dont book room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maiseynaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
We are sorry you were unhappy with your room. As the Whipsiderry was built in the early 1900 our bedrooms are of varying sizes, some smaller & other sea view rooms are much larger. We are disapointed that you did not mention this whilst staying with us, & therefore not giving us the oppotunity to move you to a different room.
We are more than happy to change towels daily if guests require, & this is stated in our bedroom information. We are pleased you enjoyed you breakfast during your 2 day stay.
We very much hope you may choose to return to the whipsiderry Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Visit the Whipsiderry for a fantastic family run experience. The owners, Lisa and Andy, provide the warmest of service.
Hotel is ideally located to sample the area's beautiful beaches - close (but not too close) to Newquay.
Food is genuinely excellent. We had a great holiday and I definitely recommend this hotel to all visitors.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandgudrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Whipsiderry.

Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We stayed at the Whipsiderry Hotel for two nights.

Lisa and Andy were really lovely. On the day of the Royal Wedding they had set up the lounge room with tea and cupcakes and the majority of the guests were sat together watching the event on the television. Lisa made us both a hot drink upon our arrival (which was lovely after our two hour drive!) and welcomed us into the lounge room to join in the excitement of watching the wedding. They had also laid-on a little lunch which gave a nice sense of occasion in the hotel.

The hotel is situated on a hill and is roughly 5-10 minutes walk down to the beach and is really close to the starting point for a lovely walk round Porth Island and Whipsiderry Beach.

We took the long route on-foot to Newquay town which was a 40 minute walk, but, you can cut across one of the beaches which is a much shorter walk. There is a pub at the bottom of the hill on the beach front called The Mermaid Inn where we had dinner and drinks both nights.

The hotel also runs a charming little bar which faces out to the great views of the hills and the beach and the serving staff were always friendly and chatty when we went into the restaurant for breakfast and also into the bar for drinks. Our favourite part of the breakfast was the fried bread, it was delicious!

One miniscule qualm would be that the room size was rather small and cramped for the room rate. The room was the smallest of the three BnBs/hotels we had stayed in during our trip and was the most expensive. But, as stated in previous reviews, the lounge space and bar area are delightful so you don’t really need to spend much time in your room!

We really liked visiting Newquay and enjoyed the kind and friendly hospitality of the hotel owners and the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe-and-Stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us at the Whipsiderry & particulary Enjoyed our Breakfast.

Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We chose the Whipsiderry for our wedding reception and are so pleased we did. From start to finish Lisa and Andy were freindly, helpful, relaxed and professional. Lisa and Andy were able to guide us through parts of the wedding reception we were not sure about and make both us and our guest feel at home. The Chef worked with us to create the perfect wedding menu, which was amazing tasty and looked superb, and the waiting and bar staff were wll organised, friendly and efficient.
Several of our family and guests stayed in the hotel with us both before and after the wedding day. Throughout the stay we were all well looked after and able to enjoy the great location of the hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.
Following the wedding we recived nothing but praise from our guest about The Whipsiderry, the food and the service.
If we had to plan it all over again we would not change a thing, it was the perfect venue.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

If you want to stay in a bright, airy and very affordable hotel (not in the centre of Newquay), then the Whipsiderry has it all. Located across the road from two of the west country's best beaches, offering fantastic views, food and service, you will not be disappointed. Lisa and Andy can't do enough for their customers. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurty_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing