We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

From the moment we arrived and shown to our rooms,we knew it was going to be a wonderful stay, and we were not disappointed.We were made to feel welcome straight away with tea and biscuits after our long journey.
The rooms were comfortable with TV ,tea and coffee making facilities available.
Our room had a lovely sea view,overlooking the hotel gardens and porth beach.
The meals were excellent ,delivered hot to the table,with several choices,chef Rob catering for every need including extra sauces and gravy if wanted.
The desserts were mouthwatering delicious,all home cooked and generous portions !!
It had a well stocked bar of beer wines and spirits of which we sampled before dining,whilst chatting to other guests many of whom had been before.
The hotel is on a hill with good all round views. An excellent hourly bus service was available to the local area and beyond.
Lisa and Andy are the perfect hosts who went out of their way to make it a wonderful stay
and we shall certainly be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thanks you for your kind review, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you next year.
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Whipsiderry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

This was our first visit to the Whipsiderry Hotel but it won't be the last. If you are looking for a warm and friendly welcome then look no further!! We took our grandson Ethan away for his birthday and he is still talking about Lisa and Andy who run the hotel. Absolutely brilliant. The hotel is situated overlooking Porth beach and is set in beautifully tended gardens. Our room was comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, freeview tv & wifi. The breakfasts were really good and they catered for our very fussy grandson, who amazingly ate loads there!!! We didn't take advantage of the evening restaurant facilities but the other patrons raved about the food and service and we will certainly be eating there on our next visit. It was very enjoyable to spend an hour or so in the bar at the end of the day and watch the wildlife in the garden ( a must see)!! Thanks so much Lisa and Andy for a very happy and memorable weekend. Barry Tina and Ethan.
PS. Andy - Ethan says you need to improve your DS skills lol

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Barry & Tina
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Whipsiderry.
We very much appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend with group of friends. A clean and tidy hotel with excellent lounge and bar areas overlooking Porth beach and the bay.

My double ensuite room, whilst smallish was warm and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food.

The owner and her staff were welcoming, polite and always helpful. All in all a pleasant place to stay that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monument
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you very much for supplying a review to Tripadvisor.
Lisa & Andy Burbidge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A most welcome cup of tea on arrival at this friendly family run hotel which we have visited off and on over the last 40 years. It is now run by Lisa and her husband Andy, following on from the excellent standards originally achieved by Lisa's parents, Ann and Dick. The resident chef produces really exceptional food with good variety and choice, and the helpings are generous both at dinner and breakfast. Bedrooms are very clean, comfortable and freshly decorated. The sea views are wonderful as the hotel sits high above Porth beach. Lisa and Andy are always on hand and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is so pleasant to finish the day in the bar socialising with them and other guests and there is a bonus - each evening badgers come close to the windows to feed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Geoff & Clare,
Thank you very much for your kind review, it was lovely to see you both again.
We very much appreciate your comments. Many Thnaks
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our first time at the Whipsiderry Hotel and what a wonderful stay. We always look for the personal touch avoiding the big hotel chains and found the owners Andy and Lisa to be warm, friendly and extremely welcoming which was exactly what we were looking for. This lovely hotel is situated within a stones throw of some of the most beautiful scenery that the west country has to offer and the local beaches are absolutely fantastic. Please check out the photos. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean with good sized rooms. The staff are all polite, friendly and helpful and the homecooked food was simply delicious ! We met a couple of other families who return to this hotel year after year which is not surprising as we will definitely be going back ourselves. I wouldn't normally write a review but we had such a lovely time that I felt I should. The children are already asking when are we going back, many thanks to Andy and Lisa for a wonderful stay, we'll be back...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate it,
Hope to see you all again in the future.
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I have nothing but praise for the owners and staff of this hotel, who did us proud on our very special day. Our family and friends had a wonderful time, and all agreed the food was exceptional, and the accomodation and setting could not have been better. The staff were friendly, and couldn't do enough to help. We highly recommended this hotel.
Thanks again,
Ken & Joyce Miners

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Ken & Joyce
Thank you for your review & choosing the Whipsiderry to celebrate your special Occasion. Congratulations to you both for 60 years of marriage.
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

it was a last minute booking towards the end of september and we booked on line which is something that i dont usually do, i think its because i like to speak and deal with humans but it all went through quite smoothly, that could be because i did phone just to check the booking (better be safe than sorry)
we stayed in a sea view room which had great views despite the weather but cant blame hotel for weather just the bbc forecast
evening dinner was great full of flavour and choice , couldnt believe the six coarses which i felt i just had to give a go at devouring. still full after dinner breakfast was again no disappointment full of choice . the room was adequate with plenty of space and looked clean and looked to be well kept up to date with modern tv and a good shower just a shame their was only enough room in the shower for one person! well it was our anniversary
all in all a great hotel with staff being friendly and attentive and a great sense of that home from home feeling. the down side of our short stay was that the swimming pool was all closed up which we can sort of understand as it was late september but would have been prefered to have been told when we booked.

Room Tip: sea view room great views desipte the rain
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumyumDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Manager at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay & particulary our evening dinner, breakfast & the sea views. Unfortunately we do close our outside swimming pool towards the end of the season, this is always governed by the weather, as the air temperature drops we can not maintain a good water temperature to swim, the Pool in the summer runs around 80 degrees & the pool area is a lovely sun trap.
We do have rooms with showers that will fit two please do request this next time you book.
Hope to see you again
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,381 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £108 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing