We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A*”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My boyfriend and I (both 23) had the most fantastic time at Whipsiderry hotel over the August Bank Holiday. It literally could not have been any better!

From arrival to departure (and even the booking) it was a* service. Friendly and helpful owners/staff, super breakfast, great facilities, clean/comfortable room, lots of parking ect ect.

The atmosphere was great, the people were great, the food was great, great location. I would recommend Whipsiderry to anyone as we saw that Lisa and Andy were more than happy to cater for everyone (children, elderly, fussy eaters ect).

We stayed for two nights and it was truely perfect. Could not find a thing to complain about!

Thank you to everyone at Whipsiderry for such a fantastic weekend, see you again soon no doubt.

Harriet and Nic

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Harriet & Nic
Thank you for your review, Glad you enjoyed your break with us.
Hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Positives:
1. We were very warmly welcomed by staff (Andy and Lisa were out but the chef and another man greeting us were absolutely lovely)
2. The six-course dinner was excellent in every way - we loved the food, wine, service, table setting etc and it was incredibly good value
3. The bar and restaurant are wonderful
4. Lisa's parents used to run the hotel and live nearby, helping out when needed. We came back to the hotel one evening at about 10.30pm and went to check on my husband, who was resting in the room having felt unwell during the afternoon. He is diabetic and really needed some food. Lisa's Mum immediately offered to do him some freshly made sandwiches and salad, with fresh fruit salad and ice-cream. It appeared beautifully presented on a tray and I was almost in tears at this wonderful gesture of kindness and hospitality. I couldn't thank her enough! Then we had difficulty booking a taxi for our son and his girlfriend and she just went to get her car keys and very very kindly took them home herself!
5. We loved seeing the badgers!
6. The outdoor areas and heated pool looked great and the views are excellent.

Negatives:
1. We were only a little disappointed that we'd booked a sea view room and the confirmation email stated garden and beach view, which was accurate but we would have loved to see the crashing waves! Our room was also quite small and could perhaps benefit from updating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you so much for you review.
My Mum is a wonderful lady, alway prepaired to go out of her way to assist, so Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just back from a great week at the Whipsiderry.-and I must thank Lisa and Andy for providing the 5 of us,comprising 3 generations,with such a fantastic place to stay.The rooms were immaculate with glorious sea views,the food superb, and ,above all, the quality of the hospitality was second to none.All the staff (and the children !) did a great job of making us feel welcome and accommodating our sometimes demanding requirements !!
I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit this lovely part of the country-I certainly hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: Any with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEWARTABSMEED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your holiday at the Whipsiderry.
We really appricate you kind words. We try to ensure guests of all ages and generation enjoy their stay, Hope to see you all again Lisa & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Very pleasant stay, Hotel very comfortable and homely, Staff friendly, and nothing too much trouble, Breakfast was fantastic, as was all the food, stayed for an evening meal twice during our stay of 10 days, and it couldn't be faulted. Would highly recommend this Hotel, the very quiet Whipsiderry beach close by was stunning, and the surfing first class. Very near to everything we wanted to do. The Hotel pool was warm, and we had fabulous weather.

Room Tip: Ask Lisa the Hotel owner, it would probably depend on your needs. But room 4 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you Helen for taking the trouble to write a review.
Glad you enjoyed the Breakfasts during your 10 night stay, we are pleased to have an English Tourism Award to Our Breakfast, so we always ensure the standard & quality is high.
We hope to see you again. Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Without wanting to stoop to the level of the recent review I wish to respond only by saying that as a "couple in your 40's" I feel you should be old enough not to discriminate someones business so publicly. You are - of course - entitled to your opinion, however "as a small business owner" yourself I am totally gobsmacked that you feel need to be so rude and hurtful. We do not come back year after year without good reason and we certainly dont come to judge other guests and their "type". Having visited many more times we can make far better judgement on improvements that have been made and the service we have received. That is all I will say.

For the countless time, we have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Whipsiderry Hotel where each time we have a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing stay. As a couple in our late 20's we came across the hotel several years ago (2000) and each year feel the need to come back. The place offers something different to most hotels and this is why we come back.

Lisa and Andy are the perfect hosts - without question. They are the most accommodating, friendly warm people you will ever have as your hosts and there is always the personal touch which lacks in so many other places. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they are always on hand to offer where to go or what to do.

The food - Rob is an amazing chef who has been there a very long time and each year there is something different. It is remarkably good food and we can never choose! Also I now have a dairy allergy so this year I was a bit anxious about what I would be able to eat considering many places cannot deal with such requests - but this was not seen as a problem and each night for each course I had an option. Love all the fresh fish - so much thought goes into the dishes. Breakfast is always fresh and you can have whatever combination you like. Love the fact it is not a buffet where food gets cold - always served when you are ready. You cant have smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast in most places!

We have spent many nights in the bar with Andy and Lisa chatting and having a laugh with the other guests. They have badgers visit the hotel garden most nights which is a lovely sight to see.

The beaches near the hotel are some of the finest in Cornwall. The Whipsiderry beach is raw and amazing - unspoilt and different. We have had the pleasure of watching a few sunsets and these have been amazing. The walk over to Porth Island is a lovely one where the view is breathtaking and the little bridge and blow hole make for unique sights. Lusty Glaze is another favourite and to watch the surfing at Fistral or Watergate is good fun.

The swimming pool offers a lovely little sun spot and is like a bath on warm days. A lovely view over Porth beach whilst sunbathing.

The price is justified with the quality of the food and service. We will keep going back and hopefully people will not only take one view on board.

Thanks for great times guys!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leeb395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for your Honest review - & putting your point over.
Clearly you can not please some people any of the time!

Glad you enjoyed your return stay with us again, lookforward to seeing you hopefully next Year.
Lisa & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in July having previously visited Friends staying at the hotel on a previous trip to Cornwall, whilst we had the miss fortune of staying at a hotel down the road.

The trip was lovely Andy and Lisa couldn't be friendliert or more helpful always happy to suggest things to do or places to go in the local area!

The weather was hit and miss whilst we were there, but with the patio arround the swimming pool being a sun trap i still managed to get a bit of sunburn!!!

It is brilliant to be able to stay at an indipendant hotel now which has some character, i have stayed at some fantastic hotels world wide and however lovely they are there is always a generic cookie cutter feel to them.

The food here is fantastic and from breakfast where there is menu service and you can ask to have your eggs cooked how you want through to the elabrorate 6 course dinner there is something for everyone. Yes dinner is 7-8pm however what we have found is that is designed for you to be seated in the 7 to 7:30 window and that you can eat at the pace you like and spend time enjoying your company. Also althought this is alot earlier than we would usually eat it allowed us to fit in some fabulous after dinner coastal walks to enjoy the sun set from the headland.

I found the overall cleanliness of the hotel to be spot on and the rooms had everything we would need.

To top it all off we got engaged whilst on our trip which made3 it a real celebration and the family atmosphere of the hotel meant that all of the guests were congratulating us that evening.

A really super time was had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review.
Hope to see you again in the futre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had such a amazing holiday last week at the Whipsiderry hotel & this was mainly down to the outstanding service & hospitality of the owners, Andy & Lisa. They went out of their way to make us feel at home & they did everything to accommodate our 18 mth toddler from arranging an early breakfast (as he was up at 6:30am!) to giving us tips & advice such as taking the park & ride at St. Ives as parking is usually a nightmare! The hotel was spotless, room was a very good size & the food was brilliant - we literally couldn't move after the 6 course meal in the evenings. We also had some really nice evenings in the bar chatting to other guests & to Andy and Lisa. The swimming pool was a real bonus & very warm indeed. All in all, we will definitely be returning & have already recommended the hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thanks for the great review, hope to see you all again.
Lisa & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £138 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing