We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Cornwall”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Hotel in Cornwall”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Whipsiderry in June and totally enjoyed are stay. Andy, Lisa and all the staff could not do enough for us . We found the food excellent and even though I couldnt eat very much they catered for my every need.we could not fault the food and can see why they have got an award. The rooms were spotless and if you needed anything you only had to ask We found the atmosphere of this fantastic family run hotel brilliant and all the guests were made to feel at ease. We are looking forward to returning to the Whipsiderry as soon as we can anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Newquay should give this a try you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea which was brilliant my mother had a room next door it didnt have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    25
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
76
97
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were recommended to try the Whipsiderry Hotel, and so pleased we did, what a fantastic hotel, friendly staff and owners, the food was great, cooked with flair and sparkle. The views are great and the heated outdoor pool was a lovely place to relax after a day exploring the local sights. Well stocked bar and relaxed atmosphere to unwind from a stress-full job. I was there with my family and they also agreed it was FAB, we have booked again for next year already, can't wait to be back. Also you can stay up and quietly watch for the badgers in the garden on their nightly activities. Many thanks, would recommend to all!

Room Tip: I had viewed many of the rooms previously and they all differ in their individual benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Cornwall is expensive so don't be fooled that you are getting an upmarket hotel with the Whipsiderry.

On the plus side it's location is excellent, it is clean, there is a comfortable lounge, good wifi and staff are very friendly.

One the downside the rooms are small with very basic furniture. We stayed in a little side extension that had terribly thin walls. Each morning we were woken early by flushing toilets and the noise of people walking around in the room above.

The breakfast is really very poor. Cheap sausages, tasteless eggs, doughy croissants.

I would not recommend or return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are always dissapointed when guests do not enjoy their stay with us.
We are sorry that you found Cornwall Expensive, but enjoyed our location.
We are proud of our breakfast award form the English Tourism & have recently been annually inspected & have gained the award for a 3rd Year. Our Crossiant are French Brioche, Our Sausages are from a local butcher, our Eggs are from Cornish Chicken, we are sorry you found them tastless.
Sorry our New soild Pine furniture was not to your taste, we feel it reflects the character of the Hotel, Andy & Myself are always around & had you mentioned whilst here you were unhappy in the room we would have certainly moved you.
I did sense an air of unhappiness when you check out, as did other members of staff. I asked you if everything was ok, giving you the opportunity to respond, which you did not....
We trust your parcel of cloths you left behind, which we have forwarded onto you, returned back safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Out of all the hotel stays I've had - in and out of the UK - this was the best. The room was great, the food was amazing (and I'm very difficult to cook for!) and the atmosphere was incredible. The staff are all lovely, Andy and Lisa in particular are hugely friendly and nothing's too much trouble. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat for twice the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerriLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Kerri
Thank you for your kind review & taking the time we very much apprieciate it.
We are pleased you enjoyed the food, especially being vegeterian, it is important that guests with special dietary requirement do enjoy the food our chef Rob cooks & creating a different option for your fortnights holiday with us, is very important to him. Thank you again & hope to see yu in the future. Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a very nice long weekend,the weather was beautiful,on arrival was given a (free) tray with coffee and tea and biscuits.
The owners were very nice,
Rob the cook did a wonderful breakfast every morning the waiting staff was very nice,our room we found very small and it felt like the rooms was shoe horned in,the room was dusty,the heated pool was cold evey day also the owners allowed the guests to leave there towels on the loungers while they went out all day not good as there was only about 10 sun loungers,could only use my ipad in the lounge area,
There was a notice about not making noise after 10-30 but still had to listen to people slam there bedroom doors late at night.
Hope this dont put you off as it was a great stay

Room Tip: we didnt have this room,but the best room is 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiltshireKarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thanks for staying at the Whipsiderry and for sharing your very nice review.
We are grateful to you for writing and forwarding your valuable feedback.
Hope to see you again.
Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the hotel on the recommendation of our younger son who had been a couple of times. As we always do, we still looked on Trip Advisor to see what other people thought and found almost unanimous praise for the Whipsiderry. Now I can only assume that those who gave a negative review went to a totally different hotel or just like writing untrue comments.

We were totally satisfied with our time at the hotel. The greeting was very friendly and we immediately felt 'at home'. The room, though not large, was spotlessly clean and had everything we required and a wonderful sea view. The food was hot, well prepared and there was a choice each night from 3 starters, a different soup, 3 main courses, 4 desserts, cheese and biscuits (which we never managed) and coffee. All served efficiently with a smile.

The overall cost was not 'budget priced' but very good value for money. We will definitely return to the Whipsiderry the next time we holiday in Cornwall.

Room Tip: A sea view room is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I absolutely loved the location of this hotel, 20mins walk down a beautiful coastal path took you to Watergate Bay and 20mins walk along the other way took you to Newquay. We arrived at the hotel earlier than check in time and luckily our room was available and the owner allowed us to check in, she was very friendly and showed us around the hotel which although pleasent was in need of some updating (only in my personal preference) We then set off for lunch at Jamie Oliver's restaurant Fifteen at Watergate Bay which was very nice, worth going if you can get a reservation. We returned to the hotel after an afternoon strolling along the beach and chilled out. The view from our room which was on the back of the hotel was lovely overlooking the beach. We decided to walk to Newquay in the evening for fish and chips and had fun walking back in the dark and fog wondering if we might get lost! When we got back to the hotel it was full of people have such fun participating in a quiz in the bar which the oweners were hosting, the owner came and checked straight away if we were ok and needed anything, to which she gladly fetched us a couple of drinks. We then went off to bed and had a comfortable nights sleep. The shower was a little disappointing as it was not very powerful however the room was clean. Breakfast was of a good standard and the cost of the hotel was pretty average for high season and the type of room. I would recommend someone to stay at this hotel but maybe only for one night...

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back of the hotel, if you prefer modern hotels then maybe this is not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aim_Mar_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,007 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing