We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star for Groups”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five Star for Groups”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I took a group of Walkers to the Whipsiderry and everyone was full of praise - absolutely no complaints what-so-ever. Lisa & Andy were extremely helpful and put themselves out to make our stay pleasant - and all the staff were marvellous as well. The rooms are warm and comfortable, some with great views over the bay. Rob the Chef was amazing - many of our group are vegetarians and the veggy food was so good the others were often choosing the veggy option. Everyone loved the food and everyday it was tasty and different from the run-of-the-mill. Better food than most expensive restaurants. The service at meal times was so efficient I don't know how they managed it - no-one had to wait an undue length of time for the next course even though we filled the dining room. Can't praise the hotel too highly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Bob & all the Walkers
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad everyone enjoyed their stay with us, & especially our food, Rob dose a fantastic menu, & especially makes sure vegetarians & special diets are well looked after, so thank you for your very kind comments. We hope to see yourselves & some of the other Walkers in the future. Kind regards to everyone Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    25
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
73
96
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We celebrated Steve and Veronica's wedding at this Hotel.All of the guests spent the night there.We had the most amazing time.Lisa and Andy and all the staff were fantastic.Nothing was too much.The food was delicious and the di ing room looked stunning.Thank you very much for making it such a memorable occasion
From George and Lotti

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear George & Lotti
Thank you for your kind review. Glad everyone enjoyed the wedding, it was a wonderful day.
many thanks for your comments. all the best Lisa & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last week as members of a walking group. We were welcomed by Lisa and Andy on arrival, our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the sea. A superb breakfast set us up for our day's walking and when we returned in the evening we were treated yet again to an imaginative and delicious dinner.

All the staff were friendly and quietly efficient - it was a memorable holiday for us all and I would have no hesitation in recommending this family run hotel. We certainly hope to return soon

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Whipsiderry.
Glad you had a good few day with us & the weather stayed good for walking.
Hope to see you again Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel and hosts were absolutely amazing. We have a daughter who has coeliac disease (cant eat wheat etc) and Lisa and Andrew were brilliant they catered for her and us perfectly. Sometimes its hard to trust people preparing or catering for coeliacs because of lack of knowledge or cross contamination but not at the Whipsiderry. She had a wide choice for breakfast and lunch or dinner. They have a well stocked bar and the rooms were really warm, clean and cosy. We had a lovely sea view and the outside amenities were also great.
We will stop here every time we travel to Newquay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whippit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments about your stay here at the Whipsiderry Hotel. We do our upmost to cater for our Coeliac guests & to enable them to have the same choice & quality of homemade food, as all our other guests. We hope to see you all again in the future. Many Thanks Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourimbah, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful staff and even coeliacs have so many choices for breakfast and dinner. The food is divine, never have I been so spoilt. Nothing is too much trouble and the whole stay was just wonderful, did not want to leave. Just fantastic.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissOzGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking to write a review, we are very lucky to have our excellent Chef, Rob. He is happy to cater for all dietary requirements, & ensures Coeliacs can enjoy & relax whilst staying with us. Hope to see you in the future. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Whipsderry Hotel last June,although the weather was not very good we had a wonderfull time.
the Hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the beaches.
Lisa & Andy,made us very wellcome and the meals in the resturant prepared by Chef Rob & served up by his polite team of waiters was excellent.

We are looking forward to return in the not to distant future. The family exsperiance of running the Hotel for 40years shows very much to the good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackhorner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jack Thank your kind words, hope to see you again. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

An unforgettable wedding reception was enjoyed by everyone thanks to the wonderful welcome by Lisa (unfortunately Andy was nursing a rugby injury) and the excellent food prepared by top chef Rob and his team of lovely waitresses.Katie and Elliott were made to feel very special.
The views from the hotel are superb and we all relaxed in the comfortable lounge and bar. Although it was a fairly small wedding we couldn't have had better service anywhere We were even treated to a stunning sunset over the sea.The Whipsiderry is highly recommended for weddings..a great venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jean. Glad Katie, Elliott & all the family enjoyed their wedding day with us at the Whipsiderry, Rob always enjoys catering for a special occasion, Thank you for your review & all the best for Katie & Elliott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing