We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Bank Holiday”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“May Bank Holiday”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just had a great week with family and friends here at the Whipsiderry. Our room was perfect, the food was amazing and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. Andy and Lisa were great, always having time to give us advice on where to visit and what to do and made us feel extremely welcome. The location is excellent both as a base to go exploring the area or to walk down to the beach and the views from the hotel over the beach are great - especially at sunset. Couldn't fault a thing and can't wait to go back! Thanks to you all! Ali & Neil

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali151183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ali & Neil
We very much appreciate your review of your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Hope to see you all again next year
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    25
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
96
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We held our wedding reception at this wonderful hotel three weeks ago. Right from our first meeting with Lisa and Andy we knew we were in good hands.
Our family and friends started arriving on Friday, and on Saturday night all of the rooms were booked by our guests.
The rooms are perfect, many with sea views, up to date and very clean. The hotel has pretty gardens and sea views.
On the day of our wedding Lisa and Andy, along with their team, worked so hard to ensure all ran smoothly. Rob the chef created delicious food and we have had so many comments from our guests about the standard of the menu he produced.
The next morning we all had breakfast together, and Lisa had even incorporated some of our wedding decorations into the breakfast room. It was the little touches like this that were so impressive. Lisa was so flexible with our ideas, and was extremely organised. We have had so many compliments from our guests as to the high standard of the hotel, as well as the friendly and accommodating staff. Everyone felt comfortable and welcome.
We would highly recommend this hotel, be it for a short break, a holiday, or even a wedding reception. We are so glad we chose the Whipsiderry, and thanks goes to Lisa, Andy, Rob and all of the wonderful waiting staff who made our reception perfect. See you for our anniversary!!! Roni and Steve

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronaldo90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Roni & Steve.
Thank you so very much for the lovely review, we really appreciate you kind comments. As we are only able to accommodate a few wedding receptions a year, each one is very special & individual & we really enjoy trying to make the special day a memorable one. Rob & the team also work really hard to make everything run smooth to ensure the occasion is extra personal.
Thank you again.
We wish you both well with Married life & do hope to see you for your first anniversary.
Best Wishes Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

my wife and myself stayed here for the 2014 riviera mini run, i must say that this hotel is one of the best we have stayed in,lovely hotel,lisa and andy made us feel very welcome , immaculate room,fantastic food by head chef rob,lovely friendly atmosphere ,great sea view from our room ,thanks for really making our weekend special dave and chris x

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Dave & Chris
Thank you very much you taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I took a group of Walkers to the Whipsiderry and everyone was full of praise - absolutely no complaints what-so-ever. Lisa & Andy were extremely helpful and put themselves out to make our stay pleasant - and all the staff were marvellous as well. The rooms are warm and comfortable, some with great views over the bay. Rob the Chef was amazing - many of our group are vegetarians and the veggy food was so good the others were often choosing the veggy option. Everyone loved the food and everyday it was tasty and different from the run-of-the-mill. Better food than most expensive restaurants. The service at meal times was so efficient I don't know how they managed it - no-one had to wait an undue length of time for the next course even though we filled the dining room. Can't praise the hotel too highly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Bob & all the Walkers
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad everyone enjoyed their stay with us, & especially our food, Rob dose a fantastic menu, & especially makes sure vegetarians & special diets are well looked after, so thank you for your very kind comments. We hope to see yourselves & some of the other Walkers in the future. Kind regards to everyone Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We celebrated Steve and Veronica's wedding at this Hotel.All of the guests spent the night there.We had the most amazing time.Lisa and Andy and all the staff were fantastic.Nothing was too much.The food was delicious and the di ing room looked stunning.Thank you very much for making it such a memorable occasion
From George and Lotti

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear George & Lotti
Thank you for your kind review. Glad everyone enjoyed the wedding, it was a wonderful day.
many thanks for your comments. all the best Lisa & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last week as members of a walking group. We were welcomed by Lisa and Andy on arrival, our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the sea. A superb breakfast set us up for our day's walking and when we returned in the evening we were treated yet again to an imaginative and delicious dinner.

All the staff were friendly and quietly efficient - it was a memorable holiday for us all and I would have no hesitation in recommending this family run hotel. We certainly hope to return soon

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Whipsiderry.
Glad you had a good few day with us & the weather stayed good for walking.
Hope to see you again Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel and hosts were absolutely amazing. We have a daughter who has coeliac disease (cant eat wheat etc) and Lisa and Andrew were brilliant they catered for her and us perfectly. Sometimes its hard to trust people preparing or catering for coeliacs because of lack of knowledge or cross contamination but not at the Whipsiderry. She had a wide choice for breakfast and lunch or dinner. They have a well stocked bar and the rooms were really warm, clean and cosy. We had a lovely sea view and the outside amenities were also great.
We will stop here every time we travel to Newquay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whippit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments about your stay here at the Whipsiderry Hotel. We do our upmost to cater for our Coeliac guests & to enable them to have the same choice & quality of homemade food, as all our other guests. We hope to see you all again in the future. Many Thanks Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing