We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Great hotel on the outskirts of Newquay. Great service, Lisa and Andy are terriffic hosts. The cuisine is fantastic, all in all, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibrandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    25
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
96
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Hi, I have stayed at the Whipsiderry with my girlfriend and family numerous times over the last few years, and the experience of staying there really is first class. The owners, Andy and Lisa make you feel really welcome, and the setting with stunning views over Porth are something to behold!

The facilities are excellent, and food is out of this world!! If your every in the Newquay area, this is an absolute must, you'll be missing out if you dont! I cant recommend the Whipsiderry enough, and we're already booked in for next year!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngmyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My wife and i stayed at Whipsiderry last week 15th-22nd May.If you want Five Star Treatment from the owners and staff plus five star rated food then this is thehotel for you.We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Rod and Janet

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldBurford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The warmth of this hotel's care is exceptional. My husband and I were sorry we could not stay for longer than two nights, as we were made to feel genuinely welcome from the minute we arrived. Our room was wonderfully light and fresh - a pleasure to stay in. The menu for the evening meal was really good and each course lived up to the highest expectations. It was so lovely to be able to relax from the outset and enjoy the friendly atmosphere with other guests. Lisa and Andy have a achieved an unusual balance between hotel and guest house: professional service and very high standards, together with an informality which makes you feel happy and at ease. We would recommend a stay here to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireRachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We came back last week from only a few nights at the hotel (wish we had stayed longer) and can't wait to go there again. We were made very welcome by Lisa and Andy and staff. The hotel is attractively decorated and very clean, with beautiful views. The food was really really good and we couldn't wait for our evening meal each day! Great choice and great service. You were made to feel at home and very relaxed. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetTorbay_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

The hotel owners (Andy and Lisa) and staff were lovely; really friendly and welcoming.

We got to see the badgers that visit the hotel in the evening, which was fantastic.

Our room was lovely; comfortable, clean and with a modern bathroom.

The lounges, bar areas and garden were really comfortable, well kept and attractive.

The location and views were amazing; the nearby beaches are beautiful.

I can't imagine a nicer place to stay. Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilikehottoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I walked in off the street, so had no preconceptions about the hotel.

Access: off the main Watergate to Porth road, turn left after the Sands resort and the new condiminiums. The hotel is quaint and overlooking the bay. Plenty of parking at the back. No lift. There are bedrooms on the ground floor.

Hotel: its an old hotel that looks like the decor is gradually being rejuvenated. There are very spacious lounges with big leather seats and nice touches. There is a lovely view and seating area out the front with umbrellas. Young Andy at the front desk makes tea or coffee to have outside. Lovely in the sun.

I did not realise there was a heated pool with lounges.

I had a double bed for one, I don't think it would be ideal for 2 people who like space. The room is small however as there is so much lounge area in the main part of the hotel and TV room, I did not mind. The bedroom has LCD TV, hair dryer, alarm clock, can open windows and sink plus shower and toilet cubicle.

Dinner is a set menu (choice of 2) - 6 courses. I could only fit in two courses. Good food, was suprised. Make room for the hot puddings. DBB for 69 is amazing.

Guests: all of the guests I met had stayed several times before and would be retired. The hotel was full, there was one other younger couple in their 40s. There are some group evening activities offered for those that are interested. Apparently the hotel has been in the family for over 3 generations. I thought the couple running the place were lovely. There is a bar and the pries are reasonable.

Gripe: there is wireless access in part of the hotel however I could not log on. It might have been my computer however normally I don't have a problem.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40degreesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing