We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ian R

Excellent week, excellent food!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2023
Second visit to the Whipsiderry Hotel and every bit as enjoyable as our first. A warm welcome from Lisa and Andy, awesome views across Porth Beach towards Newquay and the weather played its part with 7 days of sunshine! The room was comfortable and well equiped. Rob, the chef, once again excelled in presenting outstanding food and catered excellently for my wife's need for a coeliac/gluten free diet. It was impressive that she was able to order from the menu with no restriction. The swimming pool provides a lovely sun trap and we enjoyed the cream tea option served by the pool (gluten free scones - a treat!). Looking forward to future visits.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: The food is excellent! Understands and caters for a gluten free diet better than many other hotels.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£85
  • Expedia.com
    £89
  • Vio.com
    £73
  • Priceline
    £99
1.2 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Priceline
£69
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    £62
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Trip.com
    £75
1.4 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
£157
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Hotels.com
    £140
  • Vio.com
    £157
2.4 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£108
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Hotels.com
    £126
  • Vio.com
    £126
1.7 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£204
  • Expedia.com
    £215
  • Hotels.com
    £215
  • Vio.com
    £204
2.6 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£49
  • Expedia.com
    £49
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Hotels.com
    £49
1.2 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
PremierInn.com
£51
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
1.2 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£93
  • Priceline
    £100
  • Agoda.com
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £100
1.4 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
£113
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Vio.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
    £135
2.7 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£183
  • Hotels.com
    £183
  • Expedia.com
    £183
  • Skyscanner.com
    £182
3.1 miles from Whipsiderry Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newquay
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
272
26
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
272
26
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porth beach nothing is too much trouble wonderful hospitality perfect hosts swimming pool lisa cornwall beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2023

Just returned from our 9th annual visit to the Whipsiderry Hotel with a group of 15 good friends. Wonderful views over Porth beach and to Newquay beyond. We have nothing but praise for Lisa and Andy, who always make us so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and the food is outstanding! We have already booked our 10th visit for May 2024. Thankyou Lisa and Andy for your wonderful hospitality.

Room tip: Be assured of an excellent 5 course home cooked meal (plus coffee!) at the Whipsiderry
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PlymouthSpeedway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2022

It's taken a while to finally sit down and write this review but we loved absolutely every minute of our week at this hotel in Cornwall.
We travelled as a family of 5 (children ages 7, 10 and 12). From the moment we arrived Lisa and Andy were welcoming and helpful and took the time to engage with our kids and tell us the best beaches, sights in the area and best places to look for sea glass.
The staff in the restaurant were also fabulous and went out of their way to help with anything we needed. We were also introduced to the resident dog Menna who our children were obsessed with from day one (our son bought a bear whilst there and called him Menna).
The rooms are basic but perfect with enough wardrobe space and have everything you need.
As for the food - where to begin - just absolutely incredible EVERY DAY and Rob is just fantastic! We were difficult to feed with a vegetarian son and low carb parents but they went out of their way to make sure we were happy.
We loved arriving at breakfast and choosing our dinner and often enjoyed lunch at the hotel and of course the cream tea.
My husband and I both had to work whilst there but were very comfortable in the lounges.
Lisa gave great suggestions on family activities and highlights included Eden Project, Surfing Lessons and the Camel trail. She also introduced us to the game Omshanti and we had many evenings spent playing after dinner.
Our kids enjoyed the pool and had it to themselves most days.
All in all we are obsessed with this place and cannot wait to come back!!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KerriA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2022

Nothing is too much trouble for Lisa and Andy. Perfect hosts who own a stunning hotel, with top class food and surroundings. The staff are attentive and also 1st class. Thank you for an amazing time. Bliss.

Room tip: Beautiful sea views and comfort.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 982jennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

From my phone call to book this hotel to our leaving the whole experience has been outstanding
On arriving Lisa was such a friendly warm host ...we then spent the afternoon on the sun terrace by the pool ...just fabulous views to die for ..

Our room was beautiful.
The food ...well ...I have never never had food like it anywhere ...Their chef Rob is truly outstanding.
Great atmosphere in the dining room with other lovely guests . The waiting staff were amazing friendly but so professional.
Lisa and Andy just and the staff just want their guests to have a lovely time with them and they certainly manage that !!.

We will definitely return....
We felt so at home ....didnt want to leave
Thank you for a fabulous week holiday.

Ron and Jan

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DayTrip739415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2021

Just got back from another 9 nights at the wonderful Whipisderry hotel in Porth Newquay Cornwall. We had another amazing stay. As soon as you walk into hotel you get a lovely warm feeling and are welcomed by the family, it has been in the same family for nearly 50 years. Lisa, Andy and Menna the dog.
The food is excellent thanks to Rob the chef and looks after my gluten free diet, I don't need to worry it's all taken care of. All the staff are lovely people who all care about making your holiday special.
The hotel is in a perfect location it overlooks Porth Bay with wonderful views.
The swimming pool is situated in a great sun trap where you can relax on the sunbeds or you can relax in the beautiful garden.
A wonderful holiday and would recommend it if you want good food, a warm welcome, great company in a fabulous part of Cornwall.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brendawallbank2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews