We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for more, a lovely hotel in a wonderful location with friendly and helpful staff. Perfect!”
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We chose the Whipsiderry for our wedding reception and are so pleased we did. From start to finish Lisa and Andy were freindly, helpful, relaxed and professional. Lisa and Andy were able to guide us through parts of the wedding reception we were not sure about and make both us and our guest feel at home. The Chef worked with us to create the perfect wedding menu, which was amazing tasty and looked superb, and the waiting and bar staff were wll organised, friendly and efficient.
Several of our family and guests stayed in the hotel with us both before and after the wedding day. Throughout the stay we were all well looked after and able to enjoy the great location of the hotel. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.
Following the wedding we recived nothing but praise from our guest about The Whipsiderry, the food and the service.
If we had to plan it all over again we would not change a thing, it was the perfect venue.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHoggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

If you want to stay in a bright, airy and very affordable hotel (not in the centre of Newquay), then the Whipsiderry has it all. Located across the road from two of the west country's best beaches, offering fantastic views, food and service, you will not be disappointed. Lisa and Andy can't do enough for their customers. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurty_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

It is nice to stay in a hotel where the owners and staff are genuinely pleased to have you as a guest. Andy and Lisa are exceptional hosts and really make you feel at home. Location is excellent with glorious cliff top walks and stunning beaches on your doorstep. Restaurant very pleasant with food plentiful. I visited with my parents who are more used to staying in larger and may I say better known hotels in the area. They were delighted with their stay and we plan to return soon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manse203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Thanks Lisa and Andy for looking after us so well for the two nights we stayed in Whipsiderry. You were a mine of useful local info. Good food too. Close to the beach and great coastal walks. A bit noisy in the rooms - we had a snorer in the room next to ours - hence 3/5 on the sleep quality tab. I suspect (s)he would have woken the dead, so maybe we are being harsh??

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyIrishMan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have just returned from our holiday in Porth staying at The Whipsiderry Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Andy and Lisa were very friendly, made us feel very welcome and did their utmost to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The room was lovely, the food excellent and the staff very eager to please. We even saw 3 badgers who came for their nightly feed in the gardens! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilcox41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The owners made us very welcome. The views from the hotel are wonderful especially on a sunny day. The restaurant was very well run and calm and the food and service excellent.. A very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criticality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Great hotel on the outskirts of Newquay. Great service, Lisa and Andy are terriffic hosts. The cuisine is fantastic, all in all, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibrandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.8 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £76 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing