We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our holiday but not value for money!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Suffolk UK
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our holiday but not value for money!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We travelled 11 hours as part of a family group to get here and the first view of Holywell Bay was a very welcoming sight. Check-in was straight forward and we were soon unpacking in our caravans which strangely didn't really seem to resemble the photo's on their web site(!) but at least were clean with plenty of crockery/cutlery although ours was lacking a frying pan (there was a lovely lady in Reception who was very helpful in providing one plus extra bed-linen when needed).
We then proceded to explore the park and wandered down to the beach (10mins walk, cross the road past St Pirans Inn and another 10mins walk through the dunes to finally get to the sea. It really is the redeeming factor of staying at the Park: the children absolutely loved it especially the stream which flows down from the land and was ideal for paddling in. Depending on the tide there are rock pools and side coves to explore and the Life-guards on duty keep a careful eye on the tides moving their flags accordingly - a simply wonderful place to spend time.
The Park has a launderette, Surf hire place and a small shop which does close early but there is a large Morrisons 5-10mins away for stocking up on essentials. The 2 play areas and ball court kept the children amused and the small indoor soft play one was great for the toddler. The outside heated pool with water slide was very nice but the kids were disappointed that so many of the machines in the small Arcade were consistantly breaking down.
The site isn't too big but it also has a touring park and therefore the Clubhouse is just too small to accomodate everyone - you had to arrive by 6:30pm if you wanted to have an inside table to eat or be near the stage area, we made the mistake on our first night of meandering across at 7:45pm and the place was jam-packed so we ended up sitting outside under the parasols in the rain eating our Pizzas which although were tasty and the best value food item on their menu was not an ideal start to our holiday!
Overall we really enjoyed our week in Cornwall going to the Eden Project, Newquay, perranporth and the local cider farm but back at the park apart from watching our Grandchildren enjoying the Starlanders evening entertainment - the young Lady who did this is brilliant we didn't bother with the adults version as it all seemed quite dated.
We thought the ground staff worked hard keeping the place tidy as did the repair man who made constant visits to my Sons Caravan to improve the TV reception and the Park is truly set in a wonderful part of Cornwall with so many interesting places to visit but I know that the money we paid for 1 week would have easily covered a fortnight s/c abroad so as much as I love caravan holidays I feel that Parkdean does not offer value for money - unless you were camping as then you get to use all the parks facilities.
We would certainly come back to Cornwall but would investigate other places to stay.

Room Tip: Caravans near the camp site are in a quieter area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    161
    112
    43
    40
See reviews for
308
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Family of 6 and a baby stayed for a week in one of the caravans on this site. On arrival the caravan was not the one that we had booked (we were given the name and description and a picture after booking) and were given a smaller caravan with less facilities we were expecting. Upon telling the reception this they refused to move us and insisted we were wrong. We then set about unpacking - where we discovered the dirt and filth in the caravan. The bin was filthy and the whole caravan smelt musty and mouldy.
The caravan we had been allocated was right next to the clubhouse. Imagine the noise coming from the clubhouse every night with a baby trying to get to sleep. When we asked them to shut the windows the security laughed and refused to help on many occasions, even after we spoke to reception and they said they would ensure the windows would be shut as the clubhouse was air conditioned (we later found out that in the height of summer and hot nights they refused to put on the air conditioning). The security even called mother in law a liar. They also parked their cars right next to our caravan (car park was literally a 2 minute walk from the club) and sat in it with engine revving and music on for ten minutes after their shift ended at half 11 at night. This just touches on the problems we had with various staff.
The whole week was ruined by the dirty caravan, the rudeness and unhelpfulness of staff and, as a result, a baby who cried all night every night due to noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank somojo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our third year at Holywell bay, we decided to book the caravan with two showers we are a family of four just as it seemed bigger. cost over £1000 for a week. We had no kitchen bin, one very small one in lounge, meant for whole caravan. Very dirty bathrooms, kitchen filthy, broken seating in living room. No vacuum cleaner. General tired and tatty. The beds were also very uncomfortable. This was a shame. If they maintained these caravans properly it would make for a nicer holiday. children were disappointed with the arcade, as machines broken. Having said all these negative points, the children love the beach, and make lots of friends each year which makes their holiday ( they are 14 and 12). Just be prepared to take cleaning stuff with you !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratwicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our 4th visit to Hollywell Bay and whilst the holiday was fantastic the accomodation was poor.
We upgraded our caravan prior to arrival and found it dirty, smelly and generally poor. We spent an hour cleaning it before unpacking the car and found the only cure for the smell was 2 airfreshners in the bathroom. We did report it but nothing happened. As for the rest of the park, I wonder if the location (which is supberb) gives the operators the sense that people will return year after year without them having to do anything with it?
We had one meal in the on site restaraunt and taken in by the advertising I opted for Moules and Frites. It was disgusting.... the mussels were cooked until they formed an inedible rubbery consistancy and I had to request the accompanying frites but then gave up on the garlic mayo after the third attempt! we didn't eat there again.

The rest of Cornwall and the weather was brilliant. Just a shame that the management is allowing the place to rot.

Room Tip: good luck !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

the site was lovely but my main problem was the fact you coudlnt get signal there as it was down in a ditch. the amusements and club was only small so not that suitable for the amoiunt of caravans there. the site has there own indoor soft play area for younger children which was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just got back from hols at Holywell Bay, first impression wasn't good, however, we all became really fond of this lovely site, the outdoor pool was fairly easy going and we felt you weren't being cautioned every fives minutes for having fun, shop staff were really friendly, beach was beautiful as we're fistrel beach and watergate bay, loads for the kids to do around the area, only downside was the caravan which was really small and tired but was ok and know doubt would go down dramatically in price after the summer holidays!

Food was nice but took over an hour to come!

However will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

You will not find a better located park if you're after a beach holiday! A 10 minute walk to a fantastic beach! You will save £50 on parking alone and won't have to fight the traffic which can be london esque and finding parking spot etc.... The outdoor pool on site is heated with a reasonable slide. The food and drink in the clubhouse is of reasonable quality reasonably priced.
The evening entertainment is aimed at young kids and is 'ok'. Bingo and other general holiday park stuff after half eightish which is of expected quality.
The kids arcade is disgracefully small with a large portion of the not many machines out of order or simply swallowing money! The £750 Newlyn caravan we stayed in was adequate but very dated and tired, main seat cushions thread bare, tv stand had more bits missing than attached. All staff were superb and a credit to Parkdean. All in all a wonderful place let down by tired vans, appalling kids arcade and generally limited facilities due to its overall size.


Ps: no phone signal on site and very limited wifi in clubhouse (bliss for me but each to their own)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattyt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
846 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
5.3 mi away
Newquay View Resort
Newquay View Resort
#5 of 77 in Newquay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park
Address: Near Newquay | Cornwall, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the gorgeous Ellenglaze Valley, and surrounded by sand dunes, it's the perfect summer retreat.Just a ten minute stroll from a beautiful beach, a short drive away from Newquay's exciting attractions, and a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. * Direct access to the coastal path from the park * Only 7 miles from Newquay's superb attractions * Heated outdoor pool with 300ft slide * Kids' club fun with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holywell Bay Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Parkdean - Holywell Bay Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing